We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine stay and dining with value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welcome Hotel Essen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welcome Hotel Essen
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Essen
saudi arabia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine stay and dining with value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The stay was wonderful with a nice room and a very good breakfast. The room a/c was working well and room was comfortable eventhough the outside teperature was ranging to 32C.

Room Tip: I believe each one has its own benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meetheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    116
    48
    10
    6
See reviews for
14
82
16
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roervig, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

When you want to attend the Classic Car show in Essen in March, you have to be an early bird to get the hotel you want. I wasn't and the two previous hotels I had stayed in in Essen were booked. So the four star Welcome Hotel Essen was booked instead for three nights starting on the 21st. March..
When I saw the hotel from the outside my heart sank. But it is better looking on the inside.

Reception: I felt welcome and was quickly given my keycard.

The Room: I had ordered a superior room. The front half of the hotel is right beside a busy road. But my room was on the back of the hotel and turned out to be a very quiet room of better than average size, There was nothing missing and the bathroom was nice.

Breakfast: I don't believe i have ever stayed in a hotel with a bigger selection. The room is large and very nice. Even though I had been given a superiour room, I still had to pay extra for breakfast. But the price was vey reasonable. I believe it was 51 Euros for three days.

Location: I would leave Essen by train. The hotel is situated an easy 15 minutes walk from the main trainstation. There is a shopping center just 100 meters from the hotel with a huge supermarket and if you cross the road using the bridge you will be in one end of the pedestrian steet. The surroundings are not the most enjoyable. The hotel has a car park, but it is not cheap.
So all in all it is centrally located even though a map might not show it to be so.

The bar showed German football matches which might be of interest for those travelling in groups. And being interested in football.

All in all this was an average four star hotel. I wouldn't mind staying here again, but only if the two previous hotels I have stayed in before are booked,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaguar-E-type-driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Here is my second review on Tripadvisor site and it's again about my business trip experience. Everybody knows how it's important having active busy day to be sure your breakfast is OK. Welcome Hotel in Essen is perfect for that. I found there some wellknown German national dishes which were very good for breakfast and tasty. Baking was excellent.
The staff was friendly and did all their best to do all in time and with less disterber.
One more word about the location of the hotel it's in fifteen minutes to walk from the central railwaystation and close to the street where the Christmas market takes place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmp2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Welcome Hotel Essen is a good, modern business hotel. The rooms are good sized, clean and modern. Although the hotel is at the north end of the city center, a tram stop is located across the street and it is only two stops to Essen HBF. It is a 5-10 minute walk to Essen's shopping district with lots of restaurants and shops. Based on the price I paid, the hotel was also an excellent value.

Two complaints, though. I was unable to get ANY wifi reception in my room, which was surprising as I was on the 2nd floor in the middle of the building. As is typical with wifi problems, the staff could do nothing to fix the issue. Unfortunately they would not let me switch rooms or waive the daily charge for the wifi that I had to access from the hotel bar (the daily charge was cheap compared to many hotels). Hotels need to understand that wifi access is a top priority for many guests. The wifi problems alone would keep me from returning to this hotel.

The other complaint is that the TV in the room was from the dark ages. Everything else about the room was new and modern except for the horrible TV.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlLarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My company has an agreement with this hotel and i stay there 4-5 times a year.

The hotel is situated on a main road which is paralel to the main shopping street. The biggest shopping center, Limbeckerplatz is also 10min. walking distance away.

The rooms are clean with enough space. It is not possible to find a room with a nice view but try to choose a room which is at the back side, not looking to the main street, for a quiet stay. Tv's in the rooms are very old and need an uprgrade. Channels are also very limited.

Breakfast is not rich but the menu for lunch and dinner is quite good.

Free internet is limited, you should pay after a certain amount of data transfer. Service quality overall is good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFK_BJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Clean and neat hotel. facilities in the room depend on the type of room. Note that basic room does not have ammenities such as tooth brush, paste etc.
Breakfast is good. Staff are very supportive.
Location is good and esy to walk into city center.
Overall good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed here on a business trip.

Check in/out was like clockwork, the rooms are very stylish, not too sure what was around the hotel as never ventured out and was coached in/out, but very central.

Breakfast was lovely, the bar was excellent and all in had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadtkern
InterCityHotel Essen
InterCityHotel Essen
#12 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Stadtkern
TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Essen

Property: Welcome Hotel Essen
Address: Schuetzenbahn 58, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Ostviertel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Hotel Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Welcome Hotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing