We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel for Essen Fair”
Review of Hotel Bredeney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bredeney
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stay 2 nights in this hotel, very close to the Essen fair.
Is a good hotel, having clean rooms, a nice bar & restaurant (Le Bisou) and swiming pool.
I was satisfied with this hotel and I hope to return on my next visit to Essen.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mihaiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We picked this hotel due to its proximity to the conference centre for the car show we visited.

The rooms are fine and a decent size. We stayed for 3 nights. We had great breakfasts in the hotel which was a buffet and provided a wide selection of choices. We ate out on each night we stayed - not a fan of hotel restaurants in general and wanted to get to see a bit of Essen as well.

We also went to the swimming pool everyday which is of a decent size.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEM069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The hotel is very close to the Essen fair and to the highway so it is a good choice when traveling by car.It is a typical business hotel with a good and quick service.The room was clean, the design is average. The internet is free only in the lobby and I had to pay 17 €/day in the room. I had a single room and it seems that the single rooms were designed to have the minimum acceptable size.
The restaurant has a good menu or a buffet dinner next to a bar to meet all demands.The hotel has a fitness centre as well.
The hotel is priced quite high although not out of range.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabor274887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Overall I was not impressed with this hotel. The rooms were very spartan - I had a single bed with a really poor quality mattress and two very thin pillows that I had to roll in a ball to get any sort of head support. My room also had two chairs, both of which were rock hard. So hard, they became uncomfortable to sit in for longer than 10 minutes.

The bathroom was tiny. I've had larger bathrooms on cruise ships. Small narrow tub with a plastic wall separating it from the toilet. When sitting on the toilet, one elbow touched the plastic tub wall, the other touched the wall. I was given exactly 1 bathtowel, 1 hand towel and a face cloth, all equally threadbare. Very very spartan towels. There were no niceties like a shower cap or little bottles of hand lotion in the bathroom. There were squeeze bottles of soap next to the sink and in the tub.

There is absolutely no thermostat whatsoever in the room, so if you don't like the temperature, too bad. If you are too hot you can try opening a window. If you are too cold...you are out of luck.

The tv is entirely in German except for 1 channel (BBC news). Most of the information in the room is only in German. There is no free internet in the hotel, you must pay for it.

The hotel iteself looks very worn and dated. The carpet looked in dire need of replacing. Breakfast was not bad, for 9 EUR that it costs. It had enough to satisfy most. I also had dinner in the restaurant/bar one evening (as there is nothing else around) and it was decent.

Overall, unless this hotel is extremely cheap, I would avoid it. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

3 stars for the guest room and the building but 5 stars for the impressive breakfast. The service staff at the breakfast room are highly professional. Large parking. Short distance to the Messe-Essen is really great, you have enough time to enjoy the wonderful breakfast and still on time for the Messe visit. We would come back again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happymamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Hotel is clean, but basic. Located in the middle of nowhere, but you have to pay for parking.
Hotel was very empty (I think this is more a business hotel and it was a weekend) which meant although the bar was supposed to stay open til 1am, it shut about 11.30. We managed to get one drink, but it was quite clear that would be the last and we couldn't get a hot drink.
Rooms are functional, but no bath. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

A group of us stayed here whilst visiting the Essen fairground (Messe).

It is very convenient for the Messe - less than 5 minutes in a taxi.

The hotel itself has a bit of a strange layout - the rooms are in separate 3-storey blocks off a main corridor. However, this was fine.

The rooms themselves are small compared to other German hotels we have stayed in, but pretty average for UK rooms. They were clean and bright, with a remote TV and a mini-bar.

The breakfast each morning was very good - highly recomended.
The evening meal was pretty good too, altho there wasnt a huge choice - after 4 nights I was wishing for something a bit different!

The only annoyance is that the hotel is in the middle of a manufacturing area - no shops, restaurants, bars etc.

However, if you were visiting the messe for a few days, I would certainly recommend it. We will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rüttenscheid
Best Western Hotel Ypsilon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bredeney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bredeney

Address: Theodor-Althoff-Str. 5, 45133 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Scandic Essen)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Essen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Essen
Price Range: £78 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bredeney 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Bredeney expects you right in the heart of the Ruhr. The traffic-favorable position (direct motorway binding A52/A40), our 220 parking places (max. EUR 6,00/24h) directly in front of the hotel and our 24 hours occupied reception guarantees you a pleasant arrival. Only a few minutes from the fair Essen away, directly at the edge of forest and in the proximity of many places of interest convenient, is the hotel Bredeney as well for Business trip as for short vacation with the family your perfect partner. With us you expect a relaxed atmosphere, a convincing price performance ratio with a free internet access in the whole hotel and, first and foremost, people who are ready to respond flexibility to all of your needs and wants - after all, life is complicated enough as it is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bredeney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bredeney Hotel Essen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing