We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formidable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Essen Nord
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Very nice motel, with a good quality/price balance. Very kind and nice employees. The room had everything you need and was clean. free TV in many different languages. Free-Wifi is available.
It is close to the university and there is a bus every 15 min (MON-SUN) check for the right bus stop.
I can really recommend this ibis budget hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank JamesPolo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

I think I didn't have much luck when staying in Ibis Budget Essen Nord, in room 314. Because of the weather forecast ( a lot of snow coming) I decided to stay in Essen prior to an appointment. Through www.ibis.com I booked a standard room. There was no possibility for to choose a non-smoking room or a smoking room so I thought all rooms would be non smoking like I am used in Accor hotels.

I arrived just before 22.00 hours, the parking lot was full of builder vans and snow. Het was impossible to see where I could actually park my car, but I did it somewhere.

There was still staff at reception and I got the code of room 314. The front desk clerk didn't say anything about smoking . 314 happened to be a renovated smoking room with ashtray but I discovered that after 22.00 hours, so reception was closed and I decided to accept it . For a former Etap hotel the room was spacious, but the carpet was heavily stained and there was some dust in the bed. There was enough hot water and there was no noise. I think the builders had to get up early.

I would not stay here again because of the not requested smoking room. The hotel is rather convenient for reaching the center of Essen, however.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms will be assigned as a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memberHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Late booking for 3 nights during Messe Essen Spiele. Somewhat out of town but a 5-10 minute walk gets you to the excellent train network, so not too bad.

Clean room, comfortable, TV. hot shower, cheap ........... shower and toilet doors didn't close properly and only getting one pillow is a bit stingy !

Shame that the lounge area is closed at 10pm when the reception becomes unmanned, nowhere to sit and chat with other guests or friends.

No free breakfast but for the price, quite understandable.

I would stay here again for the price and if there were no alternatives closer to the city centre. However, I will probably book earlier and pay a little more to get a better hotel next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The hotel was exactly what it says on the tin - budget. There was nothing luxurious and in fact the toilet and shower were in what I first thought were the cupboards! Also no lock or soundproofing for toilet. Somewhat disconcerting when sharing with a friend.

However, everything was clean and functional. It was however a little far from the tube at 15 mins walk.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magicknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stoping for the night last Sept 01 we were glad we chose this newly renovated Ibis, simple but confortable, clean and with a good ^starter type breakfast^.
The American Restaurant nearby was also a nice place to relax after a long drive on the Autobahn...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yagoelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanUK47
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munichadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Hotel Boll Essen
#57 of 68 in Essen
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadtkern
IntercityHotel Essen
IntercityHotel Essen
#19 of 68 in Essen
190 reviews
Hotel Palla
#35 of 68 in Essen
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Essen Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Essen Nord

Address: Gewerbepark MI | Am Lichtbogen1, 45141 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Price Range: £42 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Essen Nord 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Budget Hotel Essen Nord offers stylish and comfortable rooms equipped with French beds and bunk beds. Wi-Fi Internet access in the rooms is free of charge. A rich breakfast buffet is served every morning. In front of the Etap Hotel Essen, free parking facilities are available for the guests of the Etap Hotel Essen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Essen Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing