We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but not a lot of choice in Hagen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Hagen
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hagen
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average, but not a lot of choice in Hagen”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is 'Fine' I've stayed here three times for work and each time it's ok. Outside and in it's a little run-down, and like many central european hotels, it's not 'luxurious' and when you see '4' stars, this means 2.5-3 starts if you're from a new world country. It's basic (arguably the rooms are a little 'cell like') but it's generally clean and functional. Some rooms have very small bathrooms, others reasonable sized so if you want a reasonable amount of space, perhaps ask. This is a fine place if you don't intend to spend much time 'in' your room and the options in Hagen are limited so this is one of the better places for a more 'international' style hotel. The highlight of the hotel is definitely the food. The Breakfast buffet is good, fresh and has a nice range of options, and the evening meals are also of a very good standard. The staff speak english and are generally helpful and this makes up a little for the room standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EXPLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    184
    63
    17
    5
See reviews for
53
98
35
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gretna, Louisiana 70056
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

i will be back in a couple weeks .i love the room.next time i will use the hottub to relax.the beds were so comfortable .the breakfeast was good ..the desk people were so wonderl and nice .im hoping to use the pool when it warms up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernicegauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here very recently on a business trip. It did not look especially welcoming from the outside, but do persevere! The staff were very cordial without being over-attentive, the room was perfectly acceptable in all aspects, with an excellent shower unit above the bath. A wide & comprehensive variety of breakfast options made for a good start to busy days. Evening meals were well-presented and of a high standard. The small bar area was welcoming with a friendly barman. in short, no complaints whatsoever. it may be a chain hotel but I thought the staff at this Mercure were a credit to the organisation. I didn't get a chance to see anything of Hagen (business elsewhere) but worth a stay if you happen to be in the locality. Possibly one downside - busy roads around the hotel - but the sound insulation was good with closed windows and the air conditioning acceptable.

Room Tip: Maybe see if there is a 'quiet side' - but not really an issue, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolarPanelPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This a 4 star hotel which is v close to the centre of Hagen. Standard Mercure style rooms and service can be expected. The rooms are small and I found the bed to be comfortable. It seems that Germans like super soft pillows because all the hotels I have stayed in Germany have these. Doesn't work for me though and most nights I ended up with a neck pain. The big no-no for me- housekeeping is not good and twice my used coffee cups/spoons were not replaced. I also found hair on the carpet and I wouldn't recommend walking barefoot in the room.
I stayed here in winter and the heating was too high for me, on most nights I had to open the windows! The hotel breakfast is very good but the lunch/dinner quality is not v good. Choice is limited and I opted for a vegetable pasta which came with no sauce or seasoning. I would recommend a 5 minute walk to the nearby town centre, which has many restaurants (and I would particularly recommend Artischoke near the cinema & bowling centre). Check in/out was hassle free and I liked that the hotel has many English tv channels. Staff are courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakshmi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel itself was fine. Comfortable rooms (though it little too hot!) and very clean. Breakfast was great, and reception staff were lovely. We were only there as a stopover, and a quick search of Hagen didn't reveal much in the way of decent eateries so we opted to have dinner in the hotel which was a big mistake... It was quite pricey (80 Euro for 3 of us with one drink each) so we expected decent quality. Unfortunately it was very mixed, and I made the mistake of telling the waitress that I had left the soup because it had too much salt in it. After that, she gave us the cold shoulder, and even though there were only six tables in use, she studiously ignored us! There was a further difficulty over the main course - I thought we were getting poached salmon, having specifically asked if it was served hot. We got two huge pieces of cold, salt cured salmon which we could not eat, so I asked for just the potatoes and veg with some extra bread and she looked at us in a quite appalled manner. Her avoidance tactics then rose to Olympic level (hence our only getting one drink each!). It was a grim experience which really spoiled our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hagen
1.5 mi away
Campushotel
Campushotel
#2 of 10 in Hagen
33 reviews
1.0 mi away
City Hotel Deutsches Haus
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Auf dem Kamp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Art-Ambiente
Hotel Art-Ambiente
#8 of 10 in Hagen
13 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ringhotel Zweibruecker Hof
10.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Luedenscheid
Mercure Hotel Luedenscheid
#1 of 6 in Ludenscheid
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Hagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Hagen

Property: Mercure Hotel Hagen
Address: Wasserloses Tal 4, 58093 Hagen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Hagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Hagen 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed WLAN, complementary in room tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TVs with international channels. The 146 bedroom 4 star Hotel (VDR-certified) has 8 conference rooms for up to 300 delegates. The Mercure Hotel Hagen has a restaurant, bar and a sauna. Onsite car parking is available at a charge. The Hotel is located within the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Hagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing