We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool location but there is room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindner Hotel BayArena
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Leverkusen
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
992 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Cool location but there is room for improvement”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A hotel inside a football stadium, that must be amazing for every football fan! So I convinced my girlfriend to go here and visit nearby Cologne. We parked our car right in front of the door on a closed parking lot (€10 per night).

However the experience did not start very well. The receptionist was grumpy and not willing to help a lot, also the wifi wasn't working, not really professional. The room however was much better, clean, two soft beds, a small plasma tv and some candy as a welcome gift. The promissed bottle of wine wasn't there but we did not complain. The bath room was okay and had a bath (but no air freshener). The airco worked good.

The hotel has a nice atmosphere if you like football. There are football pictures everywhere and from some points of the hotel you can look onto the field (nice stadium!). The breakfast in the morning was really good, enough warm and cold options and you could even order some things from the menu (good omelette). There are sauna facilities and a very small gym which we didn't use. The location is easy accessible by car and I think there was a bus stop in front of the hotel.

Overall it was a good experience but I'm not sure if I would go here again. Maybe next time I'll look for a hotel in Cologne, there isn't much to do in Leverkusen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronaldo070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleK186, Direktionsassistentin at Lindner Hotel BayArena, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

herzlichen Dank für Ihre umfangreiche Bewertung und die Zeit, die Sie sich dafür genommen haben.
Es tut uns leid, wenn ein Kollege Sie in Sachen Freundlichkeit enttäuschjt haben sollte.
Dies soll so nicht sein und wir werden das Gespräch mit dem betreffenden Kollegn suchen.

Vielleicht besuchen Sie und doch mal wieder? Wir würden uns auf jeden Fall sehr freuen!

Viele Grüße aus Leverkusen
Nicole Kim
Direktionsassistentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    132
    45
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
45
20
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Here on business so it was appropriate that it was "Corporate" but wouldn't stay here from choice. Dusseldorf was full! So they could charge what they like from a really expensive room rate to €6.50 for a bottle of water in the room! Pleasant enough room and staff always helpfull. Evening meals were tasty and huge portions though always salty with too much dressing. Breakfast was generous too, lots of choice, nice and fresh but on the whole a rather faceless hotel in a faceless suburb.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alysonteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleK186, Direktionsassistentin at Lindner Hotel BayArena, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank für die Bewertung Ihres Aufenthaltes.

Es tut uns leid, dass wir Sie nicht von uns überzeugen konnten. Dies ist natürlich nihct in unserem Sinne und die angemerkten Punkte werden wir intern besprechen.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn Sie uns zukünftig noch einmal die Möglichkeit geben würden, Sie von uns und unseren Leistungen zu überzeugen.

Herzliche Grüße aus Leverkusen
Nicole Kim
Direktionsassistentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Here for a trade show. Very good location, nice city. Hotel is very modern and very clean. Service is quite good and restaurant is excellent. Breakfast buffet is quite large. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigsteelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleK186, Assistant to the Manager at Lindner Hotel BayArena, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive feedback. It would be a pleasure for us if you would visit us again. Hope to see you soon.
Best regards from Germany
Nicole Kim
Assistant to the Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany/UK
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is quite impressive, being built into the BayArena football stadium. At the same time it seems to hark back to a bygone era – the Dotcom Age. As I entered it seemed that I had returned to 1999, about the time the place was built. There is something of the wannabe cool spirit of that period about the place. For one thing there are too many silly signs and cards. For another, the reception staff do not smile. Maybe they think this is cool.

Another silly innovation is the slot for the room card to activate the lights. This is, unusually, not directly by the door but on the front of the wardrobe - and difficult to find in the dark.

The lobby is huge, reminiscent on a minor scale of the new Shanghai Hongqiao railway station. It contains the breakfast area and the bar and is, unfortunately, loud. The voices of a few late guests at the bar reverberated right through to the bedrooms.

The room was clean and comfortable. There is free Wi-Fi but the connection was pretty slow when I was there. What was really annoying was not being able to turn the a/c fan off so even when the noisy guests had at last gone to bed the room was not quiet.

To get to the good things, the breakfast was superb and the breakfast staff cheerful and helpful. The layout is a bit weird with tables close together in long rows. This is presumably for visiting soccer teams who want to sit together!

Parking cost 10 EUR for the night which is OK.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleK186, Direktionsassistentin at Lindner Hotel BayArena, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns bewertet werden haben.

Leider konnten die Kollegen vom Hotelempfang Sie nicht begeistern. Das ist schade. Ihre geäußerte Kritik stimmt uns etwas traurig, da unser Personal in der Regel sehr freundlich ist und für begeisterte Gäste sorgt. Es tut mir leid, wenn wir Sie in diesem Punkt enttäuscht haben - das ist sicherlich nicht das, was wir uns wünschen.

Wir würden uns sehr feruen, Sie wieder bei uns bgerüßenn zu dürfen und verbleiben mit
herzlichen Grüßen
Nicole Kim
Direktionsassistentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I spent three nights in the hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The inside is much nicer than the outside. The staff are very friendly and the rooms and light and spacious. The buffet breakfast was good and the room service meal was extremely tasty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleK186, Direktionsassistentin at Lindner Hotel BayArena, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

herzlichen Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung.

Es wäre uns eine Freude Sie bald wieder als Gast bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.

Viele Grüße aus Leverkusen
Nicole Kim
Direktionsassistentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Warned by a couple of colleagues not to expect too much from this hotel...the impression arriving at the front door is not great. Then it all improves! Welcomed professionally at reception, upgraded to an outstandingly good suite, served dinner by highly-efficient room service. Sleep quality excellent (some rooms are a bit close to the main highway), room cleanliness first-class, restaurant also first-class for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conferencing facility absolutely excellent, meeting rooms (which are evidently hospitality boxes for sports events) overlooking the FC Leverkusen stadium, with all required facilities, including high quality wireless, ideal for streaming. Second-hand comment, a colleague did say that the gym (lower ground floor) is claustrophobic and window-less. Personally I could not fault this place and would definitely use it again for accommodation and important meetings. Congratulations to all staff and management.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheRoliingMcStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleK186, Direktionsassistentin at Lindner Hotel BayArena, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

wow, mit großer Freude haben wir Ihr Feedback gelesen.
Herzlichen Dank für die vielen positiven Worte.

Es freut uns natürlich sehr, dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und es wäre uns eine Freude, Sie bald wieder als Gast bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.

Viele Grüße aus Leverkusen
Nicole Kim
Direktionsassistentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Entrance hall is great, rooms a good size and modern. Agree that the reception staff not particularly friendly on arrival and departure. I liked the design of the hotel, breakfast was really good and hall warm despite size. No problem returning to this hotel again and again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leverkusen hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Koeln Leverkusen City
1.1 mi away
Ibis Koeln Leverkusen
Ibis Koeln Leverkusen
#9 of 19 in Leverkusen
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Leoso Hotel Leverkusen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kasino Hotel
Kasino Hotel
#2 of 19 in Leverkusen
66 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sechzehn
Hotel Sechzehn
#3 of 19 in Leverkusen
34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Fueck
Hotel-Restaurant Fueck
#5 of 19 in Leverkusen
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel BayArena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel BayArena

Property: Lindner Hotel BayArena
Address: Bismarckstr. 118, 51373 Leverkusen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Leverkusen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Leverkusen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel BayArena 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lindner Hotel BayArena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotel Leverkusen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing