We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance change for some nights”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel & Restaurant - Zum Vater Rhein
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel which is in a quite part of the town, gives a very good view of the river. Mornings are fresh with some nice standard European breakfast served in a room, which gives a warm homely feeling. The very simple and basic amenities here are acceptable to have such a location.

The wifi was not the best though, and if one we're to check in with large luggage, then it would not be the most convenient place.

Excellent staff who make the time worthwhile, make sure that your needs at each meals are well met. I would agree with some of the other reviewers here, that its a good choice if you have business near by.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank its_anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Restaurant - Zum Vater Rhein
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed there 2 nights. This is a hotel which is facing the Rhein. It is easy to get to if you drive but i did not find this hotel on my car navigation system which makes it a bit tricky.

The hotel just provided me with a room and there are amenities like shampoo and soap in the room provided (but no toothbrush). They also have a common fridge where you can get drinks (and i believe payment is upon check out). No water is provided in the room so you will need to either get it from the fridge or buy it yourself from a supermarket.

The room is good but bed is on the soft side.

Other than the restaurant downstairs, there is another restaurant next door. From what i heard these 2 restaurants are pretty famous in the area and pretty packed. I tried to eat dinner there but they were both full.

Breakfast was good with western cold and warm dishes. However, the dishes do not change and the same are served everyday.

There is no other shops in the immediate area. The only reason i stayed in this hotel was because i was visiting Bayer Monheim office which is 5mins drive away. I would suggest that you do not stay in this hotel if you do not have access to a car.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, do not stay at the rooms facing the front of the hotel. However, if you wa...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorisChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

a place that is somehow lost in time. very tiny, essential, no lift. But excellently clean and tidy, all in a proper place, you can find fresh fruit in the floor lobby, beers in the fridges with a reasonable price.
the restaurant is very good and serve nice tasty german food: i've never experienced good german food as in the Gethmann restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frombs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for 5 nights early November 2012. The hotel rooms are standard but what I liked most was the restaurant that is offering very good German cuisine with some traditional meals from the region. The staff was very friendly both in the mornings (breakfast service) and in the evenings. Also internet wifi is available, fast and free. It is the ideal hotel if you need to visit Bayer CropScience in Monheim for a business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I was at this hotel for 2 nights on business (BTW: it is in Monheim am Rhein, not Mülheim an der Ruhr!!!). The rooms are "rustical" in style, but have all amenities of a 3 star hotel. The bed was soft (too soft for me). The room was clean. The bathroom was clean and everything worked. Hot water and pressure ok. The location of the hotel in facing the Rhein. The road was somewhat loud up until 10 pm, then quiet. The hotel restaurant was good (evening meal), which I had on the terrace. The restaurant inside reminded me of a hotel in the austrian alps - not exactly modern but it fitted with the overall style of the hotel. The breakfast was ok. There was a fancier restaurant next door, which was somewhat better.
Overall, a basic local hotel which was sufficient for a few days on business.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springbank_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tilo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Aramasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muelheim an der Ruhr
0.8 mi away
ACHAT Comfort Koln/Monheim
ACHAT Comfort Koln/Monheim
#2 of 4 in Monheim am Rhein
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haus Sonnenschein Hotel Garni
Haus Sonnenschein Hotel Garni
#3 of 4 in Monheim am Rhein
6 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel am Wald
Hotel am Wald
#1 of 4 in Monheim am Rhein
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baumberger Rheinterrassen
Baumberger Rheinterrassen
#4 of 4 in Monheim am Rhein
12 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Schloss Friedestrom
Hotel Schloss Friedestrom
#1 of 12 in Dormagen
55 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#3 of 12 in Dormagen
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Restaurant - Zum Vater Rhein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant - Zum Vater Rhein

Address: An d'r Kapell 4, 40789 Muelheim an der Ruhr, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Muelheim an der Ruhr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Muelheim an der Ruhr
Price Range: £77 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant - Zum Vater Rhein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Restaurant - Zum Vater Rhein Germany/Muelheim An Der Ruhr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing