We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kaiserhof
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Conti(Muenster)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Horstmann(Muenster)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Windthorst(Muenster)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bockhorn(Muenster)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Feldmann(Muenster)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
69
85
40
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
85
40
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalk in closettrain stationmajor attractionsold cityexcellent hotelshort walkmain stationrooms are spaciouseasy accesshotel is locatedinstallinggermancomfortmunstereuroswifilaptop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Hotel Kaiserhof is close to Muenster Hauptbahnhof (main station) and walking distance to town. Hotel staff is friendly. Nice breakfast buffet - however, somewhat pricey with 35 Euros (~55$) per double room. While the room was clean, the standard is not comparable with newer 4 star hotels with old furniture and outdated interior. We woke up at night a couple of times due to partygoers coming from a bar on the other side of the street. Parking costs 20 Euro, which wasn't mentioned during booking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback! We offer five different room categories. The biggest are our Kaisersuites with a size of 51 sqm. Some rooms - like the standard rooms - face the front (street) and some the back (parking place). Every floor has a different design theme. We are happy to show you around the next time. Our CCTV parking place costs 15 Euro per night but we can also recommend other parking places as well as different cafés for breakfast.
We hope you give us another chance and we can welcome you again very soon!
Greetings from Hotel Kaiserhof Münster!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Kaiserhof in Münster is a very elegant hotel. Large, tastefully furnished rooms. Worth its 4 stars. Until you have a problem. Mine was returning from the hotel’s spa where I spent a few hours relaxing. Upon entering our (locked) room, I discovered that my seven-month-old laptop was gone. I immediately reported it missing but was simply told that I should have left it in the room’s safe. I would have - if it had fit. I was also told that since the room was not broken into by force, it was not their responsibility. The management refused to acknowledge any responsibility at all, even though someone had obviously entered the room with a key. Despite my pointing this out several times, they continued to deny that there was anything wrong on their side, such as security or staff, and remained adamant, repeatedly insisting that they had no obligation to me whatsoever. This incident turned what would have otherwise been a wonderful stay into a prolonged nightmare.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiserhofMS, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Kelly R.,
we still remember your stay in the past November very well. Following the reports of the alleged theft in the morning our Manager on Duty has acted exactly according to our hotels instructions. Surveillance videos were secured, the incident was recorded in writing and you were asked to report the alleged theft to the police. Unfortunately you have refused the latter until the evening, despite the offer of help. The police investigation runs. According to our latest data currently inconclusive.
Dear Kelly R., we are very sorry that your laptop is no longer in your possession. But we think that multiple charges against us in different languages on TripAdvisor do not lead anywhere. After reporting the incident we have done everything in our power to help you. We ask you to recognize this and hope that the police can help you.
Your sincerely
Hotel Kaiserhof Board of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

If I could give the hotel 4 and a half stars, I would. Nicely appointed rooms, good public areas, and a monitored parking lot. I generally expect stairs in Europe, but for a hotel of this category, it would be to have a ramp from the lot to the main floor. My room was the smallest I've seen in Germany in quite a while. I assumed the small room was due to my being there for a conference, and thus at a substantially discounted rate. Despite being on the front (noisy) side of the hotel, the room was very quiet. The banquet and conference food that was provided by the adjacent hotel restaurant was extremely good. Certainly, I'd love to try the restaurant on a future visit to Muenster.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Congenuity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback! Our hotel has some stairs throughout the building and some rooms are small (standard categorie). But you can reach the floors with an elevator. Our hotel was build in 1895. We enlarged as many rooms as possible, but some are still rather small with small bathrooms in it. That is why we offer different categories of rooms for different prices. We have a bell at the entrance to help you with your luggage, if you would like us to do so. We hope to see you again soon and be sure to visit one of our restaurants. We have a great chef and team - you will enjoy it! You can also visit our spa. Our overnight guest do not have to pay any entrance fee for it. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

In June 2013 my wife and I were in Denmark and scheduled to catch the DFDS ferry back to England but the ferry was involved in an accident at Harwich and our return trip was cancelled.

This meant that we had to drive across Northern Europe to get to Calais and an alternative ferry. After driving many miles in atrocious weather we decided that Munster would be the place for an overnight stop. We drove towards the city centre but could not see any hotels and, of course, there is no place to just stop for a few minutes and look around. We turned down a side street and, by accident, drove into the car park of the Kaiserhof.

It was a Sunday evening which fortunately is usually a quiet one for hotels and the Kaiserhof had a room vacant. The receptionist was pleasant and our room was excellent, clean and modern.

The downside was that the hotel did not have a restaurant open but they called a taxi which for 5 euros took us to the restaurant district where we found an excellent place to eat. The waitress even spoke good English.

Car parking at city centre hotels is usually a problem but that was not the case at the Kaiserhof. There is a large car park behind the hotel. The morning breakfast was excellent in a nice clean and bright restaurant.

We found that the price of the hotel was reasonable. In good weather it would probably have been a nice stroll into the central city area but it was raining when we were there so we took a taxi. The central area of Munster looked nice but we did not have time to explore it.

We would have rated this hotel excellent except for the lack of eating facilities on a Sunday evening. Everything else was fine and the staff were friendly and even helped me to sort out how to use the guest computer located near reception. Our impression was that it was very much a business hotel rather than catering for holidaymakers (if they get them in Munster).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback! You had quite a journey. We are glad that you found us on the way. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the restaurant. Sunday midday and evening are the only time our restaurant is closed. We offer snacks at our bar but for a full meal you have to go to the city. It was very unfortunate that the weather was so bad because a walk in the city is quite beautiful and you reach the city center and even the old town within minutes.
We hope that you got interested in Münster because it has so much to offer and we can welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Fantastic hotel, friendly receptionist,great large luxury room and fantastic breakfast. Thereby friendly staff and the citycenter is within walking distance. The restaurant was annex and had a great menu, especially the Dorade we can recommend. Here also the staff was very kind and helpfull.

Room Tip: You couldnt whish for more
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianusrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and recommendation! And thank you for your praise to our staff. We are all working hard to make your stay the best stay away from home and it is very nice to hear that our work is appreciated. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews