We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty food, good beer -- exactly what I wanted”

Pinkus Muller Altbierkuche Brauereiausschank
Ranked #6 of 490 Restaurants in Muenster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hearty food, good beer -- exactly what I wanted”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I went with a group of locals. We sat outside and downed several pints of their own brew which was solid. I followed this up with some schnitzel and fried potatoes that hit the spot I was hoping to fill. If you're looking for stereotypical but good German food and drink, this is the place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronbdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    99
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The perfect package...”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

...of fine beers, good food, stunning interiors and cosy atmosphere. This has to be an obligatory stop for lovers of craft beers and fine drinking houses. There was a range of 8 or 9 beers - all of which, I think, were "vom fass". The food was heavily meat orientated, as one would expect, but a vegetarian or pescetarian could just about get by.

The interiors alone are worth a visit, with the massive blue-tiled range, dark wood panelling, heavy beams and old curios.

Just go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great beer, great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I was really looking forward to visiting the brewery and restaurant as it had been recommended by a number of friends who really rated the beer (brewed on-site). It certainly lived up to expectations.
Forget your mass produced fizzy lager, get used to some top quality locally brewed German brews! The menu had a number of good local dishes, and has an emphasis on meat (but there are some meat-free options). Try to the local sausage platter with fried potatoes - goes great with the beer.
Also a superb atmosphere - friendly, with a local feel, (a nice balance between locals and tourists). Finally, what excellent service - our waitress was especially good, and even tolerated my rubbish German!!
Make this venue top of your list of places to visit in Muenster.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent range of beers with local menu”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The waitress gave us a chart which lists all their beers and in which order to try them. This was very helpful and an entertaining way to spend an evening. The food is typical of the area - huge plates of pork in various forms. They also make a variety of breads, many of which use left overs from the brewing process. The venue also has lots of character (unlike most of Muenster...). The reason for a 4 star is that if you don't like 'heavy' styles of food, then you won't find much else.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaretOkehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“easy going restaurant”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This restaurant/pub seems so popular that it has 2 locations opposite to each other. Apparently they make their own beer and also ecological beer.
We went there for dinner and it seems like it is a very relaxing traditional decor. We just find any spot we can to sit down without any guidance. Normally the waiter/waitress would like to arrange where you sit, but not this one.
The restaurant seems busy during the Saturday night, so we waited a bit time to get the menu and to order food. The menu was in German, but after requesting, they have an English menu.
We ordered the Westfälischer Topf (around 14 euro): smoked port, fried bacon and port sausage. Which is very delicious I have to say.
The pinkus beer is their specialty and very good!
The overall service was ok, and I can see they are trying their best to satisfy customers needs.
The waitress try her best to speak English, but sometimes my husband had to speak German to communicate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lundaboende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinkus Muller Altbierkuche Brauereiausschank also viewed

Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Pinkus Muller Altbierkuche Brauereiausschank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing