We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place for a few nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Muenster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Muenster
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Muenster
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shoeburyness
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a few nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Muenster is a fantastic place for a weekend break; cobbled streets, attractive buildings, a lovely welcome and the hotel Movenpick. We flew out from London Southend on Flybe's new service, which was simplicity itself, with an easy bus ride into town.

On arrival the room was ready, despite it being pre noon, and we were welcomed at reception with free fruit juice and a friendly face.

We ate in the restaurant twice out of the three nights, the restaurant is not cheap but is simply exquisite, and with a lovely outside terrace for when it is warm (it was). And a nice touch of some delicious Swiss wines to wash down the delicious fish. The breakfasts are an event to live for and to linger over.

Its about fifteen minutes walk into town via a very pleasant residential road that serves mainly as a cycle track. Hiring a bike from the hotel is an absolute must; Muenster is made for cycling with a rural ride around the expansive lake and cycle paths everywhere with a beautiful tree-lined cycleway ring around the city along the line of the old moat and wall. Cycle hardly meets car in Muenster.

Lovely place, and by British standards rooms are very cheap. Book direct and you get free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHMuenster, Verkaufsleiter at Movenpick Hotel Muenster, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ian P

thank you for your great feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is really a pleasure to read that you felt welcome at the Mövenpick Hotel Münster.

The whole Mövenpick team is constantly aiming at doing everything to satisfy our guests and a feedback like yours shows us that we are in the right direction - this is very rewarding!
It is a great pleasure to share your comments with our team.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience.

Maybe you will have the opportunity to stay again in Münster.
The whole team will be glad to welcome you back!
We hope you had a safe trip back home and wish you all the best for the future.

Warm regards
your host

Duygu Saltik
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    407
    116
    24
    11
See reviews for
101
346
68
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We arrived after quite a journey but the lady on reception was not very friendly or helpful. Got out the elevator where the carpet was filthy and torn. However the actual room which we had chosen an executive king was clean, tidy and modern which was a nice surprise. It was as was shown on the website. The barman on duty that night was very friendly and even tried to find the closing ceremony of the Commonwealth Games for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHMuenster, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Muenster, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Debbie H,

thank you very much for staying with us.
We appreciate the time you took to describe your impressions on tripadvisor.
Your feedback is of great value to us an enables us to continuously improve ourselves.

We apologize for your disappointment regarding your arrival. The moment where you enter the hotel and see the heart of the house is a very important one. The first impression counts and we are very sorry about the described situtaion. Please be assured that this does not meet our standard.

Therefore we are glad that our barman was able to convince you of our passionately swiss service and made you feel comfortable. It is very important to us that the service is of high quality and that even a simple smile let our guests feel welcome.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Mövenpick Hotel Münster.

Sincerly,

Duygu Saltik
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Location is 20 minute walk from the City centre in tranquil setting. Modern smart rooms and one of the best breakfasts - so much choice including chef preparing omelettes theatrically to order. But profoundly irritating surcharges - even to park in their garage! If you select what the marketing guys call a deluxe room you get charged extra for wi-fi - who does that these days.
Some minor issues let them down - the mini bar had broken down and no technician and I missed the first half of the World Cup game waiting for a replacement remote for the TV.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 701Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHMuenster, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Muenster, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear 701Peter,

First of all we thank you very much for having stayed at our Mövenpick Hotel Münster and for taking the time to rate our hotel on tripadvisor.com

We are delighted to hear that your room as well as our rich breakfast buffet have met your expectations.

Therefore we are sorry that you felt wrong-guided and not happy about the extra costs.
The usage of WIFI in our hotel is indeed chargeable (EUR 12.00/24hours). Alternatively you may use our in our business center which are free of charge. As advice for your next booking: Gladly ask our reservations department for one of our premium rooms. For a small surcharge you will enjoy a more spacious room, a free bottle of water and a plate with fruits as well as free use of internet.

In addition to the parking garage we have about 68 parking spaces that are free of charge and the first 2 hours in the parking garage are free of charge, too. Furthermore there is a free public parking space directly next to the hotel.

Also we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the replacement of the control remote. We know how that especially during the world champion chips everyone wants to support the own team.

Your comments have been shared within our teams and encourage us even more to stay focussed on the service you need and expect from us.
Our aim is to satisfy all your needs, and to ensure that your stay will remain a most memorable experience.

We truly hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at the Mövenpick Hotel Münster.

Sincerely,
your host

Duygu Saltik
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Standard excellent accommodation and hospitality from the movingpick.
Comfortable bed and v quiet room ensured a great nights rest. Wireless expensive. A lot of smaller hotels offer wireless free of charge these days and as a consequence I can never understand how the big chains have the nerve to keep charging over the odds for this service.
This shouldn't detract from another great stay at Moevenpick.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHMuenster, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Muenster, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear simarsden,

first of all we thank you very much for having stayed at our Mövenpick Hotel Münster and for taking the time to rate our hotel on tripadvisor with such a satisfied opinion.

Regarding your comment concerning our Internet connection, I would like to inform you that you get free access in all our rooms except of our Comfort and Deluxe rooms. In our premium category, for example, you will also benefit from additional services such as a plate of fruits, a bottle of water and a bathrobe.

It is amongst our highest priorities to persuade all our guests from Mövenpick Hotels and Resorts.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you soon again and to host you to your full satisfaction.

Sincerely
your host

Duygu Saltik
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I haven’t had the pleasure to stay at Mövenpick Hotels that often but the few times that I have, have clearly shown that there is a very comforting consistency in the quality of the experience. Whether talking about staff, rooms or any of the services offered one would have to employ the exhausting pickiness of a Swiss immigration officer to find anything wrong. It doesn’t come cheap but when everything is taken into account it is nevertheless good value, simply because the stay is so enjoyable. Very important: they are dog friendly! Also the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterbilt_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHMuenster, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Muenster, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Peterbilt_Wanderer,

Your satisfied opinion about our hotel as well as your online feedback is much appreciated- thank you very much!

Each guest comment is extremely valuable to us. Every day we gain experience and improve our service. We are delighted to hear that our services and facilities met your expectations.
Let us welcome you soon again at our property, we are already looking forward to your next booking.

With kindest regards
your host

Duygu Saltik
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Four friends travelling for pleasure.

The good. Comfortable rooms, nice beds, a useful desk, a nice tub, well ventilated, clean, with coffee making facilities. A nice breakfast buffet with a decent variety and a chef to make a quick omelette, with somewhat harried staff (the hotel was full) keeping the trays full, and making sure your coffee is topped up. Lovely little chocolates on the bed each day. A nice stroll to the city center, some nice cafe's nearby, and a local university botanical garden to visit.

The bad: Nothing really, as we were traveling for pleasure. See curious below.

The curious: For a business hotel 3 euros an hour is fairly steep for weak broadband access. For the three days we were there, three of the four of us would have dropped 30-45 each on access, as when we are business travelers we would expect to put 6-8 hours in a day on remote work out of the hotel room. An hour or two over 3 days was fine for pleasure travel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgkiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHMuenster, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Muenster, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear theanxiousaardvark,

thank you for your great feedback on Tripadvisor and the time you took to describe the impressions you and your friends have made during your stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Münster.

We are glad to hear, that you felt comfortable and you were satisfied with your hotel room. It is good to know that you enjoyed the city itself, too. In Münster you can find everything you could wish for during an exciting short stay: A city with plenty of history, viewing and sightseeing.
The most we are happy about is your compliment concerning our personal service. Thank you!

The usage of WIFI in our hotel is indeed chargeable (EUR 12.00/24hours). Alternatively you may use our in our business center which are free of charge. As advice for your next booking: Gladly ask our reservations department for one of our premium rooms. For a small surcharge you will enjoy a more spacious room, a free bottle of water and a plate with fruits as well as free use of internet.

We are looking forward to your next visit in Münster.
In the meantime, we wish you and your friends a happy Christmas season and all the best for 2014!

Sincerely,
your host

Duygu Saltik
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at Moevenpick from the 21st to the 26th of November, I have never experienced such a small value for the price of the room.
First of all, for 138 euros a night, Internet and breakfast are NOT included. They ask for 17 euros for breakfast and another 17 for Internet daily. Now, the Internet connection in this place is the worst thing I have ever experienced, not to even mention that they have the guts to charge you for that sort of service. If you need to use your e-mail, dial into a conference call or use VPN, well forget about it. Best part was that I called the reception to say the signal was too weak for me to be able to do anything and they said they can't do anything as they have already given me the strongest connection they possibly have. They also explained that if more people use the internet in the hotel than I can't expect to have a good connection.
This hotel is also advertised with "satellite TV channels". Apart from the 4 or 5 English news channels there is nothing that you could watch unless you speak/understand German of course. Even SKY cinema is dubbed in German and can't be switched to English. This should be clearly called out by the hotel before you book.
I have tried to cancel the initial reservation made by my company but the hotel advised that they will retain 90% from each night's rate to cancel, ridiculous.
I was "fortunate enough" to stay while the hotel hosted an event. At 2 am I could still hear the music and the base like it was just next to my room ( I stayed on the third floor). This is not so great when you need to work the next day.
The staff - definitively not heard of the hospitality industry, you almost need to beg for a smile or a greeting or acknowledgement sometimes.
The breakfast buffet and restaurant menu were ok but definitely not close to what should have been 4 star superior.
My advice is not to stay here unless you speak/understand German and don't need Internet. You also need to be a bit mental to spend that amount of money for this service.

Room Tip: If you do end up here eventually, ask for a room as close to the lift as possible. The Internet conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickHMuenster, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Muenster, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear AlexandraR90,

thank you for staying in our hotel and the time you took to share your feedback with us.
Your feedback is of great value to us and enables us to continuously improve ourselves.

We are sorry that you felt wrong-guided and not happy about the extra costs.
The breakfast buffet costs EUR 17,50 due to its high quality and its variety of offers.
The guests have also the opportunity of ordering breakfast à la carte.

Also we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the Internet connection.
Indeed the internet connection can be slow sometimes and we are not able to change this immediately except of contacting the internet system.
But I can appreciate your dissatisfaction because when you called the reception, they could explain it to you in another way.

Furthermore and especially we feel sorry that your stay did not meet up to your expectations, and you did not feel taken care off.
Your comments have been shared within our teams and encourage us even more to stay focussed on the service you need and should expect from us.

Our aim is to satisfy all your needs, and to ensure that your stay will remain a most memorable experience. I sincerely hope that this experience will not deter your loyalty in our company.
Please be assured your several points have our attention and have been shared with the related departments and actions will be taken towards the team member who did not provide you with satisfying service you deserve.

We truly hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at the Mövenpick Hotel Münster. We will ensure an even more positive experience and encourage you to always make Mövenpick your first choice.

Sincerely,
your host

Duygu Saltik
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muenster hotels
1.1 mi away
H4 Hotel Muenster City Center
1.5 mi away
Factory Hotel
Factory Hotel
#2 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stadthotel Munster
Stadthotel Munster
#5 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tryp Muenster Kongresshotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis Muenster City
Ibis Muenster City
#7 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster
Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster
#4 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Muenster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Muenster

Property: Movenpick Hotel Muenster
Address: Kardinal-von-Galen-Ring 65, 48149 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Muenster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Muenster
#1 Green Hotel in Muenster
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muenster
#3 Business Hotel in Muenster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Muenster 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Westphalia. The Movenpick Hotel Munster, situated in green surroundings, is a spacious business hotel with a holiday atmosphere and outstanding culinary competence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Muenster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Muenster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing