We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved sleep quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkhotel Schloss Hohenfeld
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Muenster
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,192 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
“Improved sleep quality”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Going again a weekend to Muenster, the selection of the Parkhotel Schloss Hohenfeld was a no-brainer (see my previous review). In that review, my complaint was that the beds were uncomfortable, but the nice clean room we occupied this time was equipped with comfortable beds. Service of the staff: Still 5 star. Buffet breakfast: Still 5 star. Room: 4 star. Comfortable with a compact, spotlessly clean bathroom with shower and plenty of towels. Still no small fridge and still no coffee/tea facilities and two small expensive bottles of mineral water for sale. For almost the same price a pint of excellent German beer can be obtained in the cafe next to the hotel. But the Wi-Fi in the room is free. (Get a password at the front desk) and plenty of parking space around the hotel. Quiet surroundings, as the hotel is situated in a park. The drive to Muenster is only 6 kilometer. Next time to Muenster I will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    77
    34
    5
    7
See reviews for
19
63
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Fully agreed with the previous reviews. The hotel is in quitte surrounding outside the city (very nice city). Stayed for two nights. All staf is very friendly and helpfull. Free parking available. City can be reached by public transport or own car. Parking in the city not so expense per hour (about 1.5-2 euro). Room was just big enough, not small but also not big. matresses are good, pillows were very soft, not very convenient for someone was is used on hard pillows. Bath room is quite small and has room for one at a time. Everything is very clean. The restaurant is popular and has a good quality, but a bit more expense than general. You can find the menu and prices on the internet. Breakfast was good and staff is doing their best to keep the everything enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottersum
Level Contributor
130 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Although the name of the hotel suggests that you will spend the night in a castle you will stay in a rather modern building, situated in a very large and beautiful park. It is 7 km. to Münster City Centre and connected by bus or you can hire a bike at 9 euro a day. The hotel has a free parking and free wifi, but the latter does not work half of the time in our rooms, so you have to go downstairs. There are also a swimming pool, a whirpool and a sauna. There are 3 restaurants: the Bierstube, the Landhaus and the Restaurant, where you can have an excellent meal at a reasonable price, although latter is somewhat more expensive. The hotel has no air-conditioning, which is not uncommon in northern Europe, but the rooms are nevertheless rather cool. During our stay we had a temperature of about 30 C˚.
Entering the lobby you will find the desk at your left and a sitting corner at your right. Staff is very kind and helpful and check in and check out went very smoothly, but you have to wait till after 15.00 hrs. before entering the room, which is no problem when you can have lunch at the terrace.
The hotel has 83 rooms. We occupied room 227 and 229. The first has a bath tub, the latter a shower. The rooms are fairly large and between the two rooms there is a door. Although Schloss Hohenfeld is a 4-stars hotel, there is neither a fridge nor a minibar. Both rooms have a large box spring bed with excellent mattresses. There is a small TV (nearly all channels in German) and a working table with two chairs. Room and bathroom are impeccable clean. The only problem in room 227 is the shower. This is placed on the side wall with a rotatable glass door to catch water but which does not close properly, resulting in a wet floor. In addition, the bottom of the bath is fairly smooth. Well there is a safety grip on the wall. There is only liquid soap and a hairdryer. Although not strictly necessary towels were changed every day.
The warm/cold breakfast buffet is amazingly good, both with respect to quality of the products as well as its variety. There is a large variety of bread, meat and cheese products, yoghurt and jam and the English buffet is highly recommended as well. If you want to drink away your hangover than a glass of sparkling wine is also available. All in all one of the best breakfasts I ever had. The breakfast was included in the price of our stay, otherwise you have to pay 16 euro. We had diner 3 times, which was excellent too.
All in all the hotel is very recommendable.
Tip: a city trip by Principal Express (see picture) lasts half an hour, costs 8 euro p.p. and is recommendable too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel is located in a nice park on the outskirts of Muenster providing a relaxing sphere. It has two restaurants, one more high end, one more rustic offering local fare at a reasonable price. When I was there they had many dishes with asparagus which is a local delicacy. The downside are the rooms. Many of them are very small, with a single bed placed next to the wall and they desperately need a renovation as the furniture and carpets are tired. The bathroom has the feeling of a telephone booth. As I stayed there for a night only, this was fine, but if you plan a longer stay you should ask for a newer end larger room. There are also a number of hotels in the outskirts of Muenster which have a similar setting but are more comfortable, such as Schloss Wilinghege or Landhaus Eggert.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I am now staying at the Park Hotel Schloss Hohenfeld Munster for the forth time. I am on business in the area and I have made reservations for next week also.

The Hotel is very nicely positioned and well appointed, the staff are very nice and accommodating, however it appears very potluck on the room options.

My first visit, just over night was situated outside of the hotel in an apartment complex, it was nice, a little spooky, but fine. My second stay was fine, and acceptable room again a tired bathroom and a very small television.

My third stay, I was again in the apartments and I was very please, lovely room, nice TV, sofa just right for a weeks stay on business.

Today (8th July) again on a weeks visit I find myself in a small room, very tired bathroom looking at a flat roof, and feeling very grumpy.

Breakfast at the hotel is nice, well presented, and run very efficiently, so all good on that front.

There is a nice Bar and Restaurant within the grounds which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjcrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijswijk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Very nice location with quiet surroundings nearby Münster, easy access by car but also by bus or bicycle! Very friendly and helpful people!
The hotel room and bathroom was not very big at all, but OK for a few nights. At the end you'll only sleep in your room...

Room Tip: Ask for garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrasilTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,192 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Parkhotel Schloss Hohenfeld is located in a park on the grounds with several medieval buildings close by at a distance of 6 kilometer from Muenster city center. By the way, Muenster is definitively worth visiting. The hotel exterior and interior is based on the medieval surroundings. There are several parking areas on the grounds. For check-in you can drive up to the entrance. The hotel is positioned as a 4 star hotel, but the service of the staff, the breakfast and the cleanliness of the room and bathroom were more on a 5 star level. Excellent. However, what I would expect in a 4 star room, and was lacking was a small fridge, coffee/tea-making facilities and free wi-fi. What really was less then satisfactory was the comfort of the beds. I understand that you can't expect memory foam mattresses in a hotel room and many people like their mattress firm, but these beds were like torture chamber rejects, so hard. But I would go to this hotel again unhesitatingly because of the many positive points I mentioned.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muenster hotels
2.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Muenster
3.3 mi away
Tryp Muenster Kongresshotel
3.0 mi away
H4 Hotel Muenster City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Seehotel Krautkraemer
2.9 mi away
Factory Hotel
Factory Hotel
#2 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ringhotel Landhaus Eggert
Ringhotel Landhaus Eggert
#9 of 49 in Muenster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Schloss Hohenfeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Schloss Hohenfeld

Property: Parkhotel Schloss Hohenfeld
Address: Dingbaengerweg 400, 48161 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Muenster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Muenster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Schloss Hohenfeld 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkhotel Hohenfeld Münster is embedded in the wild grown park of the former castle - amid the nature! It is an ideal environment at the suburb of Münster (to the city centre 6 km) - idyllically, calm but nevertheless conveniently situated. The Hotel has got 96 comfortable rooms and apartments. 84 twin- and single rooms, 11 individually furnished cottage style apartments and 1 suite in the country house Hohenfeld. The hotel offers different restaurants, an aperitif bar, a Westphalian ale house as well as 2 wonderful summer terraces, swimming pool, sauna and solarium. The Parkrestaurant is situated in the main building and provides 3 different rooms, one with a fireplace, and 2 summer terraces. German cuisine with a Mediterranean influence is served here. The Westphalian ale house "Börneken" is located in an adjoining building and is furnished in Westphalian country-style. It also provides an open fire place. Typical Westphalian and German dishes are served in this restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Parkhotel Schloss Hohenfeld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing