We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Troublesome locals”
Review of Grosser Kiepenkerl

Grosser Kiepenkerl
Ranked #11 of 497 Restaurants in Muenster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Regional cuisine. Westphalian recipes using the finest ingredients, all freshly cooked. Animal welfare is important to us! We support SLOW FOOD a long time. Try our bitter house beer or the wines from our own import. Beautiful bright meeting room for up to 100 people on the 1st floor overlooking historic square.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Troublesome locals”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Local street dwellers and bikers also use the outside area where I unfortunately more than once experienced racial and provocative behaviour .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFHelmrich, Inhaber at Grosser Kiepenkerl, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
It´s a pity that you have made an unpleasent experience in the outside area of our restaurant in wintertime and we´re sorry to hear that.
But the behaviour of the locals outside of our restaurant does not represent the inside.
For example, if you have a disappointing experience in front of your local post office, then it doesnt speak automatically against the british post.

Best wishes to Birmingham

Klaus Friedrich Helmrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    105
    40
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place is on the main walking trail across the historic city of Munster - make sure you don't pass it by! The cuisine is not sophisticated, but it offers a down-to-earth eating pleasure. Try the German specialities and you won't be disapointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CudakLewek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pijnacker
1 review
“Friendly atmosphere and tastefull dishes.”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We are four friends from Holland who are making short trips once and a while. This time we came over Muenster and stopped at the Grosser Kiepenkerl. The service was very friendly and extremely helpful in acquiring a table inside. Although the menu is not very extensive,the dishes are authentic and very tasteful. Especially the desert "Herrencreme" was well received. Thanks for a very nice and tastefull evening!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luscuere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old tradition”
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Centenary brewhouse in town, good service , good beer, good food. Good option for drinking beer and apetizers. Altough lots of tourists in place, locals still eating and drinking there , a good sign for a traditional establishment

Helpful?
Thank Sbuerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwijndrecht
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place, good atmosphere but not spectacular.”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

After our shopping tour in Munster, we had selected this restaurant for its location and local kitchen. On a saturday evening, the place was packed with people eating & drinking, and a reservation was made for the next available table 1.5 hours later. Unfortunately it was rather chilly so that we could not enjoy a local beer outside the restaurant facing the statue of the 'Kiepenkerl'.
With such a popular place, expectations are obviously high.
Once seated the waiter came by to distribute the menu cards. He failed to make promotion for the special dish(es) during the game season and forgot to take the order for a drink.
The menu card had a variety of local dishes. It was unclear if menu cards in other languages were available.
The selection of wines is rather limited and the waiter obviously has no clue whatsoever about the wines served in the restaurant.
The dishes were served swiftly. Tastewise the dishes were all OK. The rosemarin-red sine sauce with the 'Geschmorte Lammshaxe' was excellent so was the 'Hirsch-meddaillons' with selerie potatoes. The third dish of filet of porc rolled in bacon was up to my partner undercooked. In general the dishes were rather small.
The desert list could not convince us to 'sin'. Preference was given to a local brewery nearby to complete the night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XiaoMa2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grosser Kiepenkerl also viewed

Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Grosser Kiepenkerl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing