We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good traditional German dining experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grosser Kiepenkerl

Grosser Kiepenkerl
Ranked #9 of 478 Restaurants in Muenster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Regional cuisine. Westphalian recipes using the finest ingredients, all freshly cooked. Animal welfare is important to us! We support SLOW FOOD a long time. Try our bitter house beer or the wines from our own import. Beautiful bright meeting room for up to 100 people on the 1st floor overlooking historic square.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good traditional German dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

No frills, but good trad food in the centre of town. The staff were super helpful and the food good. Perha[s a little lacking in ambience, but it was all very pleasant. My Dad loved the beer!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    88
    34
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic and regional German food extremely well done.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

On a recent trip to Holland, my girlfriend and I took a short trip into Germany to visit the town of Muenster. Having spent some time in Germany in the past, and some years ago, we were hoping to find something traditional Westphalian and from the region done with care, something that is becoming more and more difficult to find these days. Based on our experience, Grosser Kiepenkerl not only met, but exceeded our expectations.

We began with a traditional beer from the region - Heimatbier of which there were three. We were told the dunckel is the most traditionally consumed in the region. The beer was crisp, just a bit sweet with a rich dark color and very refreshing.

We then began our meal with a basic green salad, and potato pancakes. Portions were generous, and the salad was incredibly fresh, matter of fact, it was simple butter lettuce, carrots and possibly a tomato with a regional light cream dressing, but it was one of the most amazingly fresh and tasty salads I've had in a very long time. The greens were so tender, you could cut them with your fork. Delicious! The potato pancakes came four medium sized, crisp and with the consistency you'd expect and were accompanied by home made apple sauce and a some tender greens with a light and very nice dressing. Finally, we both ordered the Rheinischer Sauerbraten and enjoyed it thoroughly. It was tender with great flavor accompanied by two potato dumplings and plenty of sauce as well as a side of home made apple sauce with chunks of cooked apple and a great cinnamon accent.

The meal we had was incredibly heavy, so much so we didn't leave room for dessert (those looked desirable as well), but it was exactly what we were looking for, and we were very happy to have made this choice.

Finally, the service was excellent. We were seated promptly, food came quickly and hot, cold, or the temperature it was meant to be. Our waiter was very friendly, provided english menus though we were able to navigate some German when it comes to eating, and accommodated our every request with pleasure. The decor is traditional german wood and stucco, nothing incredibly fancy or pretentious but very warm and comfortable. Prices were very reasonable for what we received.

We are not here in Muenster long, but if we every come back, we'd certainly choose this restaurant again and would recommend it highly for someone looking for a traditional taste of the region, done as it should be.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Grosser Kiepenkerl is a good restaurant serving German dishes from the Westphalian tradition, made with local ingredients. Do not expect any nouvelle cuisine kind of dishes; dishes are traditional also in their presentation; they are very generous and filling, especially the Kiepenkerl-Topf, a mixed dish of pork medallion, steak, chicken breast, mixed vegetables,
parsnips, carrots, and fries. The ragouts and the venisons are good too. They also serve excellent vegetarian dishes. Good choice of beers on draught. Excellent cakes and desserts. Prices are reasonable for the food they serve and the typical ambience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Enryok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Troublesome locals”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Local street dwellers and bikers also use the outside area where I unfortunately more than once experienced racial and provocative behaviour .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFHelmrich, Inhaber at Grosser Kiepenkerl, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
It´s a pity that you have made an unpleasent experience in the outside area of our restaurant in wintertime and we´re sorry to hear that.
But the behaviour of the locals outside of our restaurant does not represent the inside.
For example, if you have a disappointing experience in front of your local post office, then it doesnt speak automatically against the british post.

Best wishes to Birmingham

Klaus Friedrich Helmrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place is on the main walking trail across the historic city of Munster - make sure you don't pass it by! The cuisine is not sophisticated, but it offers a down-to-earth eating pleasure. Try the German specialities and you won't be disapointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CudakLewek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grosser Kiepenkerl also viewed

Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Grosser Kiepenkerl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing