We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s just not worth the money.”

LEGOLAND Discovery Centre
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$21.48*
and up
LEGOLAND Discovery Centre Oberhausen Admission...
Ranked #7 of 28 things to do in Oberhausen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience a unique journey through the biggest LEGO® bricks box in the world! Dive into the colourful LEGO indoor centre and express your creativity. More than 4 million LEGO bricks, a 4D cinema, exciting LEGO worlds and much more are waiting for you! LEGOLAND® Discovery Centre Oberhausen is a great place for your next family trip!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 6 August 2014

They just raised the entrance fee from 17,95 Euro to a dazzling 23,95 Euro.
And what do you get? A lot of Lego blocks and a few small attractions.
We bought the afternoon tickets for 9 Euro and this price is about right, for entrance in any part of the day. Anything higher is just ridiculous for such a small attraction.
We went there with our 2 year old boy and he had a lot of fun, if you are just adults I doubt you would have any fun there.

If you go there book your tickets on-line to save a little on the entrance fee. But on-line booking is restricted to just 2 sorts of international and 1 German credit card. So no credit card, no on-line booking.
As if your are still in the days Lego was invented, have they never heard of PayPal or any other modern means for on-line money transfer?

I'm not going there any more, all in all a disappointing experience.

4  Thank Garfield62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at LEGOLAND Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Garfield62,
we are very sorry that your visit was not what you expected. Legoland Discovery Centre is designed as an indoor playground, especially for smaller children. That is also the reason why you can only visit us with at least one child in your group.
So it is great to hear that the 2 year old boy had fun in our Centre.
Thank you for your advice referring to our online booking System. We will talk about that in our team. If there is anything else you would like to tell us, feel free to contact us: Oberhausen@legolanddiscoverycentre.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

After standing in a line for 40 minutes to get our tickets, we finally walk through the discovery centre. Lots of attracrions and rides were not open or running. My children stand in the line for 10 minutes for Merlins ride and as they get to the front, they are told its closing for 1 hour 10 minutes and no reason given. It was 11:10 in the morning so not lunch time and certainly not break time seeing as it only opened at 10:00. We then go to the Aventeur Park and all thr main rides are closed, including Shanghai Express, Rutshsterm, M Seegang. We arrive at Goldwash and have rompay an additional fee for the bowl etc., as if the ticket to into the park wasnt enough. The "remote control" boats were broken as was the crane truck in the playground. We paid 96Euro for my husband, myself and 2 children and thunk it wasnt worth it at all. With half the rides and attractions not running, we should have been charged half price. It was extremely disppointed and I would not recommend it at all.

7  Thank MellyPan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at LEGOLAND Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello MellyPan7,
thank you for your feedback. I would like to answer some questions of yours.
During holidys or at the Weekend, we have a large amount of visitors, and our queue time is quite long. We would like to apologize for that.
In the centre, we work with alternating operations at the attractions. I am sorry to hear that this is why you could not use Merlins ride.
If there is anything I can do for you or if you have further information, please contact me: Oberhausen@legolanddiscoverycentre.de

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This LEGOLAND is slightly different than the one in Berlin. We visited on a school holiday, so it was very crowded, but there was still plenty of availability of all attractions. There were plenty of racetracks for the cars you can build. Movie was good, and flow thru was good.

We got a kombi-ticket for abenteurland, which was also pretty good.

Thank NATOPatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at LEGOLAND Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear HousingGuy,
thank you very much for your Feedback.
It is great to hear that you and your child enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in Legoland Discovery Centre Oberhausen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Wir waren erstaunt zu entdecken, dass es 18€ pro Person (Kinder ab 3 Jahre bezahlen Vollpreis) kostet. Kein Familienrabatt. Für unsere dreiköpfige Familie wäre es 54€, also ist mein Mann zum Apple Store gelaufen während ich das Kind zum Legoland gebracht habe. Ich war auch enttäuscht, dass die "König" Fahrt so gewalttätig war. Jede bekommt eine Pistole, um Drachen usw. zu schießen. Es war Krieg und Kampf überall. Unsere Sohn ist 3 Jahre alt und war bestimmt zu jung dafür. Er hatte Angst in der Fahrt. Ein 1 oder 2 jähriges Kind würde ich nicht hierher bringen. Sonst war es ein Indoor-Spielplatz ähnlich, aber mit viele Legos.

In English: This place is WAY too expensive at 18 euros per person (kids 3 and up pay full price, no discount for bigger families). The King's Ride was totally violence-oriented. Each person gets a gun to shoot things with, and in every room of the ride there was war and fighting going on. We aren't gun people and don't let our son play with toy guns, so this was a total turn-off. My son is 3 and was scared and overwhelmed. I would never bring a 1 or 2 year old into that ride. The rest of the place is like an indoor playground, but with lots of Legos to play with too. Not very interesting.

1  Thank PeeJaytwothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at LEGOLAND Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014
Google Translation

Hallo PeeJaytwothree,
vielen Dank für dein Feedback. Wir nehmen uns die Meinung unserer Gäste sehr zu Herzen, da wir nur so besser werden können.
Dass dein Sohn in der Drachenbahn Angst hatte, tut mir leid. Wir versuchen durch verschiedene Bereiche in unserem Centre, wie z.B. dem Duplo Village oder der LEGO Baustelle, ein breites Angebot für jedes Alter zu bieten.
Auf unserer Website bieten wir jederzeit Tickets zum Best-Preis mit attraktiven Rabatten an.
Ich würde mich über einen persönlichen Kontakt freuen, um weitere Anregungen besprechen zu können. Schreibe uns gerne eine eMail an Oberhausen@legolanddiscoverycentre.de.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had fun but I think the management could do a better job with cleanliness and keeping things a bit more orderly. A manager must expect that spills will happen throughout the day and that Lego bricks will be scattered about, so you should have employees cleaning these things up. We paid only the discount, after 2:00 pm, rate. That was about right.

1  Thank the12vman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at LEGOLAND Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello the12vman,
thank you for your feedback. Every opinion helps us to improve our services.
We put a lot of effort in keeping the centre clean at all times. With a large amount of visitors in the centre, this may take its time, what we would like to apologize.
If you have any further comments, please feel free to contact me: Oberhausen@legolanddiscoverycentre.de.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LEGOLAND Discovery Centre also viewed

Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to LEGOLAND Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing