We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To little attention to the food”
Review of Restaurant Teatro

Restaurant Teatro
Ranked #13 of 188 Restaurants in Oberhausen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“To little attention to the food”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It was our third and last time we will have had dinner here. You get the feeling that all food is thrown on the plate. A antipasti misto should be a mix of your antipasti and not what ever there is left in the kitchen. You haven't finished your starter or your main course is already in front of you. I do understand they want to use the table as often as you can, but they should try do that without giving the customers the feeling he has to leave. Main course al forno is so covered in cheese that you don't taste the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    53
    19
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The restaurant looked promising and we took a seat outside by the water. A few waiters had passed us by without giving us our menus. After a while we received them and we could order. When our food arrived, we still hadn't gotten our drinks. We had even finished our food before they finally came. I had ordered a glass of wine, but it didn't even come. When I asked about it, they said they were going to check it out, but still, nothing. So then we decided to ask for the bill, it took another ten minutes before we finally got it. We paid by cash, but didn't get any change. When we asked about it (because we didn't want to leave a tip after terrible service), the waiter (that only spoke Italian, while we were in Germany) said he didn't understand. We tried to explain it to him, but no result. Even after we had shown him the math (literally), he still didn't get it, and we just left it at that, extremely frustrated. The food itself was very good, but nonetheless the terrible service ruined our evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O.L.V.Waver
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

good: quick service- very friendly- al lot of choice at reasonable prices
negativ: high prices for drinks

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jadixt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant in Oberhausen”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Due to Christmas market it was very busy in the Centro surrounding, although we were served very quickly & politely in the restaurant (lunch time). We sat outside, under gas fed heaters; with a party of four. We ordered 3 pizza's and one pasta. We got a nice plate of small bread with olives and garlic butter; fresh and warm. All served food was great, excellent, tasty ... we enjoyed every bite, and we will certainly visit again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PyroSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pizza's were good, but pasta and lasagne NOT”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Due to christmas market very busy in the Centro surrounding; We were with a party of 8, which ordered 6 pizza's and two pasta. We got a nice plate of small bread with olives and garlic butter; Fresh and Warm; The two red wines were nice; The Pizza's were good, all of them.
But the Aoli spagetti, was too HOT, it was ordered by a child and she was on fire; The lasagna was hot on the top, but COLD on the bottom. The chef seemed to have difficulty with the non pizza meals; The Lasgana was deducted from the bill and on the spagetti we said to leave it on the table. So the service was quite ok.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veeksels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Teatro also viewed

Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Restaurant Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing