We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic value hotel, needs better wifi for business guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TRYP Centro Oberhausen
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oberhausen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Hotel staff very friendly and efficient. Checked in on Sunday, one guy working, so waited 20 mins to check in.... A bit too long.
Room was clean, bathroom clean, towels standard, but clean. Hair dryer, not great, but enough, beds OK.
The thing that let this hotel down for me was the primitive WIFI system they have, unreliable, slow. Free if you only need 50 mg, but for business travellers with VPN connections, good wifi is a must.
Tryp needs to sort out a better wifi ASAP to be a great hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bykergyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Manager at TRYP Centro Oberhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our guests opinions are very important because they are helping us to increase the quality of our services.
I understand your crisicism of our WIFI System and will forward this point to our corporate office.
We just have changed our WIFI supplier because with the former one it was not possible to offer
WIFI free of charge at all. You had to pay for in every case whatever you was planning to to with.
Since the beginning of this year we are able to offer a basic access free of charge - just to check your mails or to do other things to keep in touch. For an extended or business use it is possible to book a "Premium Ticket" for € 4,95 with much bigger data pack as well as a much more speed.
Next time please just ask our front office team and they will provide any needed information to you.
Thank you again
Best Regards
Martin Kau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

I was attending K-fair in Dusseldorf last year. I went to the Tryp hotel to pick up my brother. Since he was not ready I purchased a cup of coffee from the front desk area. When my brother came I accidentally left my man bag in the coffee shop area. The only people in the Tryp hotel lobby were Tryp hotel employees. The hotel was completely booked by Engel Group machinery from Austria.
Three bus loads of Engel Group employees had left the hotel already for the K-fair.
After sitting a few minutes with my brother I remembered my man bag was only ten meters behind me in the coffee shop.
I looked for my bag, reported it missing immediately to the front desk and housekeeping staff. My handbag never showed up. My passport, $2500 in euros and dollars, my drivers license, credit cards, were all stolen right from the hotel lobby. I filed a police report and the hotel claimed they looked all over and found nothing.
None of my insurance covered any of the loss. I had to stay in Germany an extra four days and drive to Frankfort to get a new passport so I could leave Germany. I borrowed thousands or euros from my friends since none of my credit cards were valid anymore.
The hotel has now accused me of faking the theft and trying to extort money from them.
I have discovered that the lobby cameras did not work during the K-fair so the thief could not be identified. I told the Tryp hotel that only their employees would have known that information. The Tryp hotel responded that they never promised a secure lobby.
I would NEVER stay at one of their hotels again!!!
Not only was I robbed but insulted after I left Germany.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Manager at TRYP Centro Oberhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Sir,

surprised and astonished we have noticed your comment about the mentioned episode.
Assumed that you are qualified to post a comment in here even you never have been guest in our hotel, there are massive doubts about what actually and de facto has happened.

These doubts are caused only in your behaviour and the different statements you have given to our colleagues verbaly, to the police in the report you have made and again to us - this time in written form. Per example there is a huge deviation in the amount of US $ that has been stolen following your statement - in the police report you even did not mention a stolen cash amount. Beneath others, these extreme discrepency alone is making your statement non-credible.

It is not our intention to portray you as someone who is not telling the truth. But you should understand that we as hotel cannot do anything until a claim is not proven or even to be proven. Another critical point is your comment concerning the camera. As you might have noticed, the camera installed behind the front office desk is directed to the main entrance of the hotel and the BAR area is located exactly and fixed to the opposite direction. Therefore this camera is completely irrelevant in this case - as the argument about the hotel employees is useless and knowingly missleading. Maybe it has to be mentioned that we sent you to the police to make a report.

Although you have not been our guest in the hotel we tried to help you in the best possible way due to our service attitude we offer, of course, not only to our hotel clients, but to our always welcome external visitors, too. But it should be logical that we cannot take any responsibility for the loss of personal goods in public areas not only in the hotel, but anywhere.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences caused to you to the loss of your money, but it´s not justified in any way to blame and accuse our hotel and our hotel staff for an incident out of our influence, control and responsibility.

We hope for your understanding and cooperation

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I've stayed at this hotel for the 5th time already, maybe even more ... I always select this hotel because it offers the best location ever! Cross the street and you immediately reach the Centr-O shopping mall & the Christmas fair, which was again beautiful this year. Breakfast : nice & plenty, no complaints. I booked 2 rooms, one for my parents, and one for my wife & I.
Although the room my parents stayed in looked nice, clean and very acceptable ... ours was completely the opposite! I don't know what happened, I've never had such a bad room before (in this hotel or elsewhere) but just check out the pictures attached and you'll know what I mean. It's like the whole floor needed to be redecorated/renovated, and they had just finished my parent's room but hadn't started ours yet (or forgot?). Ours was beaten down, dirty, ... totally unacceptable. Both rooms were charged the same price, which only makes matters worse. I am now, for the first time, considering not staying there again. A situation like this is to be avoided at all times, or at least charge us less or provide a discount coupon for the next stay, something ... at least. Also, around 1AM some very noisy people were wondering around on our floor, no respect what so ever, but this has got nothing to do with the hotel service. I do feel that the parking charges are no longer to be applied, the cost for the hotel is already more than high enough, parking should be complimentary!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PyroSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Manager at TRYP Centro Oberhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Gast,

vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback. Es ist uns sehr wichtig, Ihre Meinung zu erfahren, damit wir unsere Leistung stetig verbessern können. In Ihrem Fall ist Ihr Feedback uns besonders wichtig, da Sie bereits mehrfach Gast bei uns waren uns somit auch vergleichen können.
Tatsäclich ist es so, dass unser Haus seit 1996 besteht und wir in der tollen Situation sind, eine gute Auslastung zu haben. Wir sind uns darüber bewußt, dass dies zur Folge hat, dass wir einen hohen Aufwand zur Instadhaltung der Zimmer betreiben müssen um sie in einem guten Zustand zu erhalten. Wir tun dies kontinuierlich - es werden Monat für Monat Zimmer von uns renoviert. Aufgrund der hohen Belegung kann es jedoch vorkommen, dass Zimmer, die auf unserer "to do" Liste weit oben stehen nicht in der vorgesehenen Zeit bearbeitet werden können und wir die Zimmer in der Zwischenzeit trotzdem belegen müssen. Wir bedauern sehr, dass Sie offensichtlich ein solches Zimmer erhalten haben und möchten uns dafür entschuldigen. Wir hoffen, dass Sie uns trotzdem wieder Ihr vertrauen geben und uns bei nächster Gelegenheit wieder besuchen.
Das Thema Parken muss ich leider aus unserer Sicht relativieren.....
Bevor wir die Schrankenanlage installiert haben war es regelmäßig so, dass unsere Parkplätze oft von "Fremdparkern" genutzt wurden, die aus welchem Grund auch immer nicht in einem der Parkhäuser des CentrO parken konnten oder wollten. dies führte immer wieder dazu, dass wir nicht genügend Parkplätze für unsere Hausgäste zur Verfügung hatten. Um dies zu ändern haben wir uns entschlossen, die Schranke zu installieren. Sie werden verstehen, dass die Anschaffungs- und Unterhaltskosten für diese Schranke auch erwirtschaftet werden müssen. Aus diesem Grund berechnen wir unseren Hausgästen einen kleinen Beitrag in Höhe von € 4 pro Tag/Nacht. Im Vergleich zu anderen Hotels in Oberhausen und darüber hinaus erst recht mit anderen Destinationen ein ausnehmend geringer Betrag - wie wir finden.
Wir hoffen auf Ihr Verständnis und darauf, dass sie uns bei Ihrer nächsten Buchung wieder berücksichtigen.
Vielen Dank
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Martin Kau
Direktor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

nothing more needs to be sad, it was a perfect location to walk straight in to the mall,nice walk to the old city off oberhausen and the castle has a great park to visit with a great bridge over the canal

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Manager at TRYP Centro Oberhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Your oppinion and your feedback is important for us because based on your feedback we will be able to improve our service and the overall quality of our product.
With pleasure we have noticed that you was very satisfied with your stay. Thank you for this positive comment.
Kind regards

Martin Kau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Went to Oberhausen on business. The hotel has friendly staff, a good restaurant with good food, a fantastic breakfast and for once this hotel has beds that does not feel like sleeping on the sidewalk... And the shower solution is very clever, with a "room" the behind the servant instead of the more common shower cabinet.

The only thing keeping me from giving this hotel full score is that it feels and looks a little worn and the rooms has no air conditioning...

Practical info: Hairdryer, tv, shower cap and general soap.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Elin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Manager at TRYP Centro Oberhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.
Due to the very high number of guests who are visiting our hotel every year, our maintenance team is very busy to keep the hotel in a good shape. Unfortunately it is not possible to renovate all at once and sometimes we even might be a bit to late. Obviously you had a room which should be on our to do list with high priority.
We would appreciate a chance to show you that we generally are quite successful with this task and that the condition of the hotel is better than the impression of you last stay.
However, we are happy that you was satisfied with our team and the offered services.
Kind Regards
Martin Kau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We wanted to see CHRISTO´s Big Air Package Project for Gasometer Oberhausen. This is why we choose the Tryp Centro Hotel. Its located just across the street with very easy walking distance to the Centro and about 8-10 minutes to the Gasometer. Once having parked your car on the Hotel car park (4 Euros a day) you literally don´t need your car again.

The "Centro" offers a large variety for shopping, the "Promenade" more than a dozen of different restaurants, something for each taste and wallet.

The rooms of the hotel are worth 3 star, we personally had a premium room, which is concerning beds and furniture more 4 star quality. The bathroom is fairly big, but simply furnished. We found all lifts in the hotel to be a bit slow.

At night, we had a few drinks at the bar, the drinks are good, pricing is reasonable, the food offered at the bar could be improved however. It is more or less Tapas, and it ends 10 p.m.

As other reviewers mentioned already, I would like to highlight the breakfast. The choice is amazing, the quality excellent, service could have been a little better, but when we stayed there the hotel was almost fully booked and everybody seemed to have breakfast at the same time.

In summary, the main reasons to choose this hotel are all activities related to the location of Centro and around with a clear highlight in the morning which is breakfast. You won´t! choose the hotel for ambiance or as a romantic getaway. Rooms except premium rooms are average, but as the general value was good I would like to give an overall rating of very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Manager at TRYP Centro Oberhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very differneciated feedback. We need such feedbacks to be able to improve our performance continiously.
It is nice to hear that you liked our location and the breakfast. Unfortunately you did not like the athmosphere ofthe hotel, especially the standard rooms. Let me asure you that we are working on the athmosphere and we keep on trying toimprove it. As you have mentioned, theupper kategories are having better equipment and evena better athmosphere.
We hope that we can welcome you in our hotel again.

Thank you and Regards
Martin Kau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here on business and had a nice and pleasant trip.
I received a friendly reception from the staff throughout the hotel and was happy that the restaurant staff effortlessly helped me select from their gluten free range of foods on offer.
The room was clean, comfortable and contained a modern wet room rather than an aging bath / shower unit which I liked. Great location close to the beautiful river, shops and restaurant row.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeydoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, Manager at TRYP Centro Oberhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We really do appreciate the differenciated and positive way you are writing about our hotel, the services and our team.
Thank you for that. This is showing us that we are on the right track.

Best Regards
Martin Kau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberhausen hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Oberhausen Centro
1.3 mi away
NH Oberhausen
NH Oberhausen
#1 of 13 in Oberhausen
674 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Residenz Oberhausen
Hotel Residenz Oberhausen
#5 of 13 in Oberhausen
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parkhotel Oberhausen
Parkhotel Oberhausen
#4 of 13 in Oberhausen
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Oberhausen am Centro
0.7 mi away
Hotel Haus Union
Hotel Haus Union
#11 of 13 in Oberhausen
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Centro Oberhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Centro Oberhausen

Address: Centroallee 280, 46047 Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Oberhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oberhausen
Price Range: £57 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TRYP Centro Oberhausen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP CentrO Oberhausen is located at the dynamic heart of the region in the “Neue Mitte” area of Oberhausen. Right next to CentrO, Europe’s biggest shopping and recreation centre, with more than 200 stores and 25 bars and restaurants, the most popular attraction in the whole of “Metropole Ruhr”. Concerts, musicals or sports events – there is always entertainment of the highest level around the TRYP CentrO Oberhausen. This hotel is the perfect choice for your business and leisure trips to Oberhausen thanks to its excellent location in the city centre, its complete and comfortable facilities and the quality of its services. The hotel provides modern and elegant rooms; Wlan free of charge (500MB); a restaurant and a bar; 6 meeting rooms with natural light and a maximum capacity for up to 180 people; a spacious, bright hall; an outdoor terrace with pretty views and an outdoor parking (EUR 6,-/24h) for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TRYP Centro Oberhausen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Centro Oberhausen Hotel Oberhausen
Sol Melia Oberhausen
Sol Melia Centro Oberhausen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing