We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exploring Boppard”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rhine Valley

Rhine Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
US$148.02*
and up
Switzerland Mountains, Cheese and Chocolates Tour from Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Teesside
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exploring Boppard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed in the charming Bellevue Hotel which overlooks the river Rhine. It has a swimming pool, sauna and steam room. It offers wine tasting in its very own candle lit cellar. Lovely food and hospitality.
Boppard was a Roman Fort which the town developed and it's origins are still clear.
We opted for a three hour river cruise to St Goar with guidance and information of the splendid castles and points of interests along the way. We had a two hour stop to explore so walked up to Rheinfels Fortress and Castle ruin. The fortress is now a luxury hotel which we enjoyed drinks on the exquisite sun terrace enjoying spectacular views over the Rhine.
The Sesselbahn chairlift takes 20 minutes to the top which is not too scary and can transport bikes. The panoramic views from Gedeonseck & Vierseenblick overlooking the Rhine valley are majestic. We took an extended walk in the forest before walking down through the lovely woodland. No maps are needed. Mountain bike trails look challenging along with a stunt park which is not for the faint hearted.
We discovered a mustard mill and took an interesting tour with tastings. We bought Reisling, herb & Orange mustards. Three completely different tastes but equally gorgeous.
Boppard has a central square which is pedestrianised dominated by the historic St Severus Catholic Church which is worth a tour along with the Carmelite Church a few minutes away. Bells ring every 15 minutes and chime hourly with an early morning Bell call to prayers.
There is a quaint Teehause which is the oldest half timbered house dated 1519. It's still a small tea shop.
Try the wonderful train ride to Emmelshausen which travels through woodland, tunnels and impressive viaducts.
We also took the 10 minute train ride to Koblenz ... Wow wow wow is all I can say.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Elanios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    47
    8
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Rhine Valley was a good break from the large cities throughout Europe and is good for some peace and quiet.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Small and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Only down side was the rough toilet paper (pack your own Andrex, most foreign toilet paper is rougher) and the size of the toilet/shower (though one traveller said he was being caressed every time he took s shower - so maybe a plus side). Yes the toilet is smaller than the Hull ferry toilet and shower, but that was the only thing to make you aware of.

The boat is lovely, apparently built in the 60's, but in no way dated, or dilapidated.

The boat is Dutch and sails under a Dutch flag, made up of Dutch, Czech and Slovakian crew, all friendly, helpful and no way in your face, helpful staff.

The food was very good, I thought the breakfast buffet a better choice than the Hull ferry choice. Good choice and vegetarian friendly as well. Drinks are based on a tab system, you are given a receipt each time you order a drink so you know exactly how much your total is.

Afternoon tea and morning coffee also included free.

Small boat, lovely and warm on bitter cold November German day.

Moorings were close to main parts of towns of Ruddesheim, Cologne and Koblenz.

Booked as part of National Holiday package of 6 days (3 nights on the boat).

This comes boat is highly recommended, for food, comfort, and the nice staff, added to this wonderful scenery

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

During my visit to Germany in 2007,this was a great experience to drive through rhine valley visiting number of castles on the way,Cat,mouse etc.,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 767Amol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“rhine and christmas markets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

3 rd Rhine cruise for us and best yet ! On board MV princes Christina for 3 nights. The boat is comfortable, food plentiful and staff friendly and very helpful. There was plenty of time to do Christmas markets and towns. The boat docked 2 pm fish and we were free from then till start of sail at 5.30 am if we wished. We booked through Caledonian Travel and wouldn't hesitate to do so again

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhine Valley also viewed

Bingen am Rhein, Rhineland-Palatinate
Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
 
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
Braubach, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Rhine Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing