We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SAKS Urban Design Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kaiserslautern
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upscale & comfortable”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Beds are very comfortable, very quiet. Love the heated floor in front of the shower. Make sure to check out 24 hour lounge with complimentary beverages, snacks. Also, the rooftop daybed & Spa. Great view of K'town. Great restaurant and customer service.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerandSusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    72
    33
    11
    15
See reviews for
10
31
14
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay in this modern and very well designed hotel. Our room was perfectly warm and comfortable with the most interesting design finishes like heated bathroom floors with large glassed in rain shower. The roof top deck spa is complete Zen with a view. We enjoyed the cafe that spills out onto Stiftsplatz, and the relaxing lobby with wrap around fireplace. We simply loved our stay here. We will always stay at Saks when visiting Kaiserslautern. We also used their complementary shuttle service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

i have been there on a business trip. Before booking, I checked the reviews and ratings in the net and it loooked like it is a nice hotel, but there where some complains about breakfirst, cleanliness of the rooms, no storage in the room and so on.
In fact this has been the best Hotel since a long time i have been!!!! very good location ( downtown Kaiserslautern), well designed Hotel, with a lot of light instalations (inside and outside). friendly people, very clean room and wonderful design. My room had enough storage possibilities, a huge tv, a very avangart shower and toilette and a Nespresso mashine. Just accross the floor, there was a good enough equiped Gym, which I used heavily. Free sparcling water and fresh air made life perfect. The SPA aera at the top of the hotel i did not use, but it looked wonderful and I'm looking forward to have a nice sauna session next time.
Over all i can really recommend this Hotel and i will certainly come back at my next businesstrip in this aera.

Room Tip: I had #214 which is kind aff a suite, Very calm because it is at the backside of the hotel, no trafi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strizi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is in the centre of town, so everything is within walking distance. The rooms are spacious and have great design. The restaurant has a varied menu and the food is good. There are small fitness areas equiped with bikes and treadmills. Secure underground parking is also available.This is a great hotel for business travelers.

Room Tip: There are some larger rooms, with great baths including mood lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Hotel staff was friendly.Room was clean and modern. It seems like everyone in Germany and definitely this hotel speak English. I had no problems with internet or maid service. The room was around 100 Euros. There is a restaurant on the ground floor that serves decent food. It is not too expensive. I had a nice meal for less than twenty euros.There is also a club in the basement floor, but it was explained to me that it is not open during the summer. The shower is kind of strange because it has a clear glass partition between it and the rest of the room, but no big deal. Awesome location in the middle of town and parking is right underneath the hotel for 12 euros a day. I think the charge is usually 15 euros a day, but the hotel gets a discount. The hotel is directly in front of a huge open square that remains open most of the time, but on Saturday they set up a farmers market on it. Just past the square you will find all the shops, cafes, etc... and it is very convenient. The German National Soccer Team stayed there for a few hours before their match against Paraguay while I was there. Hotel guests could not enter for that time, but we were compensated and it was pretty cool. I don't think that I could have found a better place to stay in Kaiserslautern. The location alone is reason enough to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room in the back that has a view of the open square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here together with my husband who was on a business trip. Great, suite style rooms in a modern, urban design. Beautiful bathrooms ( toilet and shower are in separate rooms) and close to many nice restaurants and shopping in downtown Kaiserslautern. Definitely can recommend it and would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: Book the junior suite or spa package. Rooms on the southwest side are quieter, because the face a pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRappChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here two nights over a weekend and had a very plesant stay. We had one of the suites on the 5th floor with a tub and balcony. The rooms were not that large, but with the balcony and the high ceilings, you didn't really notice.

The staff was friendly throughout. They didn't seem that busy the weekend we were in town which made it a bit informal, which I liked. Because the weather was quite nice, they opened up the breakfast area to the square. I liked the inside/outside flowing into each other idea. Had a quick visit to the spa, but since it was almost 30 degrees that day, didn't stay long. There is a nightclub in the basement that we visited that was a lot of fun. It's really convenient for getting home--ha ha.

Very good value for money, would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank american_expat_CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaiserslautern hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heymann
Hotel Heymann
#1 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel Lauterbach
Art Hotel Lauterbach
#8 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altstadthotel Kaiserslautern
Altstadthotel Kaiserslautern
#2 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Kaiserslautern
B&B Hotel Kaiserslautern
#3 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barth
Hotel Barth
#9 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Design Hotel Zollamt
Design Hotel Zollamt
#7 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SAKS Urban Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SAKS Urban Design Hotel

Property: SAKS Urban Design Hotel
Address: Stiftsplatz 11, 67655 Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Kaiserslautern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kaiserslautern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SAKS Urban Design Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAKS Urban Design Hotels dedicate themselves to the life-style and spirit of urban culture, extending from design, through architecture to interior design. Urban Design is simultaneously a style and philosophy; it's a way of life: inspirational, relaxed and yet sophisticated in its details. Travellers can experience a pleasant, discreet atmosphere and find the ideal infrastructure for both business and private stays.92 double rooms and suites from 22 m2 to 58 m2, an extravagant lobby with a fireside lounge, concierge service, guest lounge, a rooftop spa and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your SAKS Urban Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing