We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized Attention- Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Design Hotel Zollamt
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kaiserslautern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I came for business but would love to come back for r&r. The staff is amazing, every morning I walked in for breakfast the owners and staff already knew how I liked my coffee and had it ready. The rooms are clean, very pretty and comfortable, surrounding an adorable courtyard. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room 24 has a cute little balcony where you can sit and enjoy the garden below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guatekarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

I brought my wife with me on a business trip and stayed for two weeks at Hotel Zollamt. What a great decision! The owners and staff are some of the friendliest people we've ever met. They treated us like family and and took great care of my wife while I was working. Breakfast was perfect, the rooms are a great size and very comfortable, and the location is close to the train station and is easily walkable to the city. If we make it back to the area, we will stay here again. Danke schön!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Hello,

I stated with Hotel Zollamt service appartment for 22 days in month of July 2013. I enjoyed y stay with zollamt. I was very happy with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Kaiserslautern.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalharC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I only spent one short night at Hotel Zollamt but it was awesome! The couple that own and run the property were most welcoming and even showed my colleagues and I to our rooms in person. I had injured my leg earlier in the trip and asked for a bag of ice... instead I was brought their personal ice gel pack and told to call down when it was no longer cold for a replacement. My room was huge by German standards for similar properties (although some of my colleagues room's were a bit smaller.) It was also smartly decorated and spotless. I had a small fridge and a large, flat screen television. I had a king bed (a real king... not two beds slid next to each other) and a large balcony overlooking the gardens behind the property. The bathroom and shower stall were also easily 2/3 larger than you get in most German hotels.

Breakfast was delicious and offered a wide range of selections... I don't know if they bake their own croissants but they practically melted in your mouth. The breakfast hostess waited on us hand and foot, constantly replenishing our coffees, teas and juices.

I did not venture out but the hotel is located only about an 8-10 minute walk to Kaiserslautern Zentrum. There is also a pizza joint close by that is open late.

It was a great experience after a long, hard day and I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I was directly across from the lift on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cleanbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Although Kaiserslautern is not the most exiting city in Germany, Hotel Zollamt is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. The couple that owns the hotel is very friendly and hospitable. The rooms are roomy and very quiet. But best of all are the beds! I can't remember sleeping that well in a very long long time. The mattresses are soft but firm at the same time. If I ever want to sleep that good again, I'm going to book another stay at Hotel Zollamt!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClogWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We picked this hotel because it was suppose to be close to the train station and we were very happy with our choice. It is an easy walk from the station but you will need to get directions either from the internet or from someone at the train station. Otherwise it is very close and easy once you know where to go. The two women at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful with directions to the town center and in reserving a taxi for the next morning to get to the Avis office. They made us feel welcome. Our rooms were very clean and very comfortable with a modern feel. There was a refrigerator in the room which is always appreciated. The walk to the town center took about 15 minutes and provided us with a good choice of restaurants. The breakfast area is good and the food on the buffet was excellent. We were very happy with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Kaiserslautern.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jahrlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Modern recent hotel. Not part of a chain and run very professional. The service is personalized.
Very good breakfast with service. Rooms are modern and spacy. We stayed here 5 nights and were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Normally i find always some negative points in a hotel but in this case i did not find any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BARTVDB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaiserslautern hotels
1 mi away
SAKS Urban Design Hotel
SAKS Urban Design Hotel
#7 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Heymann
Hotel Heymann
#1 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
159 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Barbarossahof
Hotel-Restaurant Barbarossahof
#10 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kaiserslautern
Best Western Hotel Kaiserslauter...
#17 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
5 reviews
1.2 mi away
Altstadthotel Kaiserslautern
Altstadthotel Kaiserslautern
#3 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Kaiserslautern
B&B Hotel Kaiserslautern
#2 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Zollamt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Zollamt

Address: Buchenlochstrasse 1, 67663 Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Kaiserslautern
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kaiserslautern
Price Range: £92 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Zollamt 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HRS, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Design Hotel Zollamt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing