We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot to see, great view”

Ehrenbreitstein Fortress
Book In Advance
More Info
US$248.37*
and up
Koblenz Day Trip from Frankfurt: Ehrenbreitstein Fortress, Rhine Valley Cable...
Ranked #3 of 102 things to do in Koblenz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lot to see, great view”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We bought a combo ticket that included entrance to the Fortress Museum area and a return ticket on the Sailbahn / cable car. The cable car takes you over the Rhine, and is an experience in itself.

The Fortress have a lot of small museums. It was a bit hard to find the right way through it all, as the stairs and gateways took you in all directions. When we were there, there was an historical market with a medieval blacksmith and old handcrafts and so on.

Remarkable view from the top!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank abjupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    341
    106
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exceptional experiance”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was a great trip. We arrived at the cable car expecting it to be shut but because there was an open air concert up at the fort it was still going. We knew the fort was shut but although we couldn't go inside we had the opportunity to walk around the grounds and because of the concerts and theatre, we think, there were several open air pop up bars and cafes. The views from the battlements were fabulous and sitting in the open air with some great beer watching the rivers and town was one of the highlights of our trip. This was great for families with kids, in fact, evryone was enjoying the promenading and views. Next time we go to Koblenz we will ensure we arrive in time to look inside the fort but this was the best, next best option - if you understand what I mean.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiepcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Liked some of the history surrounding the fortress. The views are amazing. Restoration has not been done sympathetically - it's a bit overdone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AkelaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Visit to Rhine Valley”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Well worth the visit just for the history of the fort. Views from the cable ride and from the fort are fantastic good value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Go for the gondola ride”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Forget the fortress but do take the gondola ride over the Rhine to get there. A plus is the hilltop view overlooking Koblenz and, especially, the Deutsches Eck and the boat traffic on the Rhine and Mosel Ricers below. The fortress includes a bit of history but the explanations are in German only.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ehrenbreitstein Fortress also viewed

Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Ehrenbreitstein Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing