We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view of the Rhine for Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kleiner Riesen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kleiner Riesen
Ranked #1 of 10 Koblenz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice view of the Rhine for Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Good location but at the end of a long day can be a bit of a walk from the Deutches Eck. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful with the view of the Rhine from your table. The rooms don't have air conditioning (yet?) so top floor rooms can get a bit warm. (Talked to one couple on the 4th floor that mentioned showering twice during the night in order to sleep). Our room was on the second floor and was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Check to see if they have air conditioning if traveling in the heat of summer, or take a room on a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runesyzygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    38
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
44
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nahariya
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Good location, in a quiet place. Our room, 32, was clean and spacious. From the room, it was a spectacular view over the Rhine. Great breakfast. The hotel is at an easy walking distance from the Deutsches Eck ("German Corner"), which is a headland at the confluence of the Rhine and the Moselle rivers. Is suitable for a pleasant stroll and/or jogging along the Rhine.

Room Tip: Room 32 was clean, spacious, with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomi-Nahariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
316 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This conveniently situated hotel is very good value for money and on the Rhine river. A good walk from all the action, the rooms are well appointed and clean. Breakfast on the verandah is a must in summer, or even just a mid-morning beer

Room Tip: All rooms are good and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicotheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I arrived here, completely jet-lagged and several hours before the official check-in time. The proprietors went out of their way to prepare our room, which had a balcony overlooking the Rhine. The bathroom, while on the small side, was modern and stylish, and the breakfast buffet offered plenty of choices. They offered the best scrambled eggs in our 3-week trip.

Caution to those arriving by train: Don't rely on Google maps to get you there easily. This lovely hotel is quite close to the train station, but the map and walking directions are confusing, in part because the map does not show all the smaller streets. This hotel should be an easy 10-minute walk from the train station, but because the map was inadequate and 2 of the 3 friendly locals we asked didn't really know the hotel, we wasted a lot of time.

This hotel is also an easy walk to the docks for boats making Rhine and Mosel trips.

Room Tip: By all means request a room facing the Rhine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zitabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We found this hotel through Fodors guide. The location is right on the Rhine river and from the terrace you get a wonderful view of the river activity. Additionally, there is a marvelous path along side the Rhine that goes for several kilometers so if you are a walker or jogger this is an ideal place for you. We booked a standard double room for Euro 95 per night, including breakfast. Room size was sufficient for the two of us, bath was small but newly renovated. No air conditioning which can be a problem in warm weather which we had the two nights in Koblentz. Breakfast was simple but ample. If you are driving to the hotel ask ahead where you can park as parking is limited in the area. The hotel is in a residential area.
The hotel locale is very good for seeing the sights of Koblentz. The innenstadt, Deutsches Eck and other venues are within 1 - 2 kms from the hotel. There are signs along the walking path indicating how far and which direction to go to see the various sights.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Århus, Danmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

A very nice hotel located by the River Rhine. Short path to the city center.
Okay breakfast with a perfect view of the river.
But
The room was old and bathroom in a poor state. We was not able to upgrade to a room with a river view, so remember to ask for this when booking. Anyway it was a big and clean room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebra_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

A basic hotel in Koblenz. It is situated at the waterside which is it main attraction. Breakfast is good for the type of hotel. The rooms are very basic, with old furniture and a bathroom from the 70's. My main objection to the hotel was that if there was a fire we were quite trapped in the upper room. If you can afford more, do so and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerfromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koblenz hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
#3 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brenner Hotel
Brenner Hotel
#4 of 32 in Koblenz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Koblenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Koblenz City
Ibis Koblenz City
#5 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mosel Hotel Haehn
Mosel Hotel Haehn
#1 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Partner Top Hotel Kraemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kleiner Riesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kleiner Riesen

Property: Kleiner Riesen
Address: Kaiserin-Augusta-Anlagen 18, 56068 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Koblenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kleiner Riesen 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kleiner Riesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kleiner Riesen Koblenz
Kleiner Riesen Hotel Koblenz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing