We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kleiner Riesen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kleiner Riesen
Ranked #1 of 10 Koblenz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We arrived before our room was ready- our fault, not the hotel's. No problem- drinks on the terrace overlooking the Rhine, great start! Within half an hour our room was ready. It was big with a large German bed, massage chair, desk, settee, tv, fridge (with a bottle of complimentary water each) plenty of storage, iron and ironing board. There was also a kettle but no cups, teabags etc? The bathroom was also big with a shower, bath, hairdryer, tissues and some toiletries. Everything was spotless! The location of this hotel was perfect for us as we arrived by bus and it's an easy 10 minute stroll from the bus/rail station. Another easy 20 minute stroll takes you to the Deutches Eck. There is a bar and drinks can be served in either the hotel lounge or on the terrace. Breakfast is excellent with a huge choice of cold meats, fish, eggs, cheese, cereals, fruits, breads and juices. We also had French toast one day. Internet access is via the hotel computer but this is available for guests' use at any time. There was some work going on in the hotel when we stayed and it did waken us just after 7am on two of the mornings we were there. However, this was a minor issue. Staff were very welcoming and they speak good English if your German is a little rusty! Can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraulyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    39
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
46
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We loved this hotel with its balcony where we would sit in the evenings enjoying drinks and light snacks while watching the river traffic which was endlessly entertaining and interesting. Our room on the second floor was huge with the largest flat screen TV we have ever seen in a hotel room yet plus TV in English. Perhaps the room décor could have be updated although it was spotlessly clean. We found the beds a little too soft for our taste. The staff were extremely efficient and pleasant and organised parking, bike hire and WiFi for us. Breakfast was great with the fabulous view of the river and its traffic. The walk to Deutches Eck was a highlight of our stay and we enjoyed it every day without fail. With all those Pork Knuckle meals and German beer and wines it is important to keep moving. We loved Koblenz and will definitely return to stay at Kleiner Riesen Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Overall a good hotel in a great position overlooking the Rhine. It's right next to the riverside promenade with a nice beer garden opposite, great for watching the Rhine river traffic on a warm
summers night. We stayed in room 12 which didn't have much of a river view or balcony but was a mini suite with kitchenette and really large bathroom. Compared to UK hotels the price of 100 euros for this size of room was amazing. The two things that prevent a 5 star review was lack of air con (32C when we stayed) and lack of dedicated parking, we had to pay 4euro to park on the street.

Room Tip: room 12 is very big, right next to jacuzzi, with kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here for the weekend. Our twin-bed room was tiny, with beds pushed up against the walls. Room was reasonably well-equipped, but far from anything sumptious. I think it's a little too expensive for what it was - almost 100 euros per night for 2 people with a simple breakfast considering that the prices of property in Koblenz isn't as high as that in Berlin (and I paid the same amount for a spacious room at the Radisson Berlin, with a fantastic breakfast included).

Breakfast here itself was pretty good with high-quality offerings without being generous with the spread. Service though was excellent. They parked our car for us in the garage when we were out.

Overall, a nice place by the river with some peace and quiet. About 30 mins walk from the old town. A pleasant and easy walk.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road where the entrance to the hotel it. The hotel's signage was illuminated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drift-Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Good location but at the end of a long day can be a bit of a walk from the Deutches Eck. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful with the view of the Rhine from your table. The rooms don't have air conditioning (yet?) so top floor rooms can get a bit warm. (Talked to one couple on the 4th floor that mentioned showering twice during the night in order to sleep). Our room was on the second floor and was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Check to see if they have air conditioning if traveling in the heat of summer, or take a room on a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runesyzygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahariya
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Good location, in a quiet place. Our room, 32, was clean and spacious. From the room, it was a spectacular view over the Rhine. Great breakfast. The hotel is at an easy walking distance from the Deutsches Eck ("German Corner"), which is a headland at the confluence of the Rhine and the Moselle rivers. Is suitable for a pleasant stroll and/or jogging along the Rhine.

Room Tip: Room 32 was clean, spacious, with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomi-Nahariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
327 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This conveniently situated hotel is very good value for money and on the Rhine river. A good walk from all the action, the rooms are well appointed and clean. Breakfast on the verandah is a must in summer, or even just a mid-morning beer

Room Tip: All rooms are good and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicotheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koblenz hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
#3 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mosel Hotel Haehn
Mosel Hotel Haehn
#1 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Koblenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Koblenz City
Ibis Koblenz City
#5 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brenner Hotel
Brenner Hotel
#4 of 32 in Koblenz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Partner Top Hotel Kraemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kleiner Riesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kleiner Riesen

Property: Kleiner Riesen
Address: Kaiserin-Augusta-Anlagen 18, 56068 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Koblenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kleiner Riesen 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kleiner Riesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kleiner Riesen Koblenz
Kleiner Riesen Hotel Koblenz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing