We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great river view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Diehls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diehls Hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Koblenz
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great river view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Located right on the Rhine, our room was huge and very clean and comfortable. The restaurant dinner was good, not great, but the breakfast was lovely. Only complaint was we were told our breakfast was "included" but when we checked out the clerk insisted it was not. Apparently the manager didn't inform her of our discussion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooMa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dampfgott, Geschäftsführer at Diehls Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Mooma,

vielen Dank für Ihre gute Bewertung. Wie schön, dass Ihnen Ihr Zimmer gefallen und das Essen in unserem Restaurant zugesagt hat!

Besonders haben wir uns über das Lob für das Frühstück gefreut. Wir bedauern es, dass es zu Missverständnissen bezüglich der Bezahlung des Frühstücks gekommen ist. Alles hat jedoch seine Richtigkeit gehabt. Sollten Sie hierzu noch Fragen haben, können Sie sich gerne mit uns persönlich in Verbindung setzen.

Herzliche Grüße aus Koblenz
Ihre Familie Diehl-Mehlhorn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    123
    56
    28
    18
See reviews for
37
130
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

we stayed here for just 1 night. Very friendly & helpfull staff . good parking. good breakfast. and we also had a good evening meal. rooms where average size but with a river view and very clean. Koblenze is on the opposit side of the river so a small boat journey ( 100 yards from the Hotel ) was called for which was great once but wouldnt like to do it all the time. The only downsides to this hotel was a note on the windows saying keep closed so insects dont enter the building, which dos make sence except when we were there it was very hot with no aircon. we where supplied with a fan though but that was just pushing warm air around the room. The trains are the other problem in the day ( you cant really have an afternoon snooze ) At night though they do stop. but overall i would stop there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stid4565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Most important to note is the staff in each department are extremely helpful and courteous and will happily do anything necessary to make your stay more comfortable. From room 201 I had beautiful Rhine views with Emperor William in the background. Along the river banks are fantastic eating stalls, musicians and cruise operators creating a sensational vibe.....before 6pm that is! After 6pm it’s difficult to find any eateries open at all therefore if you aren't heading into the city center you are restricted to your hotel. The restaurant in Diehls hotel is beautiful with fabulous Rhine views however the dishes come at a pricey package for the teeny tiny portions served. Also disappointing for me was the 11.50€ per night charge on an old 20 inch tv plus a 6€ charge into the Sauna. Every part of the hotel I saw was extremely clean and although this hotel is dated it’s perfectly preserved furnishings and decor offer a touch of new age elegance. Fantastic location and a wonderful crew of staff.....thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankeydoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

A good family run hotel. Parking on site. The restaurant was good but menu could be restrictive if eating in each evening.
When booking we were advised that a ferry crossed to the city every 10 to 15 mins. We were not told it stopped at 6pm. Also when we returned at 4pm for some reason it was not running. The walk over the bridge is not too bad in good weather (about 30-40 mins.). A taxi costs about 8 Euros. Koblenz has many excellent restaurants. A trip on the gondola to th castle is well worth while. Also do not miss out on a trip up/down the Rhine.

Room Tip: Chose a room overlooking the Rhine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wumf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Has all the creature comforts you need + some ( spa, heated swimming pool, sauna). Just across from the "Ecke". Catch a ferry or drive down to the city center ( 5 mins). Has a great gourmet restaurant and a bar that's open 24 hrs. Breakfast is bountiful. Service standards were quite high. If you are an early riser, a jog/walk along the Rhine is a must do. Getting to the Rhine and Mosel touristic places ( Bacharach, Cochem, Burg Eltz, vineyards etc) is quite easy - within an hour's drive. Also convenient if you want to take a cruise as the jetty is across the river. Things some people may not like ( but wasn't a big deal for us) decor in the rooms is a little dated and could do with some sprucing up. Some people have complained about the train track behind the hotel. We didn't hear any trains, perhaps because we were facing the Rhine.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the Rhine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emptyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dampfgott, Geschäftsführer at Diehls Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Google Translation
Liebe Gäste,

wir freuen uns sehr über die positive Bewertung. Ausführliche Feedbacks wie die Ihrigen helfen uns, die Bedürfnisse und Wünsche von Gästen zu erfahren und darauf zu reagieren.

Wir haben uns besonders darüber gefreut, dass Sie unsere Servicestandards hervorheben. Gerade ein Familienhotel lebt von dem persönlichen und guten Service.

Zu den Zimmern: Ein Grossteil unser Zimmer ist mittlerweile modernisiert. In absehbarer Zeit werden auch die letzten Zimmer einen neuen Schliff bekommen.

Wir würden uns freuen, Sie bald mal wieder in Koblenz begrüßen zu dürfen.

Herzliche Grüße
Ihre Familie Diehl-Mehlhorn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here over the weekend of 22 to 24 March, which was an extremely cold weekend. The hotel was warm and comfortable.The large room overlooking the river was minimalist, but carpeted and clean, very comfortable twin beds which made up into a double.

The bedroom curtains were as above - minimalist (thin nets which did not draw). The only way to shut out light was to drop the external venetian blind, which was insufficient to block the early morning light, which, if you need a dark room to sleep in as I do, was not conducive to sleep.

There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room. Bathroom shampoo etc. was not replenished after the first night.

The restaurant was pleasant, but expensive, with a good selection of regional and other wines. Service was not very good as there were only two staff serving who appeared to spend most of their time surfing the net on the computer available to them in the bar. We waited some time to order a dessert, but in the end gave up and returned to our room.

Buffet breakfast is charged at €13.00 per person and not worth it. The scrambled eggs were hard and stringy, but the bacon good. The usual selection of yoghurt, fruit, cheeses etc. was available.

If you want to watch TV, then sky channels are an additional €11.50 for 24 hours. Local channels were available free. In room WiFi is free but if you don't have your own laptop, the one in reception is charged at €2.50 hour.

Plenty of parking spaces available.

To get into the city, there is a ferry 150 meters from the hotel which charges €2.00 each way across the Rhine and runs every 15 minutes from 09:30 to 17:00. A bus from the hotel into the city runs every 15 minutes also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side. Rooms at the 'back' of the hotel are only 5-10 meters fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Civrasien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Checked out after two nights of a planned 6 night stay and moved to another hotel in Koblenz. Why? (1) no locks on inside of the door. as another review notes, someone walked in on me. very creepy; (2) no thermostat or ability to control temperature in the room. woke up both nights hot and sweaty; (3) no clock; (4) no coffee maker or way to boil water; (5) bed was very small and not comfortable and pillow was worse; (6) no gym or fitness facilities; (7) hotel is next to railroad track and could hear trains passing (and I was on the opposite side, must be even worse in the rooms that are next to the tracks). Room is quite small but not a problem. Shower also small, no tub, but sufficient. Liquid all purpose soap dispenser mounted next to the sink and in the shower stall. TV is a small old tube type, but didn't mind because I don't watch TV. WiFi was free and good enough. Price was reasonable. Appears to be an old hotel that has been remodeled and retrofitted multiple times.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dampfgott, Geschäftsführer at Diehls Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for contacting us.

#1 In our hotel, doors can be manually locked from the inside or (when there is a door with an electronic locking system) the door locks itself once you have passed through it.

#2 Our guest rooms are equipped with thermostats, so our guests can adjust room temperature individually.

# 7 The railway line behind our hotel is regrettably only for freight trains. Over the years, we have invested significantly in noise protection. We have, for example, had soundproof windows installed and also had the entire building insulated against noise. What’s more, we are actively involved in an initiative, which campaigns for a night-time ban for noisy freight trains and for speed limits for trains.

Warm regards
The Diehl-Mehlhorn Family and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koblenz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koblenz hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
#3 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mosel Hotel Haehn
Mosel Hotel Haehn
#1 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Koblenz City
Ibis Koblenz City
#5 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CONTEL Hotel Koblenz
CONTEL Hotel Koblenz
#7 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.0 mi away
City Partner Top Hotel Kraemer
1.0 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Koblenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diehls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diehls Hotel

Property: Diehls Hotel
Address: Rheinsteigufer 1, 56077 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koblenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Diehls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diehls Hotel is your address of choice in the Middle Rhine Valley, a World Heritage region, and situated on the banks of the Rhine just across the river from Koblenz' old town.The family-operated establishment in Koblenz, Diehls Hotel has been owned and run by the family for almost 95 years. With 67 individually furnished rooms, a-la-carte dining in our Restaurant "ClemenS", five banquet and seven conference rooms we invite private and corporate guests to enjoy a sophisticated ambiance and look forward to welcoming you! If you book your room on our website or contact us directly by phone, fax or mail, you will receive a free use of our hotel sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diehls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diehls Hotel Koblenz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing