We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel National

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel National
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Koblenz
Kingston, Ont
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“clean and well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My friend and i stayed here for one night in transit to the mosel valley. We arrived late but no problem because of the arrangements made for getting a key after office hours at 6 pm. The room was very clean, beds comfortable and free wifi available although sporadic. Not fancy but does the job for the weary traveller, also well located to lots of restaurants , downtown, and a block from the train station and local bus stop. Breakfast was 2.50 euro and was a traditional breakfast with cereals, cheese , meats and breads, coffee etc. Definitely a great spot and worth the price.

Room Tip: the double beds for 2 have their own small bathroom with shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aqueouslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    28
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
29
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here November 2013 with family as my son is in Koblenz for his college year. Rooms were basic but nice and clean. Good shower in bathroom. Breakfast was E2.50 per day which was good for what was on offer. If I was going to koblenz again I would stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge,uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have just returned from a weekend trip to Koblenz for the Christmas market. We stayed at the National as it was only a 4 minute walk from the main station and 10 minutes to the centre. We were very late arriving but the hotel left a message on my phone on how to get entry which was very helpful and considerate. The room was of an adequate size and very clean, the beds were comfortable and the shower was was excellent. Breakfast was served from 07.30 to 09.30 and at 2.50 euro was excellent value. This hotel is excellent value for a short break and we stay again if visiting Koblenz.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24 which was small but very clean, ideal for a short trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bj13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We chose the National because of it's location - close to the Hauptbanhof (central rail station) and near the docks along the river for the Rhine cruises.

The staff was VERY helpful - even staying late because they knew our train was arriving late due to severe thunderstorms. This made check-in MUCH more convenient - but they DO have a system for getting in "after hours" - you just have to contact them and make arrangements via email.

Being near the train station, there were plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. If we'd wanted a taxi anywhere, there were plenty to be had. For us, though, we were interested in the short (10 minute) walk to the waterfront where we picked up a day-long Rhine river cruise.

The breakfast was just as good as at the other B&Bs we'd been staying at all over Germany. The hotel really has nothing going against it. A good, convenient place to stay for a decent price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djplong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Helpful and friendly staff.
Room and all public areas very clean.Simple furniture with comfortable beds.(could do with better bedside lights.(hard to read by them)
Breakfast was good.
Able to leave cases in secure area after checkout before travelling home.
Ideal for short city visit.Would use again.Good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel national is great place to stay if you are arriving by Rail as it is only 5 minutes from the station. However it is 15-20 minutes walk into the city and to the Rhine cruise departure point.
Factor these things in and it is a good value for money place to stay. The staff are helpful and breakfast at E2.50 is the cheapest I have ever come across....and it is a great breakfast. The rooms were reasonably sized, clean and bright. The hotel was a very satisfactory place for us to base ourselves for local river cruising.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerrickandMyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Impeccably clean. Great breakfasts. Good variety. Five minute walk from the Main Train Station. Five minute walk to the Rhine. Around 20 minutes to the Deutsches Eck or the cable car to the Fortress on the other bank. Clean, comfortable. Incredibly friendly. Family run. Great advice on restaurants and sites. If you are traveling by bicycle, there is a storage area for your bikes. If you arrive earlier than check-in, they can accomodate your luggage and advise you on places to visit until check-in time. The location is ideal. It's safe and secure. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneH_in-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koblenz hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Koblenz City
Ibis Koblenz City
#5 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Koblenz
0.2 mi away
Brenner Hotel
Brenner Hotel
#4 of 32 in Koblenz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Partner Top Hotel Kraemer
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
#3 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Koblenz
B&B Hotel Koblenz
#13 of 32 in Koblenz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National

Property: Hotel National
Address: Roonstrasse 47, 56068 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Koblenz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Koblenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel National 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Koblenz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing