We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Travelodge”
Review of Hotel Avantgarde

Hotel Avantgarde
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Avantgarde
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Koblenz
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at the Avantgarde for 2 nights in September 2012 and have to admit it is one of the worst hotels we have stopped in. The first room they offered us was a family room on the ground floor ( there was only us 2 adults so why a family room?) it was a little dark and overlooked a brick wall, the shower had missing panels in the shower cubicle so the water went everywhere when taking a shower. They did move us to a slightly better room on the second floor after we complained. Linen was of very poor quality. If you didn't get down to breakfast early enough there was hardly any food left and it was not replenished. The food had to be bought over from the neighbouring hotel (not very hygienic). We found the owner very rude and arrogant and very unhelpful. The hotel is also next to a busy railway line something that should be mentioned in it's description so you are aware when booking. Wi-fi was unavailable in the rooms, to use it you had to sit in the restaurant. When we tried to book out there was no-one on reception, we had to wait around for half an hour which was annoying in itself, but there was no apology from the owner when he did finally turn up even more annoying.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alfie113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We made plans to stop for the night in Koblenz on our way from Frankfurt to Koln, and this hotel was a nice match. The room was large (and the bathroom actually quite huge, although somewhat strangely built. Everything was very clean, and the breakfast was fine. Also, free WiFi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dimrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The place itself is excellent with spacious rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast was great and there was wifi in the lobby. It's a bit of a walk into town but it's worth it in my opinion. For the price this places is fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turboweevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here for one night in May 2011 - we had planned on staying in Koblenz but as this was a last minute booking everything reasonably priced in the town itself was fully booked , I think due to the BUGA Koblenz 2011.
This hotel is approximately 6 Km outside Koblenz centre. It is fairly easy to get to, it's in an area called Guls which is only 2 stops on the local train from Koblenz. The hotel is nicely presented, very clean and tidy. The staff on at the time did not speak much English and unfortunately we don't speak any German, however we managed ok. The buffet breakfast was very good, there are some nice restaurants nearby and it is only a short 2 minute stroll down to the Mosel River.
The hotel for us was ok and we would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the Guls area. There was nothing outstanding at the hotel to make us want to come back here again in particular rather than try elsewhere, however we wouldn't have a problem staying here again if nothing else of interest was available.
If we were to come back to visit Koblenz city again we'd rather just stay in the city itself.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lotrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our experience of the staff was the same as others - the man was not helpful but the lady was great. The hotel is in a small suburb with limited local amenities and only provides breakfast. The bus stop was fairly close but bus service is not frequent. Hotel is ok, rooms are good size.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and two adult sons only spent one night here as we were passing through Germany. The service from the staff was excellent. The rooms were absolutely perfect. If we are in the area again, I would have no hesitation in staying there again.
Thank you for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GKC227124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The hotel is not in Koblenz, but in Guls, 2 stops on the local train out of downtown. The front rooms are noisy because of the main street and the trains that run ALL night. There are some real nice resturaunts nearby as well as small shops and markets. The breakfast is above average and the staff is very nice and cirdial, but they basically ignor your requests for anything. No elevator and no A/C. Bring earplugs.

Room Tip: No street rooms and get a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tank1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koblenz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Weinhaus Grebel
0 mi away
Hotel Guelser Weinstube
Hotel Guelser Weinstube
#22 of 33 in Koblenz
31 reviews
2.7 mi away
Berghof Hotel
Berghof Hotel
#29 of 33 in Koblenz
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Haus Morjan
Hotel Haus Morjan
#16 of 33 in Koblenz
138 reviews
1.8 mi away
CONTEL Hotel Koblenz
CONTEL Hotel Koblenz
#7 of 33 in Koblenz
210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Altstadt Hotel
Altstadt Hotel
#13 of 33 in Koblenz
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avantgarde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avantgarde

Address: Stauseestr. 27, 56072 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Koblenz
Price Range: £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avantgarde 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Avantgarde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing