We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I've stayed at in Western Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Ludwigshafen
Conisbrough
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I've stayed at in Western Europe”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Really hard to get a room in Ludwigshafen, as there was some kind of exposition on. So me and 2 colleagues had to pay 170 euro each to stay here: AT LEAST 100 euro too much! Hotel is very dated, with worn out fittings anda lot of things not working (bedside light, lift doors don't meet in middle etc).
Rooms are large but not too clean, mould in bath. Worst of all I picked up two excellent bug bites during the night. One of my colleagues had no hot water, the other said his room smelled very badly of cigar smoke.
Breakfast was OK but breakfast room was packed, no tables at 7am so we had to split up and share tables with other guests.
Overall, you would have to go to India or Eastern Europe to find another alleged 4-star hotel as bad as this.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience at the hotel. We are also dispappointed to hear about your experiences in your room and will bring this review to the immediate attention of our housekeeping and technical department to check and solve the mentioned problems.

Our hotel strives to offer superior service and we hope that you give us a try next time you are back in town.
Your BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    54
    66
    15
    23
See reviews for
20
18
22
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

A two night stay, arriving very late on the first night, some snow and very cold -7c, easy check in where I found out about the free underground parking...always a bonus, especially for those of us that tour on motorcycles, parked away from prying eyes, but not in this weather so I'm in a rental car.

The room was dated as expressed by others, but clean and functional my only complaint would be the lack of lighting, it was bad to the point where I moved the standard lamp and worked under that...not all computer work, some drawing by hand.

Breakfast was good with some hot food and unlike some others I had an amazing meal in the restaurant, in the " library " in fact. Strange to have so many fan heaters in the main part of the restaurant, perhaps due to the part glass roof and the minus degree temperatures.
The bar is small but cosy with a really pleasant barman and good beer...it was a bit weird having people smoke at the bar!
Overall a good stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signfixeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you had a good time staying with us and that you enjoyed also our restaurant and the food served in our "library" which is also the perfect setting for our Chef, Timo Beckert’s to present his culinary skills. Last year, our restaurant hasalso been priced with the award "Genuss vor der Pfalz". So use of freshest ingredience of local origin is one of the philosophies in our kitchen.

Thank you for your comments concerning the lighting in your room. We will take this into consideration when we start our next renovations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon!
All the best, Your BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stopped here for 3 nights whilst watching the German GP at Hockenheim. The Hotel is Ok, nothing special, it is clean but all fixtures an fitting are old and dated. The beds were very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep.

Don't expect amazing food either, the breakfast is very poor, It is a typical continental style breakfast, but done badly. The restaurant is very small too considering the size of the hotel meaning that sometime you have to queue for breakfast.

Overall a 3 star hotel in an Ok location near the station. Great for cheap accommodation near Hockenheim.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for your positive responses regarding your accommodation and the location of our hotel.

Usually we get payed many compliments especially for our restaurant and we regret the fact that this time our breakfast and the food served did not meet your expectations!

We hope that you will give us a try again next time you are back in town or on your way to Hockenheim!

With best regards
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Clean, quiet room and comfortable bed. All you need for a quick stopover on a business trip. Hotel restaurant very good. Remote location in industrial area and no dining options nearby other than pizza place at Ludwigshafen train station across the street. If you arrive by train, it is very conveniently located (around 2 mins walk from train station to hotel).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyride007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for your positive responses regarding our staff, restaurant and your accomodation itself.

We hope that you will choose BEST WESTERN Ludwigshafen again and remain
with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I had a large, clean room (I was upgraded to an "Executive Suite", but I doubt that makes much difference). Anyway I had a sofa, table, desk, etc., but still lots of room. The WiFi worked well; the breakfast was good. The TV had a nice selection of channels, including English-speaking ones. The staff was kind and helpful. Note that there's no guest laundry (self-service, as opposed to giving them the clothes to wash for an exorbitant rate), though the hotel's website says there is.

The location is so-so - convenient since it's right next to the main station (underground tram station right right next to the hotel), but in an unattractive area. In general, Ludwigshafen is not a tourist destination, and there's little to do. Every evening I just took the tram (line 4) from the station next to the hotel to Mannheim's center, which is much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank praetor979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Sir,

thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to read that you have been satisfied with your room, which - in the comfort (executive) class – is additionally furnished with new large flatscreen TV, minibar, bathrobe and bath amenities. Moreover newspaper, fruits and water are served free of charge on our comfort floors.

We are sorry to realize that there was a misunderstanding concerning the mentioned guest laundry on our international website and took your advice to cancel this expression, as some guests seem to expect a self-service coin laundry which we don’t offer. However, there is still a dry-cleaning service offered by us!

We look forward to welcoming you back! Your BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Huge rooms, friendly staff, plenty of parking and a 10 minute walk into the heart of the city center where you will find plenty of restaurants, bars, lounges, shops, etc. Very friendly staff at this hotel and the breakfasts are among the best in Europe. Thank you, Marina at Best Western!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTrotster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to evaluate your stay at our hotel and your positive remarks. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you took your time to visit the nearby city center of Ludwigshafen with all its attractions. Thank you also for mentioning the hospitality of our staff and our great variety breakfast! We look forward to seeing you again! Your BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel offers good value at a friendly rate, including free wifi and garage parking. The enthusiastic staff is very friendly. Although at firsth glance the gaunt restaurant is not attractive, the quality of the food and wines is above the average. Once again, with friendly service. When I checked in spontaneous an upgrade to an executive room has been offered.

The desolate area causes that this friendly hotel is fine for an overnight stay traveling through however less advisable for a longer city trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bert_janmaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your positive comments in respect of your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen. We very much appreciate your valuation of our friendly and enthusiastic staff and your visit to our restaurant. However, we are astonished to read about the desolate area, as the BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen is well situated in the centre of the city, absolutely close to the railway station and only a short walking distance to attractive shopping centres such as the Rhine Gallery and the River Rhine. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Your BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludwigshafen
0.6 mi away
Europa Hotel Ludwigshafen
Europa Hotel Ludwigshafen
#2 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rene Bohn
Rene Bohn
#1 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
218 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Steubenhof Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
122 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel LanzCarre
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mannheim City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen

Property: Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen
Address: Pasadena Allee 4, 67059 Ludwigshafen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany (Formerly the Ramada)
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Ludwigshafen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Ludwigshafen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The team at the BEST WESTERN Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen has a choice of 192 spacious rooms in four different room categories including three comfortable suites available for you.The BEST WESTERN Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen is well situated absolutely in the centre of the city, close to the railway station and only a short walking distance to attractive shopping centres such as the Rhine Gallery. There are a total of eight conference and seminar rooms available for meeting delegates. To round off all the services we offer, there is the comfortable "LEO's Restaurant" with an adjoining "Library", a cosy hotel bar, the best breakfast in town (price-value), free WLAN access, a charging station and 84 parking places directly in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ludwigshafen
Ludwigshafen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing