We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD LEVELS BUT...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ludwigshafen
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I must admit, this hotel is definitely in very goods levels upon many aspects: good location (exactly in front of railway station but also close to the motorway connection) not far away from the City but also having parks and gardens in short distance, very good parking facilities. This is concerning the way to arrive to the hotel. When you are in, you find careful and friendly personnel to assist you in any evenience, during checking in/out as well in the restaurant or in the lounge/bar. Restaurant is offering interesting and tasty varaitions of traditional as well as international cuisine. Service are all at high level, rooms are very comfortful and wide and nice equipped. But... in the whole structure/bulding, the hotel shows its need of some renovation, eg some renewal in the furnishing, rather than the bathroom's equipment. Not influencing the fuctionality of the room or the quality of the stay, at all! In any case, a very pleasant stay which easely lets forget these small details.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runningnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased that hear about all the positive aspects in respect of your stay!

We are happy to inform you that a decision has been made to renovate our comfort floor and a sample room has already been commissioned. These renovations will commence at very short notice and will include the lifts as well as a new air conditioning system.

Thank you again for your extensive review!

We look forward seeing you again soon and remain

with best regards
A. Lichtenstein
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

The room was very stuffy and I had to leave on the air-conditioner for a few hours to get the temperature cool enough for sleeping.
The air-conditioner didn't cope too well with the hot weather.
I have to mention the fabulous pillows. It is unusual to find feather pillows in a hotel so I was very happy to find them. I slept like a log!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback. We are very sorry that the aircon worked insufficiently during your stay. Unfortunately some of our devices are not coping with very hot summer temperatures sufficiently so that we will replace them shortly.

We are glad to hear that you had a good sleep on our brand new pillows!

We hope seeing you again and remain
with best regards
Alexandra Lichtenstein
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

hotel is located between the main station and an express road. As the hotel was built in the 70s, the accoustic isolation is quite bad to keep out all the outside noise of trains, cars and trucks.
My room smelled horribly the industrial cleaning material and couldn't be ventilated easily.
The hotel is far from everything - so don't plan to take a small evening stroll !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne25290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience at the hotel.

Especially during the hot summer this year our aircon unfortunately failed a couple of times so that we were lucky to be prepared to offer our guests extra fans to cool their rooms. Our technicians are currently solving the problem.

Usually we receive many positive remarks concerning the central location of our hotel as it is close to the station und close to the City and the river Rhein as well, furthermore in the middle of the famous Metropol-Region Rhein-Neckar! We are sorry that this central location did not meet your demands.

Yours sincerely
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel is not bad at all, but not very good either. It is a building in typical concrete 1970s (sovjet!?) style but the inside is better than the outside suggests. We stayed here for one night as we were attending an event nearby. The hotel is located near the main station in a somewhat isolated area.The shopping area and central area of Ludwigshafen can be reached in a 15 minute walk.

This hotel seems to be the hotel of choice for organised group traveling. When we stayed there were a US, Chinese and Japanese group that were doing a German trip. So if you have bad luck one of these groups just arrived and needs to be checked in or have dinner.

Dinner in the hotel was OK. The menu is not particularly exciting but there is something for everybody. The same for breakfast. A lot of choice but the quality of various items is sometimes so so, although I must admit that it is difficult to pinpoint what it is exactly what disappointed.

We were here with our two dogs and we had to pay 10 euros extra for each dog, so 20 in total. This is the first time I was in a German hotel where they charge per animal. I found this disappointing and I really wonder what the 20 euros are being used for. It feels like a rip off. Normally one just pays a fixed amount of about 10 euros, independent of the number of dogs.

The staff were friendly, both at reception and the check in. Lifts were very slow. We had to wait a few minutes several times.

We paid 120 euros for one night (100 euros plus 20 for the dogs). Overall I find this hotel not worth that amount. If the price had been 75 euros I would have given 4 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikke4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback. On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologize that your stay has not been to your satisfaction in all aspects.

With respect to the 2 dogs travelling with you I have to tell you that payment for each dog is very common in German hotels. As I am frequently travelling with my own dog through hotels I can only tell you that dogs in hotel rooms mean always a lot of hair and dirt and the housekeeping has to do a great job cleaning the room afterwards. It is also common routine that some hotels charge a fee if the dog unfortunaly climbes the sofa or even the bed! As I know this might be charged up to 500,00 € for the cleaning and - to my opinion - this is okay. Imagine there are allergic persons travelling after you....

I hope therfore that you comprehend the fact that w charge this small amount of 10,00 € per dog!

We hope seeing you again and remain with best wishes
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Nice but quite old hotel near the hauptbahnhof, also walking distance to stadtmitte. Large and clean rooms, nice views from 7th floor. Minibar OK, AC was on it´s end but fan helped a little. Free parking and WiFi. Nice and large hotel with the old time quality, very good value with summerprices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Kajde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

thank your for taking your time to give us your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay und would love seeing you again on your next trip to Germany

Best regards
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We booked 2 nights at the Best Western Hotel Ludwigshafen to attend an event in Heidelberg.

The hotel is in quite a central position in Ludwigshafen and easy to find using your sat-nav. Local signs guiding you for the last few hundred metres make it easy to figure out how to get to the car park. The free underground car park is clearly a bonus. Don't let the outside put you off: the building looks a bit "square" like an older office block, but quite clearly work has been done outside in the area to add green and make the paving look nicer. The riverfront and a large shopping centre are only about 10 minutes walk away, very straightforward to find: left outside the main entrance, through the underpass and keep going. There are also some smaller shops/bars before you get to the shopping centre.

We had booked one of their special 2-night-packages, 2 nights B&B and one 3-course dinner, all for only EUR 222 for both of us. Reception was friendly and efficient and told us we had been given a free upgrade to one of their comfort rooms on the second floor.

Our room was very spacious, with two oversized single beds which would even count as small doubles in the UK and a table with two chairs in front of the window. There was a table in the corridor by the lifts with free water, apples and a few magazines. The room had a small coffee-machine with a pack of Jacobs filter coffee. Additional instant coffee packs (cappuccino etc.) and tea were provided. A bit odd to have only one cup provided, but I am sure it would not have been a problem to get a second cup. We did not use the air-conditioning as the window opened and there wasn't too much noise from outside: the hotel is just across from the train station, but we never found them too noisy, particularly not with the window closed at night. Free WIFI worked without problems in our room.

Very clean bathroom with toiletries provided, even including deodorant spray. We used the hotel pool twice during our stay and never found it busy. Depth varies from 0.98m to 1.28m and we estimate the size as 10m x 10m – fine for swimming. There were no towels provided in the pool area, so take the towels from your bathroom.

You can argue about the décor of the rooms – yes, it is obvious that it isn't the latest fashionable design (80s/early 90s is out best estimate), but why should a hotel redecorate if everything is functioning fine and not damaged? It was neutral colours in beige/blue, with very light rose wallpaper in the bathroom, can't really be offended by that!

Our package included a free drink from the bar or in the restaurant, so we went for a beer before dinner on our first night. Unfortunately we managed to hit a busy period just before 20:30 on a Friday and the one poor waiter looking after the bar apologised for making us wait for our drinks while he trying to sort out coffees, drinks, snacks etc. for other guests. Nice draught beer though and a good selection of spirits.

Restaurant experience was extremely pleasant: we had a table in the 'library' and it looked like there only a few other guests eating at the same time. Extra service: they have a few pairs of reading glasses that you can borrow if you left yours behind. - We had asparagus soup for a starter and asparagus with pork for our main course, followed by strawberries with ice-cream and cream for desert. Perfect selection as we really love asparagus and preparation, presentation and service were great! If purchased individually, the 3 courses would have come to EUR 32 per person – even at that price it would have been very reasonable considering the standard.

We slept very well and went downstairs for an impressive breakfast buffet the next morning: cereals, bread & rolls, salmon, cold meats & cheeses, jams, fresh fruit and fruit salad, yoghurt, juices, teas. Coffee was served in a large thermos brought to our table. Just the right temperature and plenty of it!

When we checked out, the reception computer did not quite agree with the price on my booking confirmation (it did not take the reduction for the 2-night-special with dinner into account) - this was sorted within minutes.

We would definitely come back to this hotel if we visit the area again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your positive feedback very much. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Thank you for your advise to offer towels in our pool/sauna area. We will do that straight away.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Sincerely,

Your BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed here with a group for one evening. It was a scene of chaos upon arrival as another bus arrived at the same time. For a hotel of this size, additional elevators would be a plus. Dinner was also a little chaotic, but the staff managed both check-in and dinner rather well. The rooms were very nice: clean and with good showers. Free Internet. Dinner was just OK...buffet style for our group. We were given a very generous bagged breakfast as we had to leave so early. I was very happy to see coffee set up in the lobby for us before departure.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mbkteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Social Media at Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your compliments concerning the breakfast to our kitchen team!

We look forward seeing you again.

Your

BEST WESTERN Hotel Ludwigshafen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludwigshafen
0.6 mi away
Europa Hotel Ludwigshafen
Europa Hotel Ludwigshafen
#2 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Ludwigshafen
B&B Hotel Ludwigshafen
#5 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
15 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rene Bohn
Rene Bohn
#1 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gartenstadt Hotel
Gartenstadt Hotel
#3 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
31 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mannheim City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen

Address: Pasadena Allee 4, 67059 Ludwigshafen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany (Formerly the Ramada)
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Ludwigshafen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ludwigshafen
Price Range: £69 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The team at the BEST WESTERN Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen has a choice of 192 spacious rooms in four different room categories including three comfortable suites available for you.The BEST WESTERN Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen is well situated absolutely in the centre of the city, close to the railway station and only a short walking distance to attractive shopping centres such as the Rhine Gallery. There are a total of eight conference and seminar rooms available for meeting delegates. To round off all the services we offer, there is the comfortable "LEO's Restaurant" with an adjoining "Library", a cosy hotel bar, the best breakfast in town (price-value), free WLAN access, a charging station and 84 parking places directly in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ludwigshafen
Ludwigshafen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing