We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in Mannheim area”
Review of Rene Bohn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rene Bohn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ludwigshafen
Certificate of Excellence
Solingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“best hotel in Mannheim area”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After some mixed experiences with various hotels in Mannheim, I could enjoy the second time a night at Rene-Bohn. The hotel, run by BASF, has very friendly staff who is always giving you the feeling of being treated as a special guest. The rooms look new and fresh, the bathroom and the whole interieur is looking very luxurious and expensive. All rooms have very good air conditioning - something I was missing a lot in other hotels in Mannheim. Also the breakfast experience is great, with a broad variety of different food - not feeling that this is a buffet, more a luxurious dream... all in all a great experience for a fair price. Only criticism is the gym in the basement: They just put some equipment in a room without any airconditioning. After 5 min. I felt the dry and hot air and had to stop - a good decision, because running outside was quite nice... anyway, if they improve on this - would be a perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UliRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    43
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
68
14
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cloudbase
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

When heading south-east across Germany (towards Bavaria) it's possible to choose to go west of the Rhine or east of the Rhine on the Autobahn. Historically, we have always gone to the east and stayed overnight south of Frankfurt. This time, we chose to go west and stayed at the Rene Bohn in Ludwigshafen. The first thing you notice as you head for the relevant suburb is that this whole town is connected to the industry giant, BASF. However, despite the initial sense that the hotel is tucked away in a commercial complex, in reality it is in a pleasant area and blends in very well with the surroundings in a tasteful way. The hotel is well sign-posted. Plenty of free parking on site.

Check-in was very efficient, very helpful, friendly staff. It just got better and better from there....

Our room was business class, clean, functional, well-stocked mini-bar, air conditioned.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, preferring instead a traditional German restaurant about 3 Km across town.

After a really good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed, breakfast was unbelievable. We heard that the breakfast restaurant had won awards and we could see why. It would take too long to describe in detail everything, but with perhaps the exception of some smoked fish (which could have been there and we didn't see it), there was every breakfast item imaginable, plus a lovely Prosecco wine, petit fours and other excuisite pastries. We had a fresh cooked breakfast (3 chefs on hand to make it) and a cold platter, plus fresh fruit. The coffee was very good quality too. We had regular checks by attentive staff to see if we were happy with everything....the most amazing breakfast....and it still got better.

It was about 32 degrees outside that particular day. Before packing to leave we noticed that the hotel offered a car-window cleaning service, and this was perfect as the journey had left its marks on the windscreen. This was taken care of by one of the staff and on departure we were given a selection of complimentary drinks and snacks for the journey. The organic liquorice from the mini-bar is well-worth buying, it was superb.

Everything was handled with ultra-efficiency and the hotel is a total credit to the BASF group whom we're sure have ownership.

This was a great overnight stop.Highly recommended. One of the top 3 hotels we have every stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 7captainscarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Best hotel by far in the Mannheim/Ludwighafen area. The staff is flawless, The rooms are well appointed. The internet is fast and free. The beds comfortable with feather pillows. The only small issue I had is that the business suites, while air conditioned, are an indoor movable unit. Since the suite is two rooms, it really only cools the outer room, while leaving the bedroom warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelzigenvater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great for a short stay for business - walking distance for main gates to BASF LU.
The new upgraded room are the ones to go for.
Breakfast is excellent.
BASF laptops & phone directly connect to the WIFI for seamless working

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria Melita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed more than two weeks in the hotel during my mother admittance to the hospital. My main reason for selecting the hotel is the location near the hospital ( just crossing the street).
I never expected that i,m selecting the best hotel in whole Ludwigshsfen area.
The hotel is part of the BASF company, however the hotel is managed extremely wonderful. That feeling you can touch it directly when you enter the hotel from all the employees in the hotel.
Location is perfect for stays in Lugwigshafen or Mannahiem area.
Rooms are of a good size ( i had a business suite) ,however the bath and shower arrangement and distributing on 2 bathroom was inconvenient
Cleanliness in the hotel is outstanding.housekeeping is excellent.
comfort of the beds are perfect.
this is the first 4* hotel i have seen that gives a full turn down service.
The breakfast is amazing in presentation/taste and service.They also have an excellent grab and go with a bag breakfast for guests who are in a hurry.
Gem is bit small.
Bar is nice with excellent service.
Parking is available and tidy.
Added touches that makes big difference like the the chocolate that are different everyday of the week , the water bottles,..etc.
I noticed the new wing have a better rooms and higher quality , however, those rooms are reserved for BASF company guests.
Thanks to all the staff in this hotel for giving me a very nice feeling and comfort in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rasheed_albader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Spend the weekend at this fabulous Hotel and i must say it was one of the best once i stayed in lately.Rooms are very clean and comfy super friendly Staff .Breakfast was the Bomb wow ***** Everything you want is there from fresh fruit to shrimps ect ......

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandymyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for my one day business meeting in the region and everything was excelent during my stay.

Although we arrived late in the evening we are served with a great dinner in the atrium restaurant. The room was very comfortable. In the morning the construction nearby woke me up but its not hotel's fault.

The breakfast the best I've experienced in Germany in my life. And the atrium is a very relaxing spot for relaxing, eating or drinking.

I would definetly stay there next time I travelled to the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludwigshafen
1.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Europa Hotel Ludwigshafen
Europa Hotel Ludwigshafen
#2 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Speicher7 Hotel
Speicher7 Hotel
#4 of 45 in Mannheim
120 reviews
2.4 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
2.1 mi away
IntercityHotel Mannheim
IntercityHotel Mannheim
#9 of 45 in Mannheim
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rene Bohn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rene Bohn

Property: Rene Bohn
Address: Rene-Bohn-Str. 4, 67063 Ludwigshafen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Ludwigshafen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ludwigshafen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rene Bohn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
René Bohn is a 4-star superior hotel located in Ludwigshafen am Rhein. The property features a terrace and a garden and there is free private parking available at the property. A fresh international and regional breakfast is available each morning at the hotel and the accommodation features a 24-hour front desk. The fitness area provides recreation after an eventful day. In the whole hotel is free WiFi access available. Since November, 2014 René Bohn offers 11 Living Apartments which are located in an Annex building which is 50 metres from the main hotel. The apartments are suiteable for short and long time stays and fully equipped kitchen. Guests are welcome to relax in the hotel bar also. The business, club and living area offer spacious rooms, suites and apartments, equipped with high class furnishings in a modern style including all comforts and additional services like free Wi-Fi. Pets are just allowed in the Superior rooms. Ludwigshafen(Rhein) BASF Süd Train Station is 1.5 km from René Bohn, it is a 10-minute drive to the centre of Mannheim, and bicycles can be rented from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rene Bohn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing