We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ludwigshafen
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Unfortunately the hotel is not up to the expected level. I lived there because there were no places elsewhere during the Formula 1 Grand Prix from Hochenheim. Hallways smelled awful "as old things." Rooms were new and with modern furniture, but windows were with old woodwork and not very good noise isolated. Breakfast was good, varied and please everyone (we were a group of about 25 persons). I could not have dinner at the hotel (no possibility) but a nearby (1,5 Km) is a 3 stars Michelin restaurant (In Ludwigshafen!).The hotel is not distinguished by anything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilianM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

I made the mistake of reading the tripadvisor reviews AFTER booking this hotel and feared the worst. However, while not the greatest hotel it is fine for a short stay.
The rooms and hotel in general is a bit old, but mine was large and comfortable (no smell of smoke). Breakfast was good and the free wifi worked well. The reception staff were fine. The bar on the 17th floor is a hoot, with good views of Ludwigshaften (not much to look at!) and an 80s soundtrack.
The location is pretty good if you need the train station or need to be in Ludwigshaften for some reason. There are trams close by and you can walk everywhere. The area is a bit dull but seemed safe. It wasn't ideal for me as I was going to Mannheim (a longish walk across the bridge or a tram ride).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splint64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This hotel was so bad for so many different reasons. The room we had stank like something had died in it. Not only was there a smell, we couldn't sleep all night because there was a party going on down the hall from us. When we rang the reception staff to inform them about the fact that they were slamming doors and screaming and shouting at 2 am, we were told by the staff over the phone "Yes, it is noisy because they are having a party on that floor". They refused to send anyone up to tell them to stop making noise and as a result there was noise right through to 4 am. The next day we went down to the reception to talk to the manager about the terrible night we just had and were told off by the girl (who was full of attitude) who was on duty. She refused to put us in contact with the manager and told us to email them if we had a problem. Never stay here, trust me its not worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

we booked for 6 nights and on the morning of the second day we were told (as we were walking out the door to start uni), that the hotel was closing and we had to get all our stuff out of the room by midday.

Otherwise the rooms were old and smelt like smoke and the hotel was in a bad area.

Don´´t know if it is open again???

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dysdidokokinesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2007

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour group. The location for touring is good - the hotel is within easy walking distance of the train and subway stations, and there is a nearby bus stop. Shopping and restaurants are withing a short walk.

Getting into your room can be a challenge. The elevators are very small, and most can accomodate two people with luggage at best. The rooms are very basic - the bedding is narrow and the chairs are not very comfortable. The rooms are heated by radiators, and controlling the room temperature can also be a challenge.

The breakfast is okay, with the standard German breakfast of breads, cereals, cold cuts and cheeses available. They also offer scrambled and hard boild eggs and bacon. The menu never changes, however, and becomes boring after a few days.

Overall, this is an aging hotel which is showing its age.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SciFiGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2007

I stayed in this hotel while on a tour with an orchestra. I'm really glad we only had to spend one night here. What bothered me the most was the cigarette smell in the room. According to the receptionist there was no non-smoking room available. i have stayed in smoking rooms before, but it has NEVER been that bad. I had trouble falling asleep because of this.
There was a carpet on the floor of the room that looked quite suspicious. Bathroom amenities were poor and old.
This hotel has probably seen better times. The area around it is without any interest.
I was glad I had friends in the area who invited me for dinner and breakfast, so I spent as little time as possible in my room.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gulliver1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2005

The worst part about the hotel is its location, practically under a motorway with main roads on all sides. The area has no facilities at all and no local bars or shops. We stayed at the hotel on a half board arrangement but the dining room only serves breakfast and we were forced to walk 1 km down the road to an Italian restaurant which served very indifferent food. The minibars were empty and the lifts were extremely slow, which was a problem with a coachload of guests in a 16 storey hotel. The hotel is also very close to the railway and sleep was interrupted by trains and barking dogs. The breakfast was perfectly acceptable and serving staff pleasant, but this is not a hotel for a romantic break or indeed any kind of holiday. As far as being a 'base' for a trip to Heidelberg, it was not a good choice by our tour operator, Travelsphere.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annestaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludwigshafen
0.7 mi away
MOXY Ludwigshafen
MOXY Ludwigshafen
#4 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Ludwigshafen
B&B Hotel Ludwigshafen
#6 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mannheim City
1.6 mi away
Gartenstadt Hotel
Gartenstadt Hotel
#3 of 10 in Ludwigshafen
31 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Delta Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen

Address: Lorientallee 16, 67059 Ludwigshafen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Ludwigshafen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ludwigshafen
Price Range: £41 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen, with its 160 hotel rooms, is situated in the midst of Ludwigshafen city. Our bar on the 17th floor offers a 360° panoramic view of the city and the beautiful Rhine-Neckar Valley. The cocktail bar is an ideal place to start a lovely evening with a glass of wine or a cocktail. All the hotel rooms have a balcony and enjoy free WiFi internet. In the business hotel rooms, selected drinks from the minibar as well as a tea and coffee station are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurohotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen
Eurohotel Excelsior Hotel Ludwigshafen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing