We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary Meal”
Review of La Petite Bouchee

La Petite Bouchee
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Witheridge
Price range: £30 - £35
Description: Welcome to our multi-award winning brasserie, La Petite Bouchée, based in the pretty village of Witheridge, equidistant between Tiverton and South Molton. Literally translated as " The Small Mouthful " La Petite Bouchée is anything but and 98% of our food is either locally sourced within a 10 mile radius ( fish 23miles ) or homegrown. We are the only restaurant in N.Devon to be a certified carbon free restaurant and we have a very fine tuned no waste policy in place. If you are looking for a friendly bistro style restaurant with excellent service and a menu to match then look no further. You'll receive a warm welcome and an authentic taste of France using fabulous Devon produce. ( As seen on Ch4 Hidden Restaurants with Michel Roux Jnr)
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to our multi-award winning brasserie, La Petite Bouchée, based in the pretty village of Witheridge, equidistant between Tiverton and South Molton. Literally translated as " The Small Mouthful " La Petite Bouchée is anything but and 98% of our food is either locally sourced within a 10 mile radius ( fish 23miles ) or homegrown. We are the only restaurant in N.Devon to be a certified carbon free restaurant and we have a very fine tuned no waste policy in place. If you are looking for a friendly bistro style restaurant with excellent service and a menu to match then look no further. You'll receive a warm welcome and an authentic taste of France using fabulous Devon produce. ( As seen on Ch4 Hidden Restaurants with Michel Roux Jnr)
Reviewed 5 June 2022

This was our first visit to La Petite Bouchee and will certainly not be our last. On arrival we were warmly greeting by the young waitress, followed by the chef/patron who remembered we'd not long moved to the area. All our food was excellent, my steak was cooked perfectly (I like it rare) and was melt in the mouth. My husband loved his moules main his only regret being he didn't have any bread to mop up with but he managed with a spoon. All in all, it was a lovely evening with a relaxed intimate atmosphere - it's always a good sign when all the guests end the evening chatting.

Date of visit: June 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
La-Petite B, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

Thank you so much for your very generous review. It was a pleasure to welcome you both. On the subject of bread. We always used to put bread on the tables each week and 90% of it was thrown away. This is the second bread comment in a matter of weeks so it might be worth revisiting. Thanks so much for the prompt. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest A-C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2022

Attention carnivors just had a mushroom bourbuign it is to die for, such depth of flavours if you don't try you'll never know how great this is, again Anita and her crew have surpassed them selves

Date of visit: May 2022
1  Thank 342cliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare F, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2022

Thanks so much lovely. Strangely more carnivores have eaten the mushroom Bourgogne than vegetarians !
Thanks from all the team 😊

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2022 via mobile

Been a while trying to get a table with our friends here (bookings only) but we got one. Easy to find in the town and old French van out front a major give away. Quirky entrance way and into a lovely dining room in a private house...brilliant.
Pre booked and food was outstanding... French onion soup AMAZING as was Tomato Tart tatin.
Chicken and leek pies/moules and steak fries - perfect food finished off with beautiful creme Brulee. Loved the attention to detail - flowers on plates divine. Yes we pigged and did a cheese board too. Just perfect end to a lovely day in Mid Devon

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare F, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2022

Thank you so much for your very generous words, we love what we do and on Saturday it was absolutely buzzing. We loved cooking for you all and look forward to to seeing you again soon. Kindest A-C & all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2022

Why wait for Friday or Saturday? Get Anita to come to you!
We were in the area for only a few days and, having read the reviews, were gutted we couldn't eat at L.P.B.
I contacted Anita to see if she would consider coming over to ours and she couldn't do enough to help. She was responsive with her communication, turned up EXACTLY when she said she would, prepped everything in the kitchen, wouldn't let us lift a finger and produced the BEST RESTAURANT EXPERIENCE EVER in our own kitchen.
Each course was described, served and cleared with such professionalism, it made us feel very special. Once everything is served, but only then (so professional), you might, if you're lucky, get Anita to sit down with you for a glass of wine to talk about her amazing story and how she became so passionate about food. And, at the end of the evening, she leaves everything so spotless, it's like she wasn't even there!
If you want to spoil yourself, this is the way to do it.
Such quality, such value and such an experience!
Thank you Anita for making it such a lovely evening!

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Goodcustomerservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare F, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2022

Thank you Stephen, thank you all. It was a joy to cook for you, a real pleasure to listen and spend time with people so passionate about food and ingredients. If you’re ever in the area again do come and see us. Kindest A-C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2022

what can i say but how happy were we to find this unbelievable gem of a restaurant. Cozy and vibrant a perfect blend.
food was top top drawer and the service impeccable but personal touches with a chat to the chef during and after the meal .
we loved it so much we've decided to take a mini detour / additional stopover to visit again.
if you live with an hour of La Petite Bouchee i would definitely try and visit once a month.!!!

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank whitesark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare F, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2022

Thank you so much for your generous comments. We look forward to welcoming you back next month. Kindest Team LPB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Bouchee also viewed

Rackenford, Tiverton
Tiverton, Devon
 

Been to La Petite Bouchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.