We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a suprise”
Review of La Petite Bouchee

La Petite Bouchee
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Witheridge
Price range: £30 - £35
Description: Welcome to our multi-award winning brasserie, La Petite Bouchée, based in the pretty village of Witheridge, equidistant between Tiverton and South Molton. Literally translated as " The Small Mouthful " La Petite Bouchée is anything but and 98% of our food is either locally sourced within a 10 mile radius ( fish 23miles ) or homegrown. We are the only restaurant in N.Devon to be a certified carbon free restaurant and we have a very fine tuned no waste policy in place. If you are looking for a friendly bistro style restaurant with excellent service and a menu to match then look no further. You'll receive a warm welcome and an authentic taste of France using fabulous Devon produce. ( As seen on Ch4 Hidden Restaurants with Michel Roux Jnr)
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to our multi-award winning brasserie, La Petite Bouchée, based in the pretty village of Witheridge, equidistant between Tiverton and South Molton. Literally translated as " The Small Mouthful " La Petite Bouchée is anything but and 98% of our food is either locally sourced within a 10 mile radius ( fish 23miles ) or homegrown. We are the only restaurant in N.Devon to be a certified carbon free restaurant and we have a very fine tuned no waste policy in place. If you are looking for a friendly bistro style restaurant with excellent service and a menu to match then look no further. You'll receive a warm welcome and an authentic taste of France using fabulous Devon produce. ( As seen on Ch4 Hidden Restaurants with Michel Roux Jnr)
Reviewed 5 March 2023 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal here started with a very tasty Coquille Saint Jacques, followed by plump juicy Moules Frite and rounded off with Creme brulee....no room for Cheese! Beautifully fresh ingredients in this very small and friendly restaurant what a great find in deepest Devon. Excellent food, locally sourced with great service for a very reasonable price. Will definitly revisit.

Date of visit: March 2023
1  Thank HenriettaA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare F, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2023

Thanks so much for your very generous comments. It’s been an absolute pleasure all month to be home cooking in the restaurant and I thrilled you had a great time
Kindest
A-C & all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2023 via mobile

Wonderful meal, our first visit to this lovely little restaurant, a rare jewel. Delicious food, friendly service. Excellent

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank donka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2023

This was our first visit booked for three and what a great surprise. The staff were charming and the food was so delicious. The steak was so beautifully cooked and tasted wonderful. We were all happy with all of our three courses and the wine, which was very reasonable, was very much up to scratch. Well done La Petite Bouchee and thank you.

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane102018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare F, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

Thank you so much. It was lovely to meet you. I’m so thrilled you enjoyed your evening. Kindest A-C & all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2023 via mobile

Thank you so much for another lovely evening. This was our 6th visit and this time for our wedding anniversary. Pre-ordering our food is an excellent idea, it gives time to make a proper choice and ensures no wasted food. We loved our choices of the pulled jack fruit starter (the best that I have ever had), the red mullet main course was delicious and our desserts - the vegan sticky toffee pudding and the sticky toffee apple pudding were sublime! Thank you.

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank Jo_Tea_and_cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare F, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2023

Thank you so much for your generous words Jo. As ever it’s a joy to make things for our customers that require a bit more thought. Happy Anniversary to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2022

I booked La Petite Bouchée a while ago to cook a meal for four for a special occasion and admit to being anxious about having someone using my kitchen in my presence. I needn’t have worried, Anita-Clare arrived armed with a small, cool box-cum-flight bag and swept in like a culinary version of Mary Poppins.

Not being a great fan of formality, I had expressly asked for a casual and informal approach, Anita-Clare prepped, cooked, served and removed the most incredible food in an unobtrusive and relaxed fashion. I am dairy-free and hate to ask for special treatment on my behalf but my requests were very well met; every course was dairy-free however, nobody would be able to tell ingredients had been swapped out - from start, to finish the meal was utterly fantastic. Everything was spot on.

Taking inspiration from suggested likes and dislikes Anita-Clare had carefully selected three courses of delicious food; prawn and scallop rillettes, duck breast on roti and lemon cheesecake, as with every skilled craftsman the entire thing seemed to be effortlessly executed, but the results were superb! My concern about formality was unfounded, the chef put us all at ease, we felt pampered and very spoilt. At the end of the meal, the kitchen was cleaned, the washing up done, Mary Poppins took her bag and left four very happy customers. Thank you Anita-Clare, you’re a complete star!

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare F, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2022

Claire, wow. Thank you so so much. It was a joy and an honour to cook for you all. Thank you for your generous hospitality. Making things dairy-free is fun and fuels my creativity. I love a challenge and it is absolutely no problem whatsoever. I look forward to cooking you further dairy free meals in the years to come. ❤️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Bouchee also viewed

Rackenford, Tiverton
Tiverton, Devon
 

Been to La Petite Bouchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.