We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always - it’s a fabulous little restaurant that everyone must experience”
Review of La Petite Bouchee

La Petite Bouchee
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Witheridge
Price range: £30 - £35
Description: Welcome to our multi-award winning brasserie, La Petite Bouchée, based in the pretty village of Witheridge, equidistant between Tiverton and South Molton. Literally translated as " The Small Mouthful " La Petite Bouchée is anything but and 98% of our food is either locally sourced within a 10 mile radius ( fish 23miles ) or homegrown. We are the only restaurant in N.Devon to be a certified carbon free restaurant and we have a very fine tuned no waste policy in place. If you are looking for a friendly bistro style restaurant with excellent service and a menu to match then look no further. You'll receive a warm welcome and an authentic taste of France using fabulous Devon produce. ( As seen on Ch4 Hidden Restaurants with Michel Roux Jnr)
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to our multi-award winning brasserie, La Petite Bouchée, based in the pretty village of Witheridge, equidistant between Tiverton and South Molton. Literally translated as " The Small Mouthful " La Petite Bouchée is anything but and 98% of our food is either locally sourced within a 10 mile radius ( fish 23miles ) or homegrown. We are the only restaurant in N.Devon to be a certified carbon free restaurant and we have a very fine tuned no waste policy in place. If you are looking for a friendly bistro style restaurant with excellent service and a menu to match then look no further. You'll receive a warm welcome and an authentic taste of France using fabulous Devon produce. ( As seen on Ch4 Hidden Restaurants with Michel Roux Jnr)
Reviewed 6 March 2023 via mobile

Where to start - from the quaint little entrance all beautifully lit by candlelight to the cosy ambiance to the amazing food and the staff. I love coming to see Anita and enjoying her food, I particularly enjoy that every time we come the menu changes and we can try something new but one of us always gets the steak frites and béarnaise sauce cause it is absolutely to die for. Yes this is your typical pub it’s far much more. I love looking up the menu in advance and being able to take my time to decide what we will have that’s part of the experience. It’s also fab that you can turn up between 7-8 and within 5 minutes your starters are there , no messing around with menus which also means no food waste. We never leave feeling hungry always pleasantly full. Thank you Anita for another fabulous evening ❤️

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank JillianWidlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare F, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2023

Thanks so much lovely it’s always an absolute pleasure to cook for you and Jon. Thank you for your amazing support as always ❤️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2023

Having met Anita-Clare some years ago with her trusty French blue van, we had often meant to drive to Witheridge for a meal but never quite got there. My husband is a Coeliac and lactose intolerant which means eating out is never easy but with our 20th wedding anniversary fast approaching, I contacted Anita-Clare and a menu was chosen and she arrived at our house at the duly appointed time and date and cooked one of the best meals we have ever eaten. It was wonderful for us not to have to worry about cross-contamination or any potential upset and she even sourced lactose free cheeses for our final course that included a Burrata which is unbelievable as it is usually made with mozzarella cheese and cream and laden with lactose. It was superb. The lemon cheesecake decorated beautifully with fruits and edible flowers was just incredible and we could not believe it was vegan (not that we are) but just brilliant. Desserts are usually nothing more than a fruit salad or sorbets for my husband so what a treat. Anita- Clare was also fun to chat with whilst in the kitchen with us and so friendly and her food knowledge outstanding. She also did the washing up and all in all, it was just superb. I will be booking her again to cook for a slightly larger party later in the year in our home and cannot recommend her enough. She is a credit to her chosen profession.

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nnkennaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare Field, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2023

Oh Nicola & Martin thank you for such generous comments. It was truly an absolute pleasure to cook for you. It’s was lovely getting to know you both and hearing how knowledgeable you are about all things culinary. As I said, it’s not difficult to use your imagination to create dishes for people with intolerances. It’s such a shame not everyone in my profession thinks like that. I am happy to cook anything for Martin. Thank you so much for my beautiful card too. So very thoughtful. See you both soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2023 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal here started with a very tasty Coquille Saint Jacques, followed by plump juicy Moules Frite and rounded off with Creme brulee....no room for Cheese! Beautifully fresh ingredients in this very small and friendly restaurant what a great find in deepest Devon. Excellent food, locally sourced with great service for a very reasonable price. Will definitly revisit.

Date of visit: March 2023
1  Thank HenriettaA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare F, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2023

Thanks so much for your very generous comments. It’s been an absolute pleasure all month to be home cooking in the restaurant and I thrilled you had a great time
Kindest
A-C & all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2023 via mobile

Wonderful meal, our first visit to this lovely little restaurant, a rare jewel. Delicious food, friendly service. Excellent

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank donka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2023

This was our first visit booked for three and what a great surprise. The staff were charming and the food was so delicious. The steak was so beautifully cooked and tasted wonderful. We were all happy with all of our three courses and the wine, which was very reasonable, was very much up to scratch. Well done La Petite Bouchee and thank you.

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane102018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare F, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

Thank you so much. It was lovely to meet you. I’m so thrilled you enjoyed your evening. Kindest A-C & all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Bouchee also viewed

Rackenford, Tiverton
Tiverton, Devon
 

Been to La Petite Bouchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.