We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of La Petite Bouchee

La Petite Bouchee
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Witheridge
Price range: £30 - £35
Description: Welcome to our multi-award winning brasserie, La Petite Bouchée, based in the pretty village of Witheridge, equidistant between Tiverton and South Molton. Literally translated as " The Small Mouthful " La Petite Bouchée is anything but and 98% of our food is either locally sourced within a 10 mile radius ( fish 23miles ) or homegrown. We are the only restaurant in N.Devon to be a certified carbon free restaurant and we have a very fine tuned no waste policy in place. If you are looking for a friendly bistro style restaurant with excellent service and a menu to match then look no further. You'll receive a warm welcome and an authentic taste of France using fabulous Devon produce. ( As seen on Ch4 Hidden Restaurants with Michel Roux Jnr)
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to our multi-award winning brasserie, La Petite Bouchée, based in the pretty village of Witheridge, equidistant between Tiverton and South Molton. Literally translated as " The Small Mouthful " La Petite Bouchée is anything but and 98% of our food is either locally sourced within a 10 mile radius ( fish 23miles ) or homegrown. We are the only restaurant in N.Devon to be a certified carbon free restaurant and we have a very fine tuned no waste policy in place. If you are looking for a friendly bistro style restaurant with excellent service and a menu to match then look no further. You'll receive a warm welcome and an authentic taste of France using fabulous Devon produce. ( As seen on Ch4 Hidden Restaurants with Michel Roux Jnr)
Reviewed 30 March 2024

Lovely intimate setting, staff very welcoming. Food was absolutely stunning, the ingredients were all locally sourced and fresh. Every course was delicious and accompanied by amazing sauces, Peppercorn was to die for. The chef comes to each table after service a lovely touch, definitely be visiting again. And the price is such good value.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare Field, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Dear Lesley, thank you so much for your very generous review it’s was so lovely to welcome you both, we’re so thrilled you enjoyed your time with us . Happy Easter 🐣 kindest A-C & all the team at La Petite Bouchee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2024

My husband and I had yet another amazing meal last night, the food was outstanding, the atmosphere great, service fantastic, Chef Anita-Clare excells every time.
This is by far our favourite restaurant and we cannot recommend it higher

Date of visit: March 2024
1  Thank Lyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare Field, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Dear Lyn,
Thank you so much for your continuing support. Our customers mean everything to us. Happy Easter 🐣 kindest A-C and all at La Petite Bouchee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

This place is amazing, wonderful food, friendly staff from front of house to Anita-Clare the amazing chef. No hesitation in recommending, unless it means no table for my husband and I.

Date of visit: March 2024
1  Thank donka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare Field, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2024

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We’re so thrilled you enjoyed yourselves. Kindest A-C & all the team at La Petite Bouchée

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024

We dined here on Saturday night for the delayed start to the Exmoor Food Fest. On arrival we were greeted by a very smiley and lovely lady who showed us to our table. We’d all ordered something different and couldn’t resist trying each others throughout the evening. Particular highlights were the Coquille St.Jacques, the lemon sole and the Apple Tarte Tatin. My husband had the Pork which he said was deliciously moist and juicy and the ham hock with the best Piccalilli he’s tasted. The other members of our party had Steak and throughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere was buzzing, the restaurant was full and everyone was chattering away and having a great time. Hats off to Chef Anita-Clare. We’ll definitely be back.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare Field, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Thank you so much for your generosity. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family last Saturday. We’re very lucky to have such incredible suppliers and of course a bulging larder here in the West Country I will pass on your comments to them too. 🙏🏻 I well see you again one day. kindest A-C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2024

We dined as a party of 4 at Le Petite Bouchee yesterday. We struggled to open the door into the restaurant because it had swelled so much in the rain. Having entered the dining area we were seated at our table and immediately noticed how cold it was. 2 of our party did not take their coats off throughout the whole meal. The single toilet was so cold you could see your breath in the air.
Two of our dishes did not come as shown on the menu that we had to pre order from well in advance of the day - Ham Hock terrine was advertised with toast and pickles. 2 people in our party were served the dish without toast - it was just the terrine and some pickle. 2 people ordered the Cotelette de Porc with Sautee potatoes and petit pois - there was no sautee potatoes served with the porc.
The Coquille St Jacques ordered by 2 people was good. We were not asked by the waitress how was our starter or if everything was ok.
Having finished our starter we awaited the main courses - 2 cotelette de porc, 1 steak frites and 1 moules marinierre. When they arrived we had to ask for fresh cutlery as our starter cutlery had been cleared with our starter plates.
The cotelette de porc was overcooked, dry and very tough - like shoe leather. The steak was cooked as asked for, medium rare but even with a steak knife was extremely tough and very chewy to eat. The moules marinierre (as per the menu) were inconsistent in size, some large and plump, others shrivelled to almost nothing. The marinierre sauce was a joke - it was like cloudy water with some lemon chunks thrown in, there was a small amount of chopped onion in the water. This resulted in a dish that was tasteless - every other restaurant I have had moules marinierre in has come with a sauce containing garlic, white wine, onion, parsley and cream - there was none of this - it was completely tasteless! We were also served with a large communal plate of french fries and a communal salad bowl.
Again as the waitress came to collect our plates, we were not asked how was the food or was everything ok - in fact, whilst the waitress was friendly, we were not asked this at all throughout the meal or during payment. As she was picking up the last plate I said please may I give some feedback and stated the porc was tough like leather, the steak was also tough/chewy and the moules were completely tasteless. The waitress said I will pass that on to the chef.
The desserts and cheese board were ok - nothing special.
We received no feedback from the waitress or the chef. When I went to pay the bill I was expecting some recognition of what we had reported - nothing was said, the waitress took the money and that was it.
In summary: a cold restaurant with unbelievably bad main courses and very poor customer service. Quite simply the worst restaurant I have ever eaten in throughout the UK. There is nothing about this restaurant that I can recommend. A terrible experience.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank TE600053AJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita-Clare Field, Owner at La Petite Bouchee, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Many thanks for your thorough feedback. I was not made aware of your feedback, which I will of course take up with our front of house staff. I’m thankful that the two reviews below yours, guests who were there the same night as you gave 5 stars. I can’t help it think that you were always going to give this review. You were extremely rude when you arrived after barging into our home. You were extremely entitled and rude to our front of house team and when I asked what was happening in the dining room the only negative comment was about your table. Anyone reading this will see it for what it is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite Bouchee also viewed

Rackenford, Tiverton
Tiverton, Devon
 

Been to La Petite Bouchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.