We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“south coombe cottages "tilleys cottage"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Coombe Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Absolute brilliant reception upon arrival, complete with cream scones and a guide of the cottage and facilities. We stayed at tilleys cottage , 4 adults and 2 children and fitted comfortably. The swimming pool is exellent and changing rooms and games room very clean. Free use of washing machine and tumble drier in the ajoining laundry room. The cottage is very nicely decorated with plenty of room , and complete with log burner.Beds and bedding very clean. The surrounding cottages and old thatched roof farm house make this a very pretty and idillic country setting within the countryside. The cottages come complete with ducks on their own duck pond , hens and chickens, and plenty of local walks. All 4 hosts were very welcoming and polite and pointed us to the nearest village pub, The Mitre Inn, that is only a twenty minute walk away ( or 3 minutes in car). Here we spent a very memorable and unforgettable new years eve with locals. My two daughters aged 11 and 13 thoroughly enjoyed their stay and we will definatly be booking again next year. FIRST CLASS, THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

Room Tip: Highly recommended
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonquil B, Owner at South Coombe Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Many thanks to Peter and his family and friends for the very kind words describing their stay at South Coombe. For our part, we found them to be ideal guests - very friendly and appreciative and ready to join in, particularly with the fancy dress New Year's Eve party at The Mitre.

When we receive reviews like this one it makes us realise that the work we are doing this winter on refurbishing a further two of our cottages is all worth while.

Thanks to everyone once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to South Coombe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for South Coombe Country Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

If you want to a peaceful place to stay with friendly hosts and beautiful scenery this is the place to go. We have just spent a wonderful week in Devon - South Coombe was our base.
Our teenage children enjoyed the use of the pool, Gym and Games Room in the evenings.
The cottage was clean and well looked after as were the surrounding grounds.
Hopefully we will go back to enjoy it again. If you do go give Tillythe dog a pat and watch out for Saffi the amazingly fast running cat! x

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 965JaneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonquil B, Owner at South Coombe Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

A big thank you to Jane and family for taking the time to write about their impressions of South Coombe. We always try to make our guests feel welcome and our aim in presenting our cottages is for people to think they are the first guests ever to set foot in them.

Tilly is appreciative of your comments, but not nearly as much as Saffi, who was a tripadvisor virgin and is now running around looking even more like a smug Siamese!

Thanks again from all of us at South Coombe and we hope to be able to welcome you all back at some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had a very warm welcome and a great stay at South Coombe. Cottages newly renovated, a great swimming pool & games room (very high standard & well maintained). Fresh baked scones on arrival and the freedom to explore surrounding fields, feed Chickens, chase Ducks & walk the dog :-)

Overall, a great getaway and would recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonquil B, Owner at South Coombe Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thanks to Nick for a positive review. We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back at some time in the future. This winter will see the renovation of Saffi's and Drakes Cottages so maybe you can come and sample one of those in 2013.

Thanks again from all at South Coombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed in Tilly's cottage for a long weekend and it was perfect. The cottage was immaculate, warm, comfortable and had bags of character. There was plenty of room for travel cots ( which we had 2!) in all the rooms. The bathroom was a good size and the downstairs bedrooms ensure shower is huge.

We all had a wonderful weekend. We arrived very late at night but still were met with a very warm welcome from the owners. The homemade scones,bread,croissants and pain au chocolate were divine.

The swimming pool was a big hit with our 4 year old as was the outdoor play area and surrounding fields of cows, sheep and horses. The glrounds were immaculate and the owners worked very hard to maintain them (even in the rain!).

We could not thank the owners enough for all their help and hospitality. We will certainly be back to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinar30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonquil B, Owner at South Coombe Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you to all the family for the positive feedback. We enjoyed having you to stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

From all at South Coombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

If only every 'cottage experience' was like this! From the wonderfully warm welcome (particularly from Tilly the Dog!) to the moment we left our experience was fantastic. Our cottage was immaculate, warm, comfortable and with bags of character. I particularly enjoyed firing up the log burner but don’t worry there are plenty of panel heaters if you don’t want to play with the logs. I was a bit worried as we went with our 'moody teenagers' 16 & 19 yrs. old but they loved it. The pool complex with sauna, gym & games room was perfect for the whole family & offered more than enough entertainment for those 'on-site' days.

The location is perfect, a mile or so from Witheridge but with a real 'countryside' feel and the farm itself, with ducks wandering on your lawn, a lovely pond and fabulous orchard is truly beautiful. 40 min's or so will take you to either coast and all of Devon’s beauty and attractions are within an easy drive.

Put all of the above together with Jonquil's wonderful home baked scones, freshly baked bread and croissants and owners for whom nothing is to much trouble and you have the perfect English countryside holiday. The highest recommendation I can give is that we will be going again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonquil B, Owner at South Coombe Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Many thanks to John and his family for taking the time to post a review of South Coombe. We are all delighted to hear that you had a great visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With best wishes from Jonquil and Chris, Bill and Marcia at South Coombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed for New Year with our friends and their two children. We had a fabulous time despite the miserable weather!

The owners are are very welcoming and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble.

We all loved the pool and the kids made very good use of the games room. Keeping the pool open later was no problem too.

The cottages were beautiful and immaculate. The fire was lit for our friends when they arrived, along with the fresh cream tea we couldn't have had a better welcome.

I highly recommend the freshly baked bread, croissants and pain au chocolates, delicious way to start the day. The homemade plum jam is also divine.

Lovely way to end 2011 and begin 2012. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmineint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The cottages were of an immaculate standard, very clean, warm and welcoming! The rooms were spacious and comfortable, ideal for a family or group of friends, large or small. The on-site pool, gym and games room were an added bonus, particularly in the odd showers of rain that we had during our stay.

The area is very quiet and secluded, with the nearest beach a good drive through the countryside away. There were a few pubs in the local village serving excellent food.

Overall, a super weeks holiday! Thank you Bill & Marcia! We will definately be booking again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobH03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witheridge
7.6 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
382 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#1 of 4 in Witheridge
81 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fernside Bed And Breakfast
Fernside Bed And Breakfast
#2 of 33 in Tiverton
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coombe Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coombe Country Cottages

Address: South Coombe Farm, Witheridge, Tiverton EX16 8QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Tiverton > Witheridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Witheridge
Price Range: £65 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coombe Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering Cottages and Bed & Breakfast with indoor pool, sauna, games room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your South Coombe Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coombe Country Cottages Witheridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing