We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Family Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Romantic Pond Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic Pond Cottage
Secluded Swimming Pool Pond Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Romantic Pond Cottage
Secluded Swimming Pool
Pond Cottage
Comfy lounge
Double bedroom 1
Cottage from S/W
Apple blossoms in May
Kitchen
Pool and Cider Barn
Double bedroom 2
Cozy lounge with wood burner
Lambs in the Spring
Pond Cottage garden
Pond in May
Garden near pool in May
Another view of Double bedroom 1
View of the pool
Contented young sheep
Life in the Paddock
The garden in July
Pond Cottage in the autumn
5 acre apple orchard in the autumn
Inner courtyard of farm
The farm house in the early morning sun
Filleigh Castle  - 10 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Witheridge, Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
dlagerbo
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Retreat”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It is difficult to put into words all the wonderful things about John, Renate, and Pond Cottage. John and Renate treat you like welcome neighbors and not people just letting their cottage. The cottage is well provisioned and very comfortable. The farm is a joy. My children fell in love with Wooly the sheep, the ducks, and getting eggs out of the chicken coop in the morning. A wonderful family beach of Saunton Sands is nearby (1 hour drive) on the hot days and the pool awaits each day for a dip. The landscape is wonderful and the produce enlivens your body and soul. We are definitely going to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Hello dear family from Denver,
It was lovely having you and the children stay on the farm. Your enthusiasm and interest was catching.
Not just Wooly, but also the ducks, geese and chickens miss you.
We hope to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donzerell...
Gravesend Kent
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wow stunning ”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a beautiful place to go. Really is a peaceful retreat. The cottage is well equipped and the owners that live nearby are on hand to help with anything. We really had an incredible visit and was far better than we expected. Perfect. Would recommend totally.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
It was a pleasure meeting you and your lovely, enthusiastic children. Hoping to have you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutelle
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a countryside”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Cottage was really spacious, clean and well equipped with all necessary tools in the kitchen to cook perfect dinner. Huge DVD collection would make you occupied if weather is not great outside. Perfect stay for nature lovers. Definitely recommend to visit it in summer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Hello Ruta,
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you all here.
Hope to see you again.
Regards,
Renate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family here in October.
Regards,
Renate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Africabec...
Powell River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pond Cottage: A Delightful Vacation Experience”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I have no hesitation in entering a #5 review rating, in every respect, for Pond Cottage. I've stayed at many vacation accommodations worldwide and my recent stay at the cottage has to rate as one of the very best of them all.

The warm welcome extended by John and Renate was a lovely start to the week. And I thank them for their generosity and consideration in allowing me the freedom to roam the farm buildings area and fields with my camera. It was all a wonderful experience.

The area attractions and restaurants were varied and worthwhile and fairly easily accessed, but it was always nice to return to the cosy cottage and relax beside a wood stove fireplace on the cool September evenings.

I would definitely return if it were possible.

The last evening of our stay at the cottage, a fitting finale was a dark, clear night. Away from the lights of town or city the view of the stars with the Milky Way was magical... A real treat for those guests who may not normally have the opportunity to really see the stars!

One suggestion for those guests travelling by car without a navigational device: I think it would be wise to plan to arrive before dark on the arrival day. The narrow and winding roads could be confusing to those new to the area to try to find the cottage in the dark. (Although those same roads are part of the charm of the area and would certainly not be a deterrent to the opportunity to stay at the lovely Pond Cottage).

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
It was absolute pleasure having you here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey C
1 review
“Truly memorable”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Pond Cottage for a week in August and found it delightful. The cottage itself is beautiful inside and out, the setting is amazing and it's owners are just the most wonderfully welcoming & kind hosts who are quite happy to let you wander about the farm as you please. They even allowed us to get involved in sheep herding which was a real treat, especially for our children.

The cottage was well equipped with everything you could need, including fresh eggs and jam left for us on arrival. John & Renate have put together a very useful folder of information about the area and things to do, including details of John's extensive arboretum. Ducks and geese roam the property and were always there to welcome us back from a day out. Both bedrooms are very comfortable and beautifully renovated with exposed beams, and both have en suite showers.

We had a wonderful experience at Pond Cottage and cannot fault it at all. We would not hesitate in recommending this property to anyone looking to escape to the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and hospitality of the owner
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family here in August.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THCG2016
1 review
“Stunning place to stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We would like to say a massive thank you. We had a lovely time at pond cottage and our two girls loved it. You have a beautiful home and farm. We would definitely return. Many thanks Tom and Helen

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing