We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Traditional German Food”
Review of Eisgrub Brau

Eisgrub Brau
Ranked #2 of 520 Restaurants in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average Traditional German Food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We decided to try this restaurant based on some of the excellent reviews we read. We found the food to be mediocre at best. The pork knuckle is a huge serving and not all that great. In addition we had the pork roast with gravy, sauerkraut and spaetzle - all were cold by the time they were served to us. The best part of the meal was the pretzel we ordered for a starter - that was excellent. The beer and the bratwurst were just ok.

We enjoyed the dining experience - sharing a table with others and our waitress was very friendly and helpful. It's a lot of food for a decent price, but we did not care for it all that much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k8nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    237
    72
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Beer”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We wandered around Mainz trying to fine this place, it's on the opposite side of the road than I expected towards the citadel. My word was it worth the search, so many times we considered bailing on the trek and heading into another bar/restaurant; but we didn't - much to our joy. It's own beer is served in a variety of traditional vessels, including proper litre glasses. The beer was either dark or regular and delightful. We had the pork knuckle (too large really) and the meatloaf. Perfect place. Service wonderful, the people watching was great and the walk home was much speedier, powered on pig and beer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mevsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pork knuckle oh yeah baby”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a cool place, if you are in the Mainz area you must come here and have the Pork knuckle. It is fantastic. The have wide range of quality beers and the service was excellent. Even provided English menus for us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mishmash010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“pub with history”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is more than a pub/restaurant but more of a work of art. Its a step back in time. The copper workings with exposed pipes and vats are truly unique and give the place such a great atmosphere. Give the Goulash and bread a try and order a double amount as its yummy and cheap (about 12 euro for the 2 of us with a goulash and beer each). Some patrons were drinking from glasses that are equivalent to our "Yards" and was awesome to watch them consumer these amounts of the amber liquid. I recommend you get their early in the evening for a meal to secure a good seat as the place gets packed. (5pm). Definitely worth a visit if coming to Mainz. A memorable experience as the tables are made from recycled timber eg staircases and balustrades and is so quaint and unique. A great place to meet friends and soak up the atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great beer, lovely bar, food ok”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a lovely friendly bar serving their own brewed beer in steins. Great beer but food is good, not great. Still worth a visit and good value

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattlanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eisgrub Brau also viewed

Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Eisgrub Brau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing