We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original atmosphere & nice beer”
Review of Eisgrub Brau

Eisgrub Brau
Ranked #2 of 520 Restaurants in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Original atmosphere & nice beer”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had dinner in this particular place and we truly loved the beer tower. Food was not bad, portions are big, but it was tastier in other places. Anyway, you should try only or the great atmosphere and the amazing own beer they have!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alessia_Camera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    237
    72
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices, great bier and good food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After relocating to Wiesbaden from Heidelberg last year, a group of us were eagerly searching out a nice pub to throw some darts at. Having eaten here once 2 years ago for lunch, we deiced one night to stop at the Eisgrub before heading next door to the Irish Pub. The food was very good, bier tower a plus for bigger groups, the interior is very nicely decorated and the wait staff always pleaseant. Needless to say, w ehave been spending many Friday nights grabbing a bier and dinner before our nightly shenannigans begin. Arrive early as sometimes it can get very crowded. During fussbal season, reserve in advance, you will not get a seat especially on weekends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average Traditional German Food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We decided to try this restaurant based on some of the excellent reviews we read. We found the food to be mediocre at best. The pork knuckle is a huge serving and not all that great. In addition we had the pork roast with gravy, sauerkraut and spaetzle - all were cold by the time they were served to us. The best part of the meal was the pretzel we ordered for a starter - that was excellent. The beer and the bratwurst were just ok.

We enjoyed the dining experience - sharing a table with others and our waitress was very friendly and helpful. It's a lot of food for a decent price, but we did not care for it all that much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k8nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Beer”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We wandered around Mainz trying to fine this place, it's on the opposite side of the road than I expected towards the citadel. My word was it worth the search, so many times we considered bailing on the trek and heading into another bar/restaurant; but we didn't - much to our joy. It's own beer is served in a variety of traditional vessels, including proper litre glasses. The beer was either dark or regular and delightful. We had the pork knuckle (too large really) and the meatloaf. Perfect place. Service wonderful, the people watching was great and the walk home was much speedier, powered on pig and beer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mevsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pork knuckle oh yeah baby”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a cool place, if you are in the Mainz area you must come here and have the Pork knuckle. It is fantastic. The have wide range of quality beers and the service was excellent. Even provided English menus for us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mishmash010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eisgrub Brau also viewed

Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Eisgrub Brau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing