We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of hanoi

hanoi
Ranked #15 of 519 Restaurants in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had a very pleasant meal here. My food was good, my husband's main course was rather bland (marked "piquant" - it wasn't) but overall a good impression. I've had better Vietnamese food, but this was good value for money and we'd happily eat there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyra127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Traditional family vietnamese restaurant. I have only good things to write: good food, nice staff, prices under the average.
The local is not so chic as others, but you go to a restaurant for the food mostly, so do not hesitate and try it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

There is only one thing to say: try it! The food tastes great and the prices are moderatly. The interior isn´t typical vitnamese style but that doesn´t matter - if you once tried the summerroll and all the other nice food! It ´s always fresh made and very delicious. The service is very nice. And with the bill you always get a digestif.
Make a reservation, because almost every day the restaurant is fully booked.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anne761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food is fine, but we felt sick afterwards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

This restaurant certainly is a likable place, food is simple but good and it is value for money. However one should know that this is not a chic place but rather for students and local residents.
Also I am very sorry to say that both of us felt sick after eating there, and this although I only tasted a very small portion of my friend's dish who felt much sicker than I did. This tells about the degree of bacterial contamination of the shrimp dish we had, and it is simply not tolerable to have this kind of hygiene issue in a restaurant in Europe.
We both like simple places, and I am inclined to believe this issue was an exception, but still it should not happen. It never happened to me when eating at home, so to me there is an issue.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

My first experience with Vietnamese food. And it was great. The staff was helpful with ordering. Loves the curry fish dish. We will continue to return.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylInMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed hanoi also viewed

 
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing