We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed stay”
Review of TOP Hotel Hammer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TOP Hotel Hammer
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2008

Stayed at Mainz for the Christmas Markets, for 4 nights, really liked the hotel & our room but unfortunately we were allocated a smoking room, not the hotel's fault, we hadn't requested non smoking. They couldn't do anything the first night as they were full but did promise to move us for the rest of our stay & kindly gave us an air freshener spray !!! After spraying the room thouroughly, leaving the window open and turning on the air conditioning we decided it was loads better and didn't change rooms as we liked the one we had. The hotel itself is very nice with a good breakfast selection served in a nice room. It is right across the road from the station which is handy and about 10 minutes walk into the old town. The double glazing is very good & the room was really quiet especially as we were opposite the station, bed was comfy too. We ate at several very nice restaurants and found the prices to be very reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieBis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2007

We have just returned from a weekend in Mainz. We stayed at Hammer hotel for one night. It takes 25 minutes from Frankfurt main aiport by train (3.55 euro single trip) to Mainz. The hotel is right outside the Mainz central train staion and it takes about 15 minutes lesuirely walk to the main square area.

Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the train station. The room was clean, spacious and very quiet. We were most impressed with double glazed windows! Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was also clean and spacious.

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet included in the rate was excellent- good selection of cold meat, cheese, breads, cakes,cereal, yogurt, lots of fruits and even chocolates! Probably the best hotel breakfast we've tried in Europe.

On Sunday morning at 8am, a cleaner (we presume so) tried to open our door. I suggest you put 'do not disturb' sign out if you want to sleep in.

Highly recommend Hammer hotel as it provides good value for money and friendly staff make your holiday cheerful.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krnworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

The Hammer hotel is located across from the main train station and bus depot in the centre of Mainz town. Friendly reception, clean rooms, good breakfast buffet, good value for money.
Limited on-street parking available around the corner (metered by weekday & Saturday). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2007

Stayed at this hotel---20 minute drive from Frankfurt.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable.The hotel was in the town square and central to everything,including good eats for good prices.
Staff were very accomodating.

D&SZander

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank samanthaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2006

Just back from a 4 day visit to Mainz in Germany and stayed at the Hammer Hotel, which is situated across from DB Station.
I had booked a number of rooms in September 2006 as initially there were 7 people travelling, during the following weeks extra people joined our trip and finally totalled 10 persons. On every occasion when I phoned or emailed the hotel, the staff were extreamly helpful and nothing a problem and emailed confirmation of each new change. We finally arrived on Friday 1st of December and again extreamly helpful staff members were on hand book us in. Our rooms were comfortable with adjustable air conditioning / heating in each. Windows were well double glazed which was great as ours faced out on to the busy square outside. Breakfast was a buffet sytle and plenty of a lovely continental spread with cheeses meats fruit breads and pastries etc.
The location of this hotel was great, 10 to 15 minutes walk into the shopping area, some nice restaurants just around the corner
Taxi rank and bus to Frankfurt Hahn Airport across the street beside the Train Station.
Rooms were excellent value as breakfast was included and
on booking out on Monday morning, the Hotel retained our luggage until evening when we left Mainz and as you can imagine with 10 ladies that meant a lot of cases and bags

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mezz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2006

We stayed at the Hammer on the 24th and 25th of July 06. It is most certainly one of the best hotels We have stayed at. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was continental but We loved it. The room was perfect with the most comfortable bed. It was also air-conditioned, and as there was a heatwave this was most welcome. It is only a ten minute stroll to the old town and is located across from the train station. The coach from Hahn airport stops right outside the door.

2  Thank Kenjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Louis, Missouri
14
Reviewed 21 May 2006

Our eight-night stay at TOP Hotel Hammer in February 2006 was a delight! We booked on the hotel website, and Ilona was thorough and accommodating in arranging our reservation. Before we arrived, she also assisted us with information on a local soccer match duing our stay as we could not navigate the club's German website. When we arrived, we quickly learned our correspondence with Ilona displayed the hotel's standard of excellence in all guest relations.
The hotel's location is convenient to the train station, restaurants, and Mainz's main attractions. Our room was spacious, immaculate and exceedingly comfortable. What a great base for our week-long exploration of Mainz and the surrounding area! We enjoyed returning after each daytrip to the welcoming atmosphere of our relaxing and pleasant accommodations. The staff suggested local restaurants and assisted with reservations. The hotel bar is cozy and comfortable, a great place for a glass of wine before heading out for the evening.
The buffet breakfast included in our room rate provided choices of exceptional variety and quality. Great care is taken in the preparation of the selections and the buffet is constantly monitored and refreshed. The hotel's staff continues to be focused on their guests' every need in this environment as well.
We were exceeding pleased with our experience at TOP Hotel Hammer, not only because of the value presented by the rates and the well-maintained property, but also the hospitality displayed in every way. We were happy to be their guests, but more importantly, they let us know every day how pleased they were to have us as their guests.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0 mi away
AC Hotel Mainz
AC Hotel Mainz
#12 of 41 in Mainz
24 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
557 reviews
4.3 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel Hammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Hammer

Address: Bahnhofplatz 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mainz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: £83 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TOP Hotel Hammer 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tad more personal…….Located directly in the centre of the city, right across Mainz central station you will find the Hotel Hammer, a classic and yet modern owner-operated, non-smokers hotel. You are planning to visit the 2000-year-old roman city with its countless historical sights? Are you on a business trip in the Rhine-Main metropolitan area or simply seeking a home and retreat while on the road? Hotel Hammer is your first choice.The Frankfurt (Main) Trade Fair can be reached within 20 minutes via urban railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TOP Hotel Hammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Mainz
Mainz Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing