We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I had stayed longer!”
Review of TOP Hotel Hammer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TOP Hotel Hammer
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at the Hammer hotel just to have a light kip, as we had a very early flight in the morning to take and a busy day in London ahead of us.

We chose the Hammer 'cause we had found a good deal and the hotel's position was very convenient, just in front of the railway station and easily reachable by coach and very near to the old town centre - that I had no time to visit, as much as I would have loved to.

The room they gave us was very comfortable, the bed was huge and the bathroom just wonderful, in fact I was impressed from it to be honest; speaking of which, one of the things that stroke me more was the magnifying glass on the bathroom's mirror, in my understanding it is aimed at making shaving and make-up easier and more accurate, what a bright idea!

We had to leave very early so we could not have the full breakfast that was included in the deal, still the porter was so nice and prepared something just for the two of us.

Unfortunately we had so little time to have even a quick look around the hotel, what a pity!

Well, at the very least I had a delicious pretzel and a glass of excellent German beer in the nearby pub, a few yards away from the hotel.

From what I have seen Mainz must be a lovely place indeed, and if I had the possibility to visit it again - and I hope so - this time around staying for a few days at least, I would definitely stay at Hammer hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

First, their elevator is unsafe. It doesn't have the standard safety sensors for while you are still stepping in and closes very quickly. As a result, my 5 year old son was hurt and slammed against a wall and ended up with a very scraped back. The desk staff admitted the elevator closed too quickly and without warning.

Secondly, we were there for a midweek trip. I had the arrival date one day off and arrived a day late. Despite the length of our stay being the same, we were charged 90% of a night's lodging as a PENALTY at the end of our stay. They mentioned nothing about it when we checked in and saved it for our check out, what a lovely way to end our stay there, especially after they witnessed our child being hurt by their unsafe elevator.

Had it been a weekend or peak season and we missed our reservation, I would have understood. However, for a midweek stay with the length being the same, just arriving a day later, I found it quite disappointing. In all of my travel worldwide I've never experienced such poor customer service. Rooms around us were empty as well, so it's not as if they were overbooked.

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nada S, Manager at TOP Hotel Hammer, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

We must degree this assessment, our elevator is serviced annually 2 times and complies with German safety regulations. We were unfortunately not well informed about this incident. With respect to the charged cancellation fees, we want to set the facts right. The guests didn’t arrive at the booked date. On our demand, we were told that they had been mistaken in the date and will arrive one day later.
Upon arrival they were advised that we have to charge 90% for the first night, as we were fully booked and the room could be rent several times. We understand that it is very uncomfortable for the guest if he has to pay no-show charges, however, we ask for correction of the non-truthful assessment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Everything was excellent, the location could not be better, very nice and clean room and bathroom, great breakfast, staff very friendly. I want to especially thank Ilana (hope I remembered her name correctly). I do not have words to explain how helpful and kind and nice she was.
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhdita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Clean, adequately-sized, quiet, recently renovated rooms; great locatiion with well marked directional signs for drivers with parking available and easy walk to old town (don't miss the Chagall windows in St. Stephan 's) ; delicious, bountiful breakfast and helpful, friendly staff. We could not have made a better hotel choice in Mainz!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Very friendly reception staff with excellent language skills. Clean, recently modernised bedroom which was VERY quiet and air conditioned. Good breakfast but be aware there is no restaurant for dinner here - the reception staff will help you choose a local restaurant though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Hotel Hammer sports an excellent location just across from the main railroad station--and thanks to brand-new double thermal pane windows (= 4 sheets of glass!) it is absolutely sound proof. (Don't worry--there is AC for the summer when you don't want to open the window). The rooms have recently been totally renovated; more renovations will begin this July on a lower floor. Breakfast was more than adequate (although I missed a slice of lemon for my tea ...).

The entire staff is very helpful, attentive, solicitous--it was good to interact with all of them.

Overall a most enjoyable stay at a very compatible price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank German_Retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

It has all you need for a short stay. Extremely clean, newly refurbished rooms with interesting style, very good breakfast and 2 mins walk from Mainz HBF. Price positioning in line with quality of European 4-star hotel. For those visiting Frankfurt or travelling through FRA, this can be an excellent overnight choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0 mi away
AC Hotel Mainz
AC Hotel Mainz
#14 of 41 in Mainz
24 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
556 reviews
4.3 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel Hammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Hammer

Address: Bahnhofplatz 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#3 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: £81 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TOP Hotel Hammer 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tad more personal…….Located directly in the centre of the city, right across Mainz central station you will find the Hotel Hammer, a classic and yet modern owner-operated, non-smokers hotel. You are planning to visit the 2000-year-old roman city with its countless historical sights? Are you on a business trip in the Rhine-Main metropolitan area or simply seeking a home and retreat while on the road? Hotel Hammer is your first choice.The Frankfurt (Main) Trade Fair can be reached within 20 minutes via urban railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TOP Hotel Hammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Mainz
Mainz Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing