We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TOP Hotel Hammer
Nearby Hotels
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Mainz(Mainz)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
110
118
13
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
118
13
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfrankfurt airportthe penthousetop floorold townrhine regionshower stalltrams and busesmainz hbfmain stationlocal trainthe hotel websiteperfect locationone night staygood sizeopen the windowstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is the second trip we’ve chosen to stay in Mainz on our last day before flying out of Frankfurt airport. Mainz is only a 30-minute train ride to the airport terminal stop, yet well away from the airport environment.

Since it was our last night in Germany, we decided to splurge on a top-floor premium room at the Hotel Hammer. The room turned out to be just what we hoped for – spacious, full of light, and well-appointed. One wall of the room consisted entirely of floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Mainz train station. After some experimenting with the array of switches on the wall we discovered how to control the outside mechanical venetian-blind-like shades which could be lowered at night, both for light and sound control. (Unfortunately the sound-proofing proved inadequate to completely muffle some disgruntled fans voicing their disapproval of Mainz’ loss at futbol that evening.)

Breakfast at the hotel was more than adequate, with a buffet featuring a wide variety of tasty offerings.

The Hotel Hammer is also situated very near the Besitos tapas restaurant which we had discovered on an earlier trip. We were delighted to find the food there was still just as great.

One notable thing about the hotel is that the elevator goes only up to the 5th floor. You reach the 6th floor by climbing up the final set of stairs. Rather a clumsy manner to reach the “penthouse” rooms.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs, stick to rooms on floors 5 and below.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toucanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

It is right across the street from the train station, there was A/C in the room, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, and the staff was helpful. There were several restaurants around but nothing that really appealed to us so we walked toward the old town and found a nice place about 15 minutes away. The next day we were going to take the K-D line cruise down the Rhine and we could walk to the dock easily - about 20 minutes, and that's taking our time. The only real negative was that the bathroom door opened right near the bed and the bathroom door is frosted glass so using the bathroom in the night with the light on could disturb your sleeping companion if a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loving_midlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

One of the few - if any - hotels that have a/c. Was perfect in the summer since it was quite warm during our visit. Rooms also have stocked mini fridge & full amenities.

Hotel looks out onto the train station, so convenient for traveling, but as a result has a lot of interesting folks around. That said, it's very quiet at night.

Staff are very friendly. Breakfast is 5 euros pp, but we didn't try it. Not much in Mainz, so really wouldn't recommend that city at all. However, if you go, not a bad hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSmythes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at the Hammer hotel just to have a light kip, as we had a very early flight in the morning to take and a busy day in London ahead of us.

We chose the Hammer 'cause we had found a good deal and the hotel's position was very convenient, just in front of the railway station and easily reachable by coach and very near to the old town centre - that I had no time to visit, as much as I would have loved to.

The room they gave us was very comfortable, the bed was huge and the bathroom just wonderful, in fact I was impressed from it to be honest; speaking of which, one of the things that stroke me more was the magnifying glass on the bathroom's mirror, in my understanding it is aimed at making shaving and make-up easier and more accurate, what a bright idea!

We had to leave very early so we could not have the full breakfast that was included in the deal, still the porter was so nice and prepared something just for the two of us.

Unfortunately we had so little time to have even a quick look around the hotel, what a pity!

Well, at the very least I had a delicious pretzel and a glass of excellent German beer in the nearby pub, a few yards away from the hotel.

From what I have seen Mainz must be a lovely place indeed, and if I had the possibility to visit it again - and I hope so - this time around staying for a few days at least, I would definitely stay at Hammer hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

First, their elevator is unsafe. It doesn't have the standard safety sensors for while you are still stepping in and closes very quickly. As a result, my 5 year old son was hurt and slammed against a wall and ended up with a very scraped back. The desk staff admitted the elevator closed too quickly and without warning.

Secondly, we were there for a midweek trip. I had the arrival date one day off and arrived a day late. Despite the length of our stay being the same, we were charged 90% of a night's lodging as a PENALTY at the end of our stay. They mentioned nothing about it when we checked in and saved it for our check out, what a lovely way to end our stay there, especially after they witnessed our child being hurt by their unsafe elevator.

Had it been a weekend or peak season and we missed our reservation, I would have understood. However, for a midweek stay with the length being the same, just arriving a day later, I found it quite disappointing. In all of my travel worldwide I've never experienced such poor customer service. Rooms around us were empty as well, so it's not as if they were overbooked.

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nada S, Manager at TOP Hotel Hammer, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

We must degree this assessment, our elevator is serviced annually 2 times and complies with German safety regulations. We were unfortunately not well informed about this incident. With respect to the charged cancellation fees, we want to set the facts right. The guests didn’t arrive at the booked date. On our demand, we were told that they had been mistaken in the date and will arrive one day later.
Upon arrival they were advised that we have to charge 90% for the first night, as we were fully booked and the room could be rent several times. We understand that it is very uncomfortable for the guest if he has to pay no-show charges, however, we ask for correction of the non-truthful assessment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews