We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel at a reasonable price”
Review of TOP Hotel Hammer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TOP Hotel Hammer
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top class hotel at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We arrived in Mainz late in the evening by train and it was a pleasure to be able to cross the square in front of the railway station and fall straight into this hotel. Check in was fast and efficient and our room was lovely. A decent size, with everything you could need and most importantly with decent double glazing so that street noise was almost eliminated. Breakfast the following day was good and we were able to leave our luggage in their storage facility so that we could explore the city before moving on by train to our next destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaniel11176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    105
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
76
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
308 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here 1 night recently....room was pretty good size for Europe...hotel is modern & clean. Staff was helpful. Breakfast & wifi included in price. Parking was 9 euro overnight at an underground garage a short distance down an adjacent street. The railroad station is across the street so it is very busy in the area. When we arrived there were what appeared to be several homeless people nearby having a confrontation with the police. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the old town center. .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randomMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Nice hotel with a great air con system - nice and cool - large enough rooms with a good bathroom - no toiletries just the squeeze stuff in the shower and hand basin. Pillows are a bit interesting - typical for Europe - big and too soft. HA!

Breakfast was great - nice scrambled eggs, cold meats and fresh baked breads for each morning. You wont be disappointed with breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A stop over on a 16 night euro road trip and this was probably one of the less attractive hotels. I did park up outside to unload but probably shouldn't have. I got directions to parking and the parking ticket also gave us access to all public transport which was a good thing. Location is central but a bit grubby. Winefestival was on at the Rosegarden which reception told us about but they struggled with pointing out the bus stop - we found it eventually and had a lovely walk back from Rosegarden along the river. Hotel reccommended an Italian restaurant by the river which we went to. It was quite nice but they saeemed to lack attention when it came to asking for the bill. Overall room was ok - quiet and at the back with a mundane vista - quite small. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephnLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is closed to the rail station and tram station. From hotel to the Dom or River Rhine, it takes about 15 minutes to walk. However, there is a casino nearby and there are some people drunk along the streets nearby. I may rank the location is ok.

Private cars cannot access to the main door of the hotel. The direction indicated by GPS was blocked. The hotel does not have any garage. We needed to park the car at a car park nearby. It is advisable for you to check with hotel to get the garage direction before you drive to the hotel. I have not done that and that took me a lot of time.

The room is clean and nice. The room is air-conditioned and the sound proof of the hotel is excellent. We stayed at the 1/F and we did not hear any noise from the street and station. Wi-fi is good and stable. The hotel staff are very very helpful. The breakfast is just fair.

As the room rate is not high, the value for money is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwkchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
643 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Through circumstances entirely beyond our control, my wife, son and I recently spent a month at the Hotel Hammer which became a second home to us. To make a long story short, we have stayed at this hotel in the past and we like it very much. So we always return as Frankfurt Airport is our favourite arrival point into Europe. Hotel Hammer is located at Mainz's main transportation hub opposite the central railway station. There are a number of good restaurants nearby, a self-service laundry a couple of blocks away and a Rewe supermarket around the corner. Most of Mainz's buses and trams stop out front. The rooms are tastefully decorated, well maintained and very comfortable. It is modern, spotlessly clean and offers excellent value for money including outstanding breakfasts that cater for all tastes.

However, what makes this hotel exceptionally outstanding is its staff. All of them. They are nothing short of brilliant! Friendly, professional and helpful at all times. Nothing is ever too much for them. We arrived early in May and had planned to spend 5 nights, but on our third day I was taken to hospital for an emergency operation. My wife was on her own in a country whose language she does not speak.

Oliver, Ilona, Inka, Laura, Monique and Fitore looked after her wonderfully. for the 17 days I spent in hospital and for a further 10 days before I was pronounced medically fit to fly back home.

We will never be able to thank them enough for their many caring kindnesses and service to us that was far beyond the call of duty. We recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Bahnhofplatz are very good. The square is very lively but the windows are double glazed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V581ZSdonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is top notch for the closest to the trains.
It was immaculately clean and had a fridge & air conditioning. The beds quite comfy, outstanding breakfast. Helpful staff, very friendly and spoke English well, anticipated our needs before even asking! Our colleagues who stayed at various hotels close by, complained of no air conditioning, no fridge, no fruit at breakfast, rooms that wreaked of smoke. This hotel is an outstanding value for the money. We'd gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: No fitness center or pool, but we didn't care about those features. Also, a very easy walk to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#10 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.4 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel Hammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Hammer

Property: TOP Hotel Hammer
Address: Bahnhofplatz 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mainz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TOP Hotel Hammer 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tad more personal…….Located directly in the centre of the city, right across Mainz central station you will find the Hotel Hammer, a classic and yet modern owner-operated, non-smokers hotel. You are planning to visit the 2000-year-old roman city with its countless historical sights? Are you on a business trip in the Rhine-Main metropolitan area or simply seeking a home and retreat while on the road? Hotel Hammer is your first choice.The Frankfurt (Main) Trade Fair can be reached within 20 minutes via urban railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your TOP Hotel Hammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Mainz
Mainz Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing