We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT LOCATION IN MAINZ!!!!!”
Review of TOP Hotel Hammer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TOP Hotel Hammer
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION IN MAINZ!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 December 2008

While it’s proximity to the train station make the Hotel Hammer a good choice for lodging, it is the hospitality from the front desk team that made our stay so enjoyable. Inka – who works the 2:00PM-10:00PM shift – was especially helpful and hospitable. She made sure to give us directions to all the most important sites in Mainz, as well as offering recommendations for restaurants, bars, and other “must-sees” like the Annual Christmas Festival. Despite it’s location across the street from the Bahnhoff, the Hotel Hammer is within walking distance to everything in Mainz, including the Rhine river, and all the important museums and cathedrals. Old Town is a 6-7 minute walk and has some of the most unique shopping I have ever experienced. Thank you Inka for all your help in making our stay more enjoyable!

  • Liked — Inka
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    106
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
76
26
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We were with another couple and so had two rooms. Overall, very happy with the location ( tops - opposite the station) and the pleasant staff. Ours rooms were small but clean and the sheets and towels were fresh and white. The tv is of the older model. Internet usage was free which I appreciated. Breakfast was good and the breakfast room with the fresh rose on each tables ws delightful.

  • Liked — Location and free internet usage
  • Disliked — Old couch and old tv
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ricc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Convinient location - near train station.

Nice staff - make positive impression and helpful.

Complimentary apples in the loby. :)

Small room.

AC is very, very efficient!

Very efficient curtains - no problems to create complete darkness - if you need that to sleep or process photo papers. :)

Toilet and shower separated.

Breakfast included - rating 6.5/10.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Toilet and shower are in separated rooms.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Big-Bang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2008

I chose this hotel because of its convenient location and good reviews, and was not disappointed. It could hardly be easier to find - right opposite the main railway station in Mainz. The staff were nice, the room was immaculately clean with modern décor and there was no noise at all. Breakfasts were good (continental, with one hot dish - scrambled eggs with bits of bacon). I will certainly stay here again if I return to Mainz.

  • Liked — Convenient location, no noise
  • Disliked — Didn't dislike anything
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aelred2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

The hotel is opposite the main railway stations and bus/tram terminus. It is within an easy 10-15 minute walk of the old town and its restaurants.

Arrived by car at the hotel and with prior advice parked in front in the no-car area. Reception spoke good English and were really helpful about checking in and parking the car at special hotel rates of €9 per 24 hours. We parked in the City Car Park just over the railway and less than 5 minutes walk. The car park ticket gives you unlimited travel on buses and trams.

The room was on the top floor facing the station and was double glazed and air-conditioned. We never heard a noise from outside at all. The bed was comfortable, had individual reading lamps and there was ample space for clothes and things. Everything was clean and well maintained. There were 2 chairs, TV and a large dressing table.

We did peek into other rooms which were smaller, but nonetheless adequate.

Breakfast included hot eggs and bacon as well as the usual German meat cheese and cereal buffet. Things tended to run low and were not replace unless asked for. We noticed that some guests did without some items rather than ask.

At a weekend rate of €89 B&B per night for two we thought this was a very good value hotel for the city centre.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Not keeping breakfast buffet stocked up
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle area
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

I have stayed at the Hotel Hammer several times over many years before returning to the Frankfurt airport for the long flight home. It has been renovated since my first stay in the 1980's, and in addition, the Mainz Hauptbahnhof (train station) has been completely modernized in that time. The hotel rooms, though small, are modern and immaculate. The breakfast buffet is varied and fresh.

By staying here on my last evening before my return to home, I am always able to enjoy a last dinner either in Mainz or in the Middle Rhine before returning by train to the hotel for the night.

It is directly across from the train station, so going to the airport in the AM is simple and convenient.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank linnmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

We stayed at the Top Hotel Hammer for 2 nights in February 2008. We booked directly on their website which appeared to have the same rates available as all the usual suspects. We opted for a superior room, which apparently gives a little more space.

The hotel is very easy to find. From the Frankfurt airport just hop on a train which deposits you at the main train station in Mainz; stepping out the front of the station, the hotel is immediately across the street. And, despite the location, the hotel itself we found was very quiet.

The hotel is kept up very well, clean rooms, a great breakfast spread (including eggs cooked to order upon request) and good coffee. We stayed in room 55, a corner room on the 5th floor, overlooking the train station.

The one slight drawback we had with the place is that the room smelled slightly of sewage. Actually, the smell distinctly came from the bathroom -- we'd leave the bathroom door closed during the night and the smell was very strong upon entering the bath in the morning. Not sure if this is due to the age of the hotel or what...but the smell does dissipate enough to be tolerable with the window open or the aircon on.

The staff were exceedingly friendly, and the Mars bar upon checkout was a very cute touch. They offer free wifi in the lobby area.

There is a small exercise area below the reception, with a small sauna, but it was not working (or we could not figure out how to get it to work) while we were there.

There is a little bar but we didn't have a chance to try it out.

All in all, a good value, and we'd likely stay here again if we ever find ourselves in Mainz.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thebeerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#10 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.4 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel Hammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Hammer

Property: TOP Hotel Hammer
Address: Bahnhofplatz 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mainz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TOP Hotel Hammer 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tad more personal…….Located directly in the centre of the city, right across Mainz central station you will find the Hotel Hammer, a classic and yet modern owner-operated, non-smokers hotel. You are planning to visit the 2000-year-old roman city with its countless historical sights? Are you on a business trip in the Rhine-Main metropolitan area or simply seeking a home and retreat while on the road? Hotel Hammer is your first choice.The Frankfurt (Main) Trade Fair can be reached within 20 minutes via urban railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your TOP Hotel Hammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Mainz
Mainz Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing