We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”
Review of Hilton Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Mainz
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is my fourth or fifth stay in this hotel. I had a problem last time, the room and food were both fine, but the service at the desk was cold at best and rude at the worst. I decided to give the hotel one more try and it has been excellent in every respect during my week long stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trbart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.

Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and increase our standard.
It is a great pleasure for us to see that you were satisfied with our services as well as with the location of Hilton Mainz.

The whole team of our HILTON Mainz will be looking forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.
Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    413
    166
    52
    26
See reviews for
98
263
67
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We are a Hilton honors silver member and this is one of the poorest managed Hiltons in Europe and the U.S. we have ever stayed in. The restaurant waitreses very poorly trained and the food quality extremely poor. We had lunch that took over two hours to order, and pay for check was on a Sunday out on their beautiful patio facing the Rhine river even arrived before it was barely half filled. Our one bedroom Jr. suite had air conditioning problems. Maintence came at 3p.m. said they fixed problem , at 11p.m. when we got back to room was in the high 80's with temp outside that day and evening in the low 90's and very high humidity. Finally my husband went down they brought up two floor fans. He went down and then talked to night auditor for no management to speak to, but girl at desk who had sent the fans up. REALLY The auditor gave us another room now was 1 p.m. after Jim went down to the desk for the second time and asked to move to another room on the same floor. We had a flight out of Frankfurt for Dallas, Texas departing at 10:15a.m. that same morning. VERY BAD, BAD HOTEL AND FRONT DESK worthless in any form of help. Just lazy staff and management. Stay away even if your are a true hilton person.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear User,

thank you very much for your stay in our HILTON Mainz and for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.

Your comments are very important to us as they help us to review and improve our services. We are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction. Please accept our apology for all the inconveniences.

In regard to your comments about our service in the restaurant I can assure you that we discussed this issue with our Service Team to avoid such shortcomings in the future. Did you tell our Service Team about your inconvenience and that you at least had to wait about two hours for your order, because there were no complaints known by our team.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused with the temperature in your room, but it was a really hot day and our condition system was on its power limit. After your complaint about the air condition in your room, our Engineering Staff came up to your room to solve the problem at 3 pm. Then you came at 11 pm to tell us that it is still not working to your satisfaction, so we brought two fans up to your room. At 1 am you came to the reception again for a room change on the same floor, what we also made possible for you. As compensation you got a free breakfast voucher as well as a decree from your restaurant bill.

As a small surprise from our hotel, because of your wedding day, we gave you an upgrade to a Junior Suite, so I feel more than sorry that we could not ensure the expected Standard.

I do hope that your recent experience will not deter you from returning to the Hilton Mainz or any other Hilton hotel and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

If you have any question please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel had a beautiful location right on the river in Mainz. It offered an amazing breakfast buffet in a large room overlooking the river. The rooms were the most spacious rooms I've ever seen for a European hotel. The only downside was that there was no free internet, not even in the hotel lobby. All internet was pay internet. Most Hiltons at least have a free terminal in the lobby or business center. It was an easy walk to the old part of Mainz which was very quaint. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk a long distance to your room, try to get one in the main building. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewjoyce1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear User,

thank you for your stay at the HILTON Mainz and for taking the time to post a comment in TripAdvisor.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the room and our services in general.

Concerning the Internet, we are glad to inform you that Hilton International is currently in the process to change the internet provider and we do hope to deliver a very good quality of the connection with lower price. There will also be a new connectivity station with extra computers and unlimited access. Your comments will be discussed in future plannings.

I do hope that, should you visit Mainz in the future, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the HILTON Mainz.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My husband and I come to Mainz every year to visit family, and we also us it as our base when visiting other countries. it is nice that you can leave extra luggage at the Hilton while you jump on the train and visit a few cities. This year we spend the first 11 days at the Hilton, then traveled for 12 before returning for another week. The rooms are small (I know they have junior suites, but they never seem to be available) but clean, and the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel seems to be geared more toward the business traveler, so it is surprising that they do not seem to have an executive floor or lounge. It would also be nice if free WiFi were included for guest. I do love the location along the river, and the riverfront view rooms are great. It is very relaxing sitting outside with a drink in hand watching the boats o by. This hotel is within walking distance to many good restaurants and shopping. There breakfast buffet is nice, but very expensive. We have also had their evening buffet which is also nice.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TennesseeTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear User,
I would like to thank you for choosing the HILTON Mainz for your stay and for your posting your comments in TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and were satisfied with your room in general, as well as with other services.
The Wireless Internet access is provided by the company SwissCom for all Hilton Hotels in Europe and therefore we are unfortunately not able to offer it on a complimentary base. However, your comment in regard to the Internet will be put on the agenda for future plannings.
We are happy to see that you also enjoyed our breakfast and I do hope that you took the opportunity to taste all the offers we make, like our 8 different warm dishes as well as our fresh fruits and the egg dishes that will be cooked to your desires.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the HILTON Mainz.
If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.
Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I used to stay here years ago and really I don't understand how they could have called it a Hilton BUT now I must say they have done a really really fantastic job on the renovation, rooms are really well done, beds are very comfortable for me, fridge space is small if you want to store some food, Internet is too expensive can go to cafes to get it for free, reception staff and very friendly, and one thing I really notice is housekeeping staff are quiet or the room walls are thick, double glacé windows are a bonus. Great Buffet breakfast and having afternoon or early evening drinks by the river and watching the people go by is very relaxing, kind you this is during the summer time which I recommend or if you want to come in the winter to see the Christmas markets you won't be disapointed..

Room Tip: Try getting the rooms facing the Rhine River, Avoid rooms facing the busy road, not noisy thou becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear User,

thank you very much for your review. It'is a great to read that you like our new renovated rooms and Hotel.

Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and increase our standard.

Regarding the internet, I would like to inform you, that we are in the process of negotiations with a new internet provider and hope that we can offer less internet prices.

We will be looking forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.

Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Having just booked out this morning we found Clia at reception incredibly helpful , even walking us out to the taxi to make sure that the driver took us to the right terminal at the airport. As the taxi drove off she chased it in high heels clutching my husbands wallet - you could not ask for more than that
!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Yasmine,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.

I have forwarded your review to Cilia and we're proud that our team member so helpful. This is how it should be. She was very pleased about your kind words.

Whilst hoping you had a save trip back home we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.
Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Drove to Mainz from Frankfurt airport early am and was able to check in upon arrival. Our room was not exactly as booked but they were excellent rooms on the side across the above road walkway. Very easy to access and enjoyable stroll to the breakfast and lobby. Overnight parking was a little pricey as it was $21 euro and it is not multiple in and out access for that price. The breakfast was the highlight of the hotel, lots of hot muffins and bread, several hot dishes, fresh ripe fruits, meats and juices. The table service was prompt and friendly and with a view to the river a pleasant place to eat. It was unfortunately way too cold and rainy to eat out on the patio but looked to be lovely if the weather would permit. Highly recommend staying at the Hilton on the Rhine you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: The rooms on the other side of the street from the lobby are modern and clean very large for europea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4vrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much that you took the time to give us your review on Tripadvisor.com

It is great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We're thankful that you enjoyed the room and our large variarty on our breakfast buffet. Your review helps us to maintain and extend our services and our motivation go the next steps.

We're looking forward to host you again with us at the Hilton Mainz
If you have any question in the meantime I will be more than happy to assist you.
Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#4 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
5.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz

Property: Hilton Mainz
Address: Rheinstr. 68, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#4 Business Hotel in Mainz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing