We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel which exceed expectation”
Review of Hilton Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Mainz
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Location and access:
Not sure as I drove there. There is an underground carpark and it costs 20 EUR.

Check in/out:
No queue as I checked in around 1am. Both check in and out were fast and smooth.

Room:
Better than I expected, given the inexpensive rate. And the room is facing the river. I enjoyed watching the nice view in the early morning. The welcoming snacks package was the most impressive one I've ever seen. They even provided a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy_JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and most certainly the opportunity given to review.

It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. We are very pleased that you were impressed with our welcome present, especially the bottle of wine. I will make sure to pass your kind words to the entire team.

Kind Regards from Mainz,


Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

To expensive and not enough value for the location. Our room had someone else's food in the fridge. The bed was ok, but the sheets weren't great. Parking was 22 euros and the internet was 20 euros, that is after I spent 160 euros on the room. I will try another location before I ever come back to this property.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this feedback on your recent stay with us via Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered.

We will share your comments with our team as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may show you the complete quality stay you deserve.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
(pp. Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a nice room with a river view over Rhein, the room was clean but you can tell that it's starting to get old. The bed was great and they had a nice choice of TV channels although we didn't have time for that :-)
What i didn't like about the hotel was that for some reason quite many hotels in Germany doesn't give free wii-fi to their guests and i'm not willing to pay around 25-30€ for 24h of internet and then another 29€ for breakfast since i'm quite small in breakfast, so we skipped that and had breakfast outside instead.
Overall we had a nice room to sleep in, which was exatcly what we were looking for and the distance to the city center was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindtrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Mainz during your recent trip and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and other guests through your entry on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Mainz and especially liked our guest room. Your positive feedback and your appreciation of our service and facilities is a great motivation for the entire team. Thank you very much!

We are pleased to say that Wifi is free in the lobby, and there is a connectivity station available for the use of all guests.

We look forward to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Mainz.

Kind regards to Stockholm,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Rude and Elitist attitude from the from desk staff at the Mainz Hilton. My elderly, mother booked a room to this hotel to visit me in Germany, She has limited english, but she is fluent in Spanish and French, It is certainly not the first time she travels and she has seen the world. But it certainly the first time she got treated with so little respect and in such an insolent way by hotel staff.

The hotel staff didnt make any efforts try to understand her and to help her with her stay, even when she was facing many issues with the room. Iam saddened to say that the staff at this hotel, made clear that my elderly mother was not worth the extra effort to go above and beyond. They made her feel insignificant. I strongly discourage foreign travellers that do not posses fluency in English or German to stay at the Hilton Mainz.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SSSS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and most certainly the opportunity given to review.

Your feedback is much appreciated and I am sorry to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay.

Your entire satisfaction is exactly what we are working for and our main aim is to offer an excellent but also individual service to our guests. Therefore I am very sorry that you did not experience our passionate friendliness from all our team members. I can absolutely understand that this is not the way in which you would like to start your vacation. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
(pp. Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

stayed for two nights .... room facing the road .... twin room ... beds comfortable .... bathroom nd toiletries nice ,,, tv has lots of english channels and lots of other languages .... breakfast buffet pretty good .... no fresh egg counter but still lots of variety .... river facing restaurant ... nothing exotic but nice.... free wifi in the lobby and 2 computers with internet on 1st floor.
for a conference at the mainz conf centre , right next door very convenient , all shopping and central mainz just opposite and walkin distance ,
walkable from mainz romisch theatre station and hauptbahnoff , bus 71 to romisch theatre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitreoretina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimenting review on Trip Advisor! It is of utmost importance to constantly hear and monitor our guest's feedback in order to further improve our standard. Reading through experiences like yours is always a great motivation. Thank you.

We look forward to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Mainz.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
(pp. Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Located along the Rhein river this Hilton offers access to walking, shopping, sightseeing, transportation, boat trips, the most historic spots in the City. We stay there at least once a year for the annual Fastnacht (Mardi Gras) days around the big "Rosen Montag Zug" parade. We have somewhat of a love/frustration relationship with the hotel. The love is the location, the view of the Rhein (ask for it when selecting a room), good sized rooms and being able to walk everywhere. The frustration comes with the heating system always being screwed up. The head of engineering is a very nice gentleman and he recognized us after about 6 years. He usually get's the problem fixed. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable. The bath tubs could use re caulking or a good scrubbing. AND YES, we will stay here again to see the nice man from maintenance or what mood the breakfast buffet manager is in. Love the picturesque view of the river and the active ship traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that we had the pleasure of having you with us another time and that you felt comfortable in our hotel.

We truly appreciate your comments, especially those referring to the friendliness and efficiency of our head of engineering, which I will happily share with him.

The team of the Hilton Mainz and myself do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel or any other Hilton Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
(pp. Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It is an old building, and old rooms too, placed beside the Rhin. Breakfast is not noticeable.
But It is unacceptable how a five stars hotel charges 100 euros as a reserve just in case... and if they do it so, would be fine to know it by the hotel staff in advance.
And of course... 20 euros per day for using the internet at your room in a 5 stars may sound ludicrous... Wifi is now offered for free in almost all serious hotels and if i have to pay it in adittion for sure neither will come back nor will recommend it...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Hilton Mainz. Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly improve our level of service.

However, it is unfortunate and we deeply regret that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Please rest assured that we didn’t charge your credit card. This was only an authorisation when you checked in for any additional charges. Concerning our policy, the authorisation includes 50 EUR per day for extra costs, e.g. parking.

In regard to the internet prices I would like to inform you that we are currently in negotiations with our internet provider to offer a lower price in our guest rooms. Until then we hope that our offer of free internet in the lobby and meetings area provides an acceptable alternative.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
(pp. Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
721 reviews
0.8 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
326 reviews
5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz

Address: Rheinstr. 68, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#4 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: £86 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing