We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Mainz
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,210)
Filter reviews
1,210 results
Traveller rating
432
477
201
64
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
477
201
64
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverold townmain buildingper daya river view roomfree wifinice locationbreakfast buffetbusiness centershort walkgutenberg museumfitness centereasy accessfrankfurt airportnice roomchristmas marketroom rate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 1,210 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had to laugh when I looked at some of the photos of the property posted by the hotel and other travelers. They all show the river in the back and none show the front exterior which looks more like a run down jail than a hotel. Most people don't get the nice river view in the photos. Our view was of an ugly alley and a next door building. River views cost more and are not included with standard room rates.

Came here as part of a tour group (Gate 1) and this was the first hotel we stayed at. While the lobby was nice and updated and so were the rooms my biggest problem was with their AC system in the rooms. We did not sleep because the room was so hot and stuffy. We tried to open the window but it only opens a small crack at the top which allows absolutely no air in. We had the AC on full blast and barely a hint of room temperature air could be felt leaving the vent.

The second day I asked the front desk to send up a fan and they told me they were all being used and they had none for me but would send up a tech to check the air. Obviously, if they are all being used we weren't the only ones complaining about how hot the rooms are. Even after the tech came the room was never cooler than 79-80 degrees which is way too hot to sleep in. To add insult to injury the bed did not have a standard thin sheet and comforter, it only had the thick comforter which meant you either covered yourself and suffocated or had no cover at all. I pay for a hotel to be comfortable and get a good nights rest. We got neither here and could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loves2travel726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us via Tripadvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered. We will share your comments with our team as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may show you the complete quality stay you deserve.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

On a May 2014 tour of Germany, Switzerland and Austria the Hilton Mainz Germany was #1 out of 6 motel stays on this tour. It is a great location right on the Rhine but location was only the start as accommodations, food and in particular service throughout were beyond reproach. I would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com. ! It is great to read that we were able to exceed your expectations. Sharing your friendly remarks with my team was absolutely a highlight.

Dear guests, hopefully you will visit the most beautiful city of Rhineland-Palatinate again.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on business for quite some time. The service is always wonderful but the rooms are occasionally disappointing. The WIFI is unpredictable and usually poor. I've then used the wired internet which is usually a bit better. The HVAC is also a little sketchy. The AC works in some rooms but not others. Also when used and you happen to be in a room next to a smoker (even though smoking is supposedly not allowed) it comes through the vent. The bed is a bit hard but works. The hotel breakfast buffet needs to change up a bit. Having stayed here for close to 100 nights, the breakfast buffet offers the same fare every day and gets a bit old. The location/close proximity to the Mainz Alt Stadt is very nice. Overall though, it works as a place to stay on business.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and most certainly the opportunity given to review.

However, it is unfortunate and we deeply regret that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction. Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly improve our level of service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

stayed there for 3 days in FEB 14 for business and it was perfect host. as its strategic located on Rhine and walkable to market square gives a very relaxing feel. great connectivity to DB is also added attraction from Frankfurt.

Room Tip: check the one facing the river
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hilton Mainz that much.
Also, we would like to thank you for being our guest and for your time to share your great feedback with us and other travellers through Tripadvisor.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed in May and the hotel has a very good location. It is within walking distance the major attractions and shopping area. At the back is a very good view of the River and a cruise station is a few meters away. Very good breakfast and dinner buffet selections.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hilton Mainz as your preferred choice of accommodation during your recent visit to the city and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback with us and other guests through tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to read through your review. Your appreciation of our service and facilities is a great motivation to the entire team. We are very thankful for your perfect rating.
We look forward to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews