We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Hotel not up to snuff”
Review of Hilton Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Mainz
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hilton Hotel not up to snuff”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are currently staying at this Hilton, enroute another work assignment in Italy, after one year living in the area. Accordingly, we had many suitcases, clothes on hangers, boxes, etc. Unfortunately there was no bellman to assist when we checked in on Sunday. We were told to wait 10-15 minutes if we wanted to use that service. So we loaded the cart ourselves and checked in. Reception service was standard. Room is on the river with a pleasant view. Furnishings and beddings are standard but the towels in the bathroom are stained, time to throw them out! The lounge chair in the room is very uncomfortable with a extremely hard seat and back cushions. Plenty of closet space. Only instant coffee available in the room, although more expensive rooms do have nespresso machines. The air conditioning is weak and the room is a bit stuffy at night. We had a maintenance tech check it with no improvement noted. The hallway rug was shampooed during the day but there was no ventilation and the chemical/cleaner smell was overpowering. I opened a door to the stairwell to get some air and the covert smoking location was discovered, ugh!! So I had a choice of enjoying cigarette smoke or rug cleaner. This is not up to the Hilton standard. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: River side is preferred, not sure if the air conditioning performance improves with a different floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stays with us via Tripadvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered. We will share your comments with our team as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience.
We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may show you the complete quality stay you deserve.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    419
    171
    55
    27
See reviews for
100
269
68
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middle England
Level Contributor
222 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here again whilst working in the area. I've been several times, so knew what to expect. The drop off area is poorly designed, and often blocked by coaches ferrying cabin crew back and forth.

Friendly staff at check in, and they all speak very good English. My room this time was on the river side of the road - and although I specified a room away from the lift, my room was the first on the corridor. I couldnt hear anything, so figured it would do.

Nice room, king size bed, bathroom a little tired. Minibar had room for my water; tea and coffee making bits, though no decaf coffee. Housekeeping was good though, they managed to replace towels and face flannels every day.

Some noise from the road outside during the rush hour, probably not so bad on the river side.

Breakfast is expensive at 20 Euro - wouldnt want to do that everyday. I know Mainz, so colleagues and I ate out every night, so cant comment on the restaraunt.

Wifi isn't free either - expect to see lots of people loitering in reception using the free wifi there.

Room Tip: High floor, facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read through your review. However we are very sorry that you do not agree with our price/performance ratio regarding our breakfast.

We always strive to improve our level of service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated and we will consider your remarks for our future concepts.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A very tired hotel and not worthy of Hilton name. Rooms are tired and need renovating as do the staff who manage to be non-existent. Staff at check-in were not helpful and we had to take our luggage to room with no offer of help. The location is good as it is close to the old town but dont bother asking staff for directions, the only helpful person at the hotel is the concierge. Would not bother staying her again

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stays with us via Tripadvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered with our Front Desk Team.

Please rest assured that this is not our standard and corrective actions have been taken with our Team in order to guarantee the expected Hilton standard and quality.

Although we did not completely meet your expectations this time, it would be a big pleasure for the whole team of welcoming you back to our hotel or any other Hilton Hotel in the future

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We wanted a hotel that was on the Rhein and a central location to venture out from. This hotel fit the bill. Mainz is a lovely town, with the old city within walking distance. The front desk was helpful and pleasant, and the morning breakfast buffet had plenty of variety. The rooms were comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hilton Mainz as your preferred choice of accommodation during your recent visit to the city and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback with us and other guests through tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to read through your review. Your appreciation of our service and facilities is a great motivation to the entire team. We are very thankful for your perfect rating.
We look forward to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Mainz.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Love this hotel!! The staff at the front desk are very warm and welcoming. The bar and restaurant overlook the Rhine and the service and food is excellent! Very close to shopping and museums. Rooms are modern, very clean and the beds are incredibly comfortable!! Please come and enjoy your stay in Mainz!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ch C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hilton Mainz as your preferred choice of accommodation during your recent visit to the city and thank you for taking time to share your great feedback with us and other guests through Tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to read through your review. Your appreciation of our service and facilities is a great motivation to the entire team. We are very thankful for your perfect rating.

We look forward to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Mainz.

Kind Regards from Mainz,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very nice location on the bank of the rhein newly upgraded rooms are nice and are of a good size rooms on first floor maybe a bit noisy at times.. Staff is very helpful and friendly ..good breakfast easy access to mainz city and good place for a holiday stay or even work travel

Room Tip: Book above first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimenting review on Trip Advisor! It is great to read that we were able to exceed your expectations. Sharing your friendly remarks with my team was absolutely a highlight.

Whilst hoping you had a save trip back home we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is always a stop in my holiday. A safe parking under the hotel. The rooms are renovated and have nice view at the Rhein. At the terrasse it is nice to sitedown and with nice weather you can have a diner as well. Nice all in buffet. Love it there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorrijdster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for recommending the Hilton Mainz to other travellers on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us that much.

We look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#4 of 41 in Mainz
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
703 reviews
5.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz

Property: Hilton Mainz
Address: Rheinstr. 68, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#4 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing