We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Mainz
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$103
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,228)
Filter reviews
1,229 results
Traveller rating
440
485
203
65
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
485
203
65
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverold townmain buildingper daya river view roomfree wifinice locationbreakfast buffetbusiness centershort walkgutenberg museumfitness centereasy accessfrankfurt airportnice roomchristmas marketroom rate
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 1,229 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are currently staying at this Hilton, enroute another work assignment in Italy, after one year living in the area. Accordingly, we had many suitcases, clothes on hangers, boxes, etc. Unfortunately there was no bellman to assist when we checked in on Sunday. We were told to wait 10-15 minutes if we wanted to use that service. So we loaded the cart ourselves and checked in. Reception service was standard. Room is on the river with a pleasant view. Furnishings and beddings are standard but the towels in the bathroom are stained, time to throw them out! The lounge chair in the room is very uncomfortable with a extremely hard seat and back cushions. Plenty of closet space. Only instant coffee available in the room, although more expensive rooms do have nespresso machines. The air conditioning is weak and the room is a bit stuffy at night. We had a maintenance tech check it with no improvement noted. The hallway rug was shampooed during the day but there was no ventilation and the chemical/cleaner smell was overpowering. I opened a door to the stairwell to get some air and the covert smoking location was discovered, ugh!! So I had a choice of enjoying cigarette smoke or rug cleaner. This is not up to the Hilton standard. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: River side is preferred, not sure if the air conditioning performance improves with a different floor. Ours was on the 5th.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stays with us via Tripadvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered. We will share your comments with our team as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience.
We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may show you the complete quality stay you deserve.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here again whilst working in the area. I've been several times, so knew what to expect. The drop off area is poorly designed, and often blocked by coaches ferrying cabin crew back and forth.

Friendly staff at check in, and they all speak very good English. My room this time was on the river side of the road - and although I specified a room away from the lift, my room was the first on the corridor. I couldnt hear anything, so figured it would do.

Nice room, king size bed, bathroom a little tired. Minibar had room for my water; tea and coffee making bits, though no decaf coffee. Housekeeping was good though, they managed to replace towels and face flannels every day.

Some noise from the road outside during the rush hour, probably not so bad on the river side.

Breakfast is expensive at 20 Euro - wouldnt want to do that everyday. I know Mainz, so colleagues and I ate out every night, so cant comment on the restaraunt.

Wifi isn't free either - expect to see lots of people loitering in reception using the free wifi there.

Room Tip: High floor, facing the river
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read through your review. However we are very sorry that you do not agree with our price/performance ratio regarding our breakfast.

We always strive to improve our level of service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated and we will consider your remarks for our future concepts.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A very tired hotel and not worthy of Hilton name. Rooms are tired and need renovating as do the staff who manage to be non-existent. Staff at check-in were not helpful and we had to take our luggage to room with no offer of help. The location is good as it is close to the old town but dont bother asking staff for directions, the only helpful person at the hotel is the concierge. Would not bother staying her again

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stays with us via Tripadvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered with our Front Desk Team.

Please rest assured that this is not our standard and corrective actions have been taken with our Team in order to guarantee the expected Hilton standard and quality.

Although we did not completely meet your expectations this time, it would be a big pleasure for the whole team of welcoming you back to our hotel or any other Hilton Hotel in the future

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We wanted a hotel that was on the Rhein and a central location to venture out from. This hotel fit the bill. Mainz is a lovely town, with the old city within walking distance. The front desk was helpful and pleasant, and the morning breakfast buffet had plenty of variety. The rooms were comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hilton Mainz as your preferred choice of accommodation during your recent visit to the city and thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback with us and other guests through tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to read through your review. Your appreciation of our service and facilities is a great motivation to the entire team. We are very thankful for your perfect rating.
We look forward to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Mainz.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Love this hotel!! The staff at the front desk are very warm and welcoming. The bar and restaurant overlook the Rhine and the service and food is excellent! Very close to shopping and museums. Rooms are modern, very clean and the beds are incredibly comfortable!! Please come and enjoy your stay in Mainz!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ch C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hilton Mainz as your preferred choice of accommodation during your recent visit to the city and thank you for taking time to share your great feedback with us and other guests through Tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to read through your review. Your appreciation of our service and facilities is a great motivation to the entire team. We are very thankful for your perfect rating.

We look forward to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Mainz.

Kind Regards from Mainz,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews