We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff but hotel location is good.”
Review of Hilton Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Mainz
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Front office staff were unfriendly. Only 2 restaurant staff are friendly, the rest of them won't even look at you. The location is good though. The buffet breakfast is the same each and everyday so if you are in the hotel for 6 days (like my husband) who is there for business, you will see the same exact food everyday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and most certainly the opportunity given to review.

Your entire satisfaction is exactly what we are working for and our main aim is to offer an excellent but also individual service to our guests. Therefore I am very sorry that you did not experience our passionate friendliness from all our team members.

We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may show you the complete quality stay you deserve.
Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent I also found the staff to be very knowledgable and pleasant. My stay here is always very comfortable and feel like a home away from home. Even though I stay here on business I would definetly stay on vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hilton Mainz as your preferred choice of accommodation during your recent visit to the city and thank you for taking time to share your great feedback with us and other guests through tripadvisor.

It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Especially after a long journey and short layover like yours it is important to feel comfortable and to be able to relax and rejuvenate. I am happy that your stay provided this atmosphere.

We are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel again.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

There is no question in our minds: the Hilton Mainz (river) has the most amazing breakfast we have ever eaten. The selection is unparalleled and the view on the patio of the river is very charming.
Our experience with the rooms has been mixed. Two years ago, when we stayed here, we had a wonderful time enjoying the comfortable beds and the air-conditioned rooms. This time around, we had a bit more trouble. I didn't find the bathroom to be exceptionally clean (the shower seemed a bit grimy), but the room was comfortable. All in all, I would have to rate the hotel as average not because it is bad hotel but because I expected it to be better for the price.

Room Tip: Views of the river are beautiful but rooms facing the river are more expensive (meaning you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelSimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that we had the pleasure of having you with us already for the second time.

However we are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction. We always strive to improve our service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated.

Hopefully we will have another chance to welcome you at our hotel.
Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

not a very clean place, the staff is very unreceptive very rude, and not very accommodating.. the manager is especially nasty.. and i wait for a clean room for 2 hours.. not offering apology, amenties, breakfast,.. nothing

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 303jeffreyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Hilton Mainz.

Receiving feedback from our guests is one of the highest priorities as it allows us to constantly improve our level of service. It is regrettable to read that you were dissatisfied.
Please rest assured that this is not our standard and corrective actions have been taken Team in order to guarantee the expected Hilton standard and quality.

Dear Guest, thank you again for posting this great review on Tripadvisor.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are currently staying at this Hilton, enroute another work assignment in Italy, after one year living in the area. Accordingly, we had many suitcases, clothes on hangers, boxes, etc. Unfortunately there was no bellman to assist when we checked in on Sunday. We were told to wait 10-15 minutes if we wanted to use that service. So we loaded the cart ourselves and checked in. Reception service was standard. Room is on the river with a pleasant view. Furnishings and beddings are standard but the towels in the bathroom are stained, time to throw them out! The lounge chair in the room is very uncomfortable with a extremely hard seat and back cushions. Plenty of closet space. Only instant coffee available in the room, although more expensive rooms do have nespresso machines. The air conditioning is weak and the room is a bit stuffy at night. We had a maintenance tech check it with no improvement noted. The hallway rug was shampooed during the day but there was no ventilation and the chemical/cleaner smell was overpowering. I opened a door to the stairwell to get some air and the covert smoking location was discovered, ugh!! So I had a choice of enjoying cigarette smoke or rug cleaner. This is not up to the Hilton standard. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: River side is preferred, not sure if the air conditioning performance improves with a different floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stays with us via Tripadvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered. We will share your comments with our team as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience.
We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may show you the complete quality stay you deserve.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here again whilst working in the area. I've been several times, so knew what to expect. The drop off area is poorly designed, and often blocked by coaches ferrying cabin crew back and forth.

Friendly staff at check in, and they all speak very good English. My room this time was on the river side of the road - and although I specified a room away from the lift, my room was the first on the corridor. I couldnt hear anything, so figured it would do.

Nice room, king size bed, bathroom a little tired. Minibar had room for my water; tea and coffee making bits, though no decaf coffee. Housekeeping was good though, they managed to replace towels and face flannels every day.

Some noise from the road outside during the rush hour, probably not so bad on the river side.

Breakfast is expensive at 20 Euro - wouldnt want to do that everyday. I know Mainz, so colleagues and I ate out every night, so cant comment on the restaraunt.

Wifi isn't free either - expect to see lots of people loitering in reception using the free wifi there.

Room Tip: High floor, facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read through your review. However we are very sorry that you do not agree with our price/performance ratio regarding our breakfast.

We always strive to improve our level of service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated and we will consider your remarks for our future concepts.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A very tired hotel and not worthy of Hilton name. Rooms are tired and need renovating as do the staff who manage to be non-existent. Staff at check-in were not helpful and we had to take our luggage to room with no offer of help. The location is good as it is close to the old town but dont bother asking staff for directions, the only helpful person at the hotel is the concierge. Would not bother staying her again

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzundCity, Geschäftsführer at Hilton Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stays with us via Tripadvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered with our Front Desk Team.

Please rest assured that this is not our standard and corrective actions have been taken with our Team in order to guarantee the expected Hilton standard and quality.

Although we did not completely meet your expectations this time, it would be a big pleasure for the whole team of welcoming you back to our hotel or any other Hilton Hotel in the future

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Kipper
p.p. (Roland Rößler)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#8 of 41 in Mainz
738 reviews
5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz

Address: Rheinstr. 68, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#4 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: £82 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing