We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hilton Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Mainz City
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Gourock, Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Hilton Mainz City. We managed to book when a special offer was on making our stay even more attractive. We have stayed at this hotel in the past and have always found the staff to be helpful and courteous. The hotel is within easy walking distance from the centre of Mainz and all transport facilities. I cannot comment on dinner at the hotel but if it is up to the breakfast standards it should be good. A good hotel in a good location. We will return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for recommending the Hilton Mainz to other travellers on Tripadvisor.
It was a pleasure to read your most kind feedback. Thank you very much for your words. Sharing your friendly remarks with my team was absolutely a highlight.

I hope to have you back with us soon!

With kind regards

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    232
    80
    21
    6
See reviews for
65
142
54
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Perfect location for exploring Mainz or driving through the Rheinhessen and Rheingau wine regions.

First room we were given smelled badly of mildew (as if it had been flooded). A quick call down to the front desk and we were given a better room. Bed was excellent (despite the German preference for tiny, single-person duvets). Sleep quality was good. Bathroom was clean and fully functional.

Fitness center is laughable. Only one bike, and a universal weight machine. Luckily, the river is a perfect run distance away.

Charges for parking and wifi are stupidly high for such a small city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvr1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through Tripadvisor.

However we are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction. We always strive to improve our service and therefore your comments are very much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Mainz within walking distance to the railway station, close to restaurants and main sights and the tram is nearby. Room and bathroom were clean and spacious. Breakfast offered a good variety. Perfectly OK for a quick business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback on Tripadvisor.

Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Spent one night at the Hilton Mainz City. It is a nice enough hotel tucked away on a quiet secluded street. It was a little confusing to find from the train station but I didn't mind the walk. I think there were only four people working in the hotel the whole time I was there. It was strange. They were pleasant and helpful but you definitely spent time trying to find someone. The breakfast was fine but the food trays were pretty empty when I went to breakfast at 9:30am. They were refilled while I was there. I was upgraded to a suite which was nice in appearance but I didn't like the spartan bed with just a duvet. I expected real sheets like other Hilton hotels. The bathroom was very nice with a large tub. They also provided free chocolates and a bottle of wine but I guess I actually paid for those. I would stay there again now that I know how to get there but I was told afterwards that the other Hilton has nicer views of the Rhine. Live and learn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with us and other travellers through tripadvisor.com.

We are very sorry that not all of our facilities have been to your fullest satisfaction and I want to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your past stay. The situation you described is not our standard and following the feedback given we will investigate furthermore with the concerned departments as it is our highest priority to provide the best services to our valued guests.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your remarks will help us to improve our level of service.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.
With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I just returned from a 12 night stay at the Hilton Mainz City. Arrived from US with plenty of luggage and after check in, there was no offer of assistance to take our luggage to our rooms. We had to carry our suitcases. The front desk was not rude, but did not seem to care either way.
One of the shift managers seemed to be busy talking on his handy most of the time.

Rooms were quiet, worn but clean.
Housekeeping was very friendly and they did an excellent job.

This hotel is a Best Western with the Hilton name.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puhpuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and most certainly the opportunity given to review.

It is unfortunate and we deeply regret that we were not able to have you completely satisfied. Please rest assured that your feedback will be communicated with the respective department accordingly for future service enhancements.

Dear guest, although we did not entirely meet your expectations this time it would be a big pleasure for the whole team to convince you at future stays and we look forward to host you once again at the Hilton Mainz City.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years and always have enjoyed it. Mainz is a 25 minute s-bahn ride to FRA (Frankfurt International Airport). This hotel is an easy walk from the train station and also a short walk to Mainz old town. We always stop here the first and last night of our trips to Germany which is 2-3 times a year and still love Mainz and The Mainz City Hilton. We have tryed staying at the Hilton at the airport (FRA) and it is a great hotel, however you are at the airport. The Mainz City Hilton is perfectly located to enjoy the wonderful old town of Mainz which is full of wonderful restaurants and interesting sites. We will stay at least two more time this year for Xmas Market (Mainz Xmas Market is a good one)

Room Tip: We have stayed in at least 25 different rooms over the years, all were fine. They have good weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us; it is an absolute pleasure to learn that we were able to live up to the expectations of your holiday.

Your recommendation is much appreciated and we look forward to the week your travel plans will bring you back to Mainz.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We just finished our first stop in Germany and WOW, this hotel really took care of us! During check in, we found the room to be too small as well as the beds. The front desk quickly found us a new room with no issues! Our room was clean and fresh and so was the fruit that was unexpectedly delivered to our room, Thanks! Breakfast was outstanding and so was the Staff! Very courteous and eager to please, Thanks again! The front desk staff was very helpful for giving accurate directions and ideas for things to do! Very nice! The hotel is in a great location for any activity in the city center! Easy to find!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PW7382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, General Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimenting review on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you had an amazing stay with us on your recent visit and delighted to learn that you were pleased with the overall stay. Sharing your friendly remarks with my team was absolutely a highlight.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service should your upcoming travel plans bring you to Mainz.

With kind regards,

Aurelia Fleck
p.p. (Roland Rößler)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.2 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#4 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz City

Property: Hilton Mainz City
Address: Muensterstr. 11, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#5 Business Hotel in Mainz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz City 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz City Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing