We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Hilton Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Mainz City
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 17 July 2009

The staff are top notch. I originally had a reservation at the other Hilton in Mainz, but was able to transfer the booking over to Mainz City without too much fuss. Check-in was smooth and I was upgraded to a larger room. The room itself was fairly ordinary, but the attentiveness of the staff made up for it.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Dated design
  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kmrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    237
    82
    21
    6
See reviews for
65
145
54
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
245 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 713 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

US: We booked this hotel in January when the economy was in the pits for 69.5 EURO per night including breakfast. We are Hilton Gold members.

Good
- Supposedly received upgrade to executive room, but it wasn't particularly special except for maybe being a little larger (keep in mind, all Hilton rooms are bigger than normal European). Welcome gift of some fruit and bottled water in the room for us.
- English was a little less solid here, but the front desk staff was very friendly to check us in and orient us with the city.
- Typical in-room coffee machine. Standard regular style TV.
- VERY helpful front desk staff in the morning for check-out. I had left something at another Hilton, and the person there contacted them for me, arranged the shipment, and handled everything with a very helpful "can-do" attitude.
- Hotel was quiet (rooms and location).

BAD
- No ice bucket.
- Bed was particularly hard, we both were a little stiff the next day.
- Carpet looking a little dated and room not particularly trendy or updated.
- Breakfast buffet was the smallest and least populated of all the Hiltons we visited in Europe. Staff not particularly attentive compared to normal.
- Location is near the old city center, but a good 10 minute walk from both the train and the river, which is kind of inconvenient.

OVERALL - while there were really no complaints or anything glaringly negative about this hotel, we weren't wowed by the facilities or anything but the one front desk staff. We would probably stay at the Hilton on the river next time to try that one.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Stayed here for a couple of nights near the end of june and could not fault the hotel. Booked it direct through Hilton website for a great price in their sale. Hotel is typical of Hilton chain with good comfy beds, In a good standard very clean room and a nice bathroom. The walk from the train station will take you 10 mins if you know the way ( tricky to find at first ) . The hotel is then only 2 minutes walk to the main shopping and eating places, a further 10 minutes will take you to the river. Breakfast at the hotel was very good and the staff very friendly, no problems at all. If I go back to Mainz again would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjwkdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Decided to extend a business trip to Franfurt, with a weekend break in Mainz. SInce Hilton, at the time, was offering a special half price rate we booked it. The hotel is located on a quiet street, close to the rial station and the old town sights.

Our room was 'average Hilton', all that you expect, but nothing special. I was surprised that a hotel, where a fair amount of English speaking business people was staying only had one English TV station.

While most of the staff was very helpful, be warned that the Sunday breakfast staff are far from helpful. Our breakfast on Saturday was nothing special, a nice buffet, with a reasonable selection of fresh fruit, cheeses and meats. What we di dnot realised that on Sundays, it is popular with local residents, for brunch. When we went to sit down, one of the servers informer us that most of the tables had been reserved by 'outside, paying diners' were her words. I guess she thinks that the hotel gives their rooms out for free.

We were shown to the guest area, which was full. Rather than waiting we sat on another area, at a table which did not say 'Reserved'. There was several other people sitting around, so the section was not closed. We were then told we had to move, even though there was not available tables, where thye wanted us to sit. After several remarks in German about us, we were allowed to stay at the table. But, the two servers then ignored us, we basically had to stand in front of them, to get coffee, which was cold and had grains in it. Our omelettes were burnt and cold, when served. It is not as if they were overly busy, since they spent most of their time chatting to the German speaking diners.

Is that 4-star service? No way. Also, their comments in German about us was very rude and they both basically agreed to ignore us. They made of mistake of thinking that all Americans do not speak German.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

I made reservations for this hotel and tried to cancel them and the date I need to cancel by was before I made the reservations. They charged me the no show fee...this is a ripoff...beware of devious and unscrupulous tactics by Hilton Mainz City Hotel...

Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank texbambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Stayed for two nights in December, on a very cheap rate (69 euro, including breakfast & late check out).

Took a while to find the hotel, even with the satnav on the mercedes telling me where to drive. Mainz's Escher-like streets confused the navigation system. But hey - guess what - just follow the blue Hilton hotel signs on the street and you'll get there fine!

Room was standard-issue Hilton, with not much to make it memorable, though we did get a very nice tray of chocolates as a welcome gift.

Hotel is nice and close to the Dome and the Christmas markets, maybe a 10 minute walk - it's also about a 10 minute walk to the railway station, very handy for transport (and only a 19 minute ride to Frankfurt airport from there.)

Most memorable thing about the hotel was the expansive breakfast - nice touch and great value considering our room rate.

Would I stay here again? Possibly, but it's unlikely I will find myself in Mainz again so doubtful..

  • Liked — Breakfast, location.
  • Disliked — Forgettable room.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We wanted to stay in the city of Mainz on our way back from Austria. We arrived late in the Hilton Mainz. A Hilton hotel usually meets our standards, but this time it wasn't that good.

The room (roomnr. 123) has no view. It was not cleaned very well and had a very strong odor. We had the feeling that only the bedlinen were changed....

The hotel is a tipical business hotel. It's large, a lot of business travelers and groups. It is easy to find, but it's not near the city center.

Mainz is wonderful by the way, but I would never recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BJRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.7 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
297 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#4 of 41 in Mainz
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz City

Property: Hilton Mainz City
Address: Muensterstr. 11, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#5 Business Hotel in Mainz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz City 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz City Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing